Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Tires - Clincher

Available At:

Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick Tires - Clincher 

DESCRIPTION

The Vittoria Rubino Pro tire line- up is well known within the cycling community. The Rubino Pro Slick tire has a slick tread pattern ideal for riding on dry roads. The Rubino Pro Slick shares many features as the Zaffiro Pro tire including...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 36  
[Apr 25, 2017]
duncanleith

Strength:

Easy to get off.

Weakness:

Waste of good rubber

Bought excellent Tifosi road bike which came fitted with Vittoria Rubino tyres.All seemed okay until first descent in the wet.Rear wheel swung through 90 degrees and only a lifetime of cycling experience kept me upright and not through the nearby thorn hedge.I swapped them For Continental 4 seasons and introduced the Rubinos to my local rubbish tip.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 15, 2016]
FastWayne
Recreational Rider

Strength:

The tire is faster than my Rubino Pro, grip is good, soft rubber

Weakness:

Soft rubber wears faster in the rear, but I have had these for over a year. Wear is faster than continental 4000s

acceleration is about normal for training clenchers. However. I have a higher top end by about 1 mph or more. I checked on the same downhill and top speed at bottom is consistently higher than Vitoria Rubino Pro and Continental 4000s. Rubber stays soft as opposed to 4000s that get very hard with age.

I've had these on for over a year and the rears are starting to show wear, but the rubber is softer then the 4000s.

I highly recommend these. they are a little more fragile than the Continental 4000s but it is a faster tire and grips really well.

Similar Products Used:

Continental 4000s and Vitoria Rubino Pro

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 19, 2016]
Oldbikah

Strength:

Felt fairly smooth on road at 115-120 PSI
Ok grip

Weakness:

Just weak, especially outside the narrow black contact center stripe on the tire.

The Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick tires came on my new bike. Strava says that I have 503.1 miles on the bike as of yesterday's 51.6 mile hill ride. I always clean and inspect my tires (and bike) after each ride to make sure there's nothing sticking into the tire rubber that could cause a puncture. Last evening I found a 3/8 inch (10 mm) long cut right next to the center black contact stripe (on the grey portion of my rear tire) that was almost 1/8 inch (3 mm) wide. Upon dismount, a small scar can be seen on the inside fabric. Did not blow out, thankfully, but it did cause slight outward distortion on both sides of the cut area while inflated.

Luckily I had ordered a new set of Conti GP 4000S II the other day and they will be replacing the Vittorias. Was going to install the new GPs on my old Specialized Allez Comp (the default bad weather bike now), but will go on the new bike instead, since the old Conti GP 4000S II on the Speciallized have just over 2,500 miles and still show no damage, but they are nearing the end of the tread wear indicator dimples. I've had very good luck with the Continental GP 4000S II series tires in the last few years. Will see how they compare to the Vittoria tires ride wise on the new bike.

Similar Products Used:

Continental, Kenda, Michelin

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 02, 2015]
Kirby Ottenbreit
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Reasonably light weight for the price. Easy to mount on rim.

Weakness:

Poor durability and wear resistance.

I put these tires on a bike I use only for cycling events. After no more than 1,000 kms on these tires, the tire catastrophically failed while sitting in my basement. I'm just glad it didn't happen while I was riding. The tire split right and blew out right right in the middle -- not along the bead or side wall. I won't be purchasing these tires again.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 02, 2015]
n

Strength:

No

Weakness:

Punctures!!!

My old tires needed replacing. I put two rubino pro slick tires on my bike and one on my husband's
Our first ride..both of mine punctured and my husband's as well. My husband's old tire was fine.
And yes they were installed properly. After riding flat free for 3 years we would not recommend these tires.
We did get a refresher in flat repair though!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 30, 2015]
Tobbe
Recreational Rider

Strength:

None

Weakness:

A completely horrible tyre! No grip, zero comfort, high rolling resistance.

It's an accomplishment to make such a bad tyre. A slick with high rolling resistance. 25 mm and no comfort. This crap came as standard on my new bike and i gave it a try for a few weeks, not being totally satsified with my bike. Then I changed to Conti Grand Prix 4 and the transformed my bike.

