Vredestein Fortezza TriComp Tires - Clincher

Fortezza TriComp

Vredestein Fortezza Tri Comp Folding Tire: Same exclusive casing as the TriComp, but with a softer, single-compound tread

User Reviews (104)

Showing 1-10 of 104  
Jay Hibbs   [May 19, 2014]
Strength:

Durable all season flat resistant long lasting tire
Look great
Hold there color for life of tire

Weakness:

none

I have been biking for 40 years and these are the best tires I have ever owned.I've tried Michelin Pro Race 2 and 3,Continental 4 season and their racing tire.There are too many others to list them all.I get 2000+ miles on my rear tire I don't rotate tires I weigh 190 LBS.That's 600 more miles than any other tires I've tried.
I haven't had a flat in 19 months and I average 8000 miles a year. .I live near Philly there is lots of salt and cinders and pot holes in the winter and these tires hold up with hardly any nicks.The best deals I have seen are on E-bay usually about $79.00 a pair.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   [Apr 19, 2013]
Strength:

-Great Cornering ability
-Strong sidewalls
-Fast

Weakness:

-none

I've got a set of these matched to Mavic Ksyrium SR wheels. Its a match made in heaven. high speed cornering is super stable. The also are quite durable; Aside from the white paint the tread is good as new after 1,000 miles. The grip very well in rain and on oily roads. I would definitely purcahse another pair as a year round training tire.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
ABC   Road Racer [Mar 27, 2013]
Strength:

Cost

Weakness:

Durability

I've used a couple of sets of these and they are decent...for what you pay, so a 4 value rating is appropriate. However, I would give them a 3 1/2 overall rating if I could.

Sure, You'll find many other tires that are better, but you'll also pay a lot more. These tires can be had from places like Probikekit, Ribble and Wiggle at about half the MSRP. All of these companies usually ship to the USA for free or at a very nominal cost.

As for durability, they have gone 2k to 3k for ME (165 lbs. average). I think what's lost in tire ratings is the fact that no one factors in their weight. Just like a car (Continental and Michelin do make car tires after all), weight, to a large extent, determines how long your tires last. I have found that at 2k the crown (roundness) is pretty much gone and at 3k, well I'm pushing it with thread showing. I tend to get more wear on one side of the tire and since these are NOT directional tires (like the 4000's), I can flip them, which helps me get more out of them, otherwise they'd be toast at around 1.5k .

Performance is good initially, as it is with most tires, but it drops off once the crown starts to wear, which is no surprise really.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Ryan   [Dec 19, 2012]
Strength:

Durability, supple ride quality, east to mount

Weakness:

Not the least expensive tire out there, but you get what you pay for.

I've been riding these for about 1200 miles so far on various quality roads and conditions. I'm 180lbs and run them at 130psi on an Al frame (with carbon forks) and the ride quality is a noticeable upgrade over my previous Vittoria Zaffiro Pros. Ride quality is soft, supple, quiet and fast. My only flat to-date was a tube failure at the valve stem completely unrelated to the tire. Any undue wear to the rear tire has been caused by me being too lazy to rotate or swap tires on my trainer whereas the front still looks practically brand new. I will buy these again and again.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
viggo   [Jul 09, 2012]
Strength:

Goes on and on...indestructable
Light weight

Weakness:

I've read that their traction is not optimal in wet weather. I haven't experienced that yet, but Canadian winter will give me plenty of opportunities for further testing

I bought a 1987 Bianchi road bike off of Craigslist several months ago. The owner is a collector, so in this bike's life, the tires were only changed once. He put a Continental Grand Prix 4000 on the front and a Vredestein Tricomp on the rear.

The Vredestein is still in excellent conditioin. The Conti had to be replaced, despite being on the fron wheel, which gets less load. The tire's threads and fabric were showing all around the rim. In other places along the sidewall, the rubber was so thin, you could feel the threading of the fabric underneath.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
The Chez   Road Racer [Jul 13, 2011]
Strength:

Cheap(er), high pressure, rolls well

Weakness:

Durability

I would say these tires are neither good nor bad. I would put them right in the middle. I bought them hoping to find something more durable than the Open Corsa Evo II tyres and cheaper than them and the 4000s. Well, they were cheaper. As for durability? I would say nay. They lasted about 1400 miles, just a few hundred more than the Open Corsas. They roll well, hold incredible amounts of air and corner predictably. I wouldn't say they hold a corner better than the Vittorias though. They certainly handle better than my old Michelin Open Pro 2's. They are pretty much in the middle. Not the best, not the worst.
They did a great job until the end of not allowing anything to puncture. After that, it was game over. Not as bad as the Vittorias or Michelins but probably not as strong as Contis.
Would I use them as a race tyre? Probably not? A training tire? Maybe. Would I buy again? Probably not. I'm sure there's better things out there. I'll keep trying something until it meets durability and price standards. I'll let you know when I get there.

Similar Products Used: Michelin Open Pro 2, Vittoria Open Corsa Evo II CX, Hutchinson Atom
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
MarkM13   Road Racer [Jun 14, 2011]
Strength:

Ride quality, handling.
Super stable for crit corners.

Weakness:

Can be hard to find due their popularity and dealers being constantly sold out.

These are easily the best all around racing tire I've come across in my 20 years of racing. You'll notice the difference right away. I did even as I was pedaling out of my driveway. Every friend I've turned on to them has the same experience. Plus, they last longer than any other high performance tire I've used. They feel very similar to the popular Vittoria Open Corsa CX but will last much much longer. I've used the Open Corsa and liked it but, it was very expensive and didn't even last 2000 miles.

It's really hard to go wrong with this tire.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jhamlin38   Recreational Rider [Jan 23, 2011]
Strength:

grip, durability, cut resistance, soft "feel".

Weakness:

a bit pricey at retail.

love these! as i get older I keep finding better and better products. I'm a big believer that tires are REALLY important when considering the balance of durability, "feel", performance, and value. These are sensational everyday tires. The improvement these tires have provided vs Continentals GP4season, 4000, Michelin Pro 2, Krylions, Hutchinson fusion comps, is significant. if these are avail in tubeless soon, I'll be psyched.
This is the tire that kept me from going tubeless for the past year or so.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
yuvals   Recreational Rider [Jan 21