Similar Products Used:

Contis, Michelins, Vittorias etc, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 14, 2013]
ziconater

Strength:

Very comfortable (in size 25c), grips well, seems durable, fairly light

Weakness:

None yet

I felt the need to post a review on these tires since some of the previous reviewers either had defective ones, or were not using the current Rubino Pro III. Basically, the new version uses a 150tpi (threads per inch) count which makes them very supple and smooth. I'm finding them more comfortable than the Michelin Pro Race 4's that I just replaced, and also more durable. I would say that the Michelin's were better in acceleration, but the Vittoria's are more compliant and seem longer lasting.
Here's the strange thing... Even though I found the Michelins to be more responsive, I am consistently faster on all my hill climbs with the Rubino Pro III. I have no idea why, especially since these are just as heavy as the PR4's, so I'll just just say they must have put a little magic in there :-) Anyways, these are great tires at an even better price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 17, 2012]
G3orgig

Strength:

They are quite cheap, red color looks good.

Weakness:

On the average i had a flat tire every 100 Km. I am very unsatisfied and I don´t recomend these to anyone.

sorry for my english

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 29, 2012]
marquism1

Strength:

They're readily available in 25c, reasonably durable, good value for the sale price at Performance, pretty light.

Weakness:

Not the toughest sidewalls - I've lost a couple to small rocks that have squished against the sidewall and gouged a chunk. No blowouts, but enough damage to have to replace the tire. A Gatorskin would have survived, but they're heavier, more expensive, and don't roll nearly as well.

I like a 25 width for one of my bikes. I used to be able to get Vredestein Fortezzas Tricomps in 25c, but those are now scarce in shops and they're really expensive. Took a flyer at Performance a few years ago and have been really happy since. The tread wears really well. The ride quality isn't as nice a Fortezza Tricomp, but it isn't too far off. Nice tire for the sale price. I like 'em and will keep using them as my go-to 25c tire.

Similar Products Used:

Pretty much every tire

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 07, 2012]
Erik
Road Racer

Strength:

Long lasting, rolls smooth and fast, corners decent, good flat protection. PRICE.

Weakness:

Slick, so not great in rain or wet, equally not great in extreme heat when pushed hard in corners. (But then what is?)

In the middle of Summer 2011, the Turbo Pros that came stock on my new Specialized Tarmac began to fall apart, but at the time money was tight. I went to Performance thinking I would get a tire on sale that would last 1K miles or so, enough to get me past a planned double century around Lake Tahoe.

The Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick was on sale for $24.99, so I thought, “Could a tire this cheap really last 1K miles”. Well, it was in my price range, so I decided to try it out.

The tire felt pretty good. It didn’t corner quite as well as the Specialized Turbo Pro, but I expected that. It did feel better than I thought it would, and it rolled wonderfully.

It did have an immediate draw back I noticed right away. First off, it’s a slick tire. As in, it’s slick. Bald. Smooth. Not meant for wet rides or rain. That should be obvious by it being called a “Slick” in the first place, but reading other reviews here, maybe not so much.

However, it gets nearly the same reaction when the pavement is hot hot hot. Descending form Henry Coe Park in 95+ degree heat, I could feel the back tire sliding just a bit when I really dug into a corner. Not to the point of danger, but enough to put my mind on it. Of course, that was also when it was brand spankin’ new, so it could be that it needed a couple hundred miles in it to settle it in. And the pavement was probably 120+ that day, so I’m not sure any tire would really stick to it without movement.

I was also worried that a cheap tire would give me lots of flats. Not so much. No more than the Turbo Pros over 2K miles, or my old Hutchinson Fusion 2’s over 2-3K miles.

When I bought this tire, I figured it would last 500-1K miles and need to be replaced. Well, yesterday’s century put it over 3,200. And it still felt like new, cornered the same, rolled the same, and the flat resistance was very consistent between new and old. Over the life of the tire, I had 8 flats. 3 in the front, 5 in the back. Over 3,200 miles. Not perfect, but definitely good, and MUCH better than expected from a $25 tire from Performance.

I’ll be honest, it looks like crap right now. After yesterday’s ride, some beads are starting to appear through the rubber, and there are cuts and scrapes all over it. Even with that damage and it falling apart, I still have not had a flat since Feb 11, and that is the only one so far this year.

If you’re on a budget and are looking for a tire that performs “pretty good” and has “pretty good” flat resistance look no further, ESPECIALLY if you happen to find it for $25 again. (It’s $35 right now)

Similar Products Used:

Hutchinson Fusion 2, Fusion 2 Kevlar, Specialized Turbo Pro, Michelin Lithion, Forte p.o.s.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 36  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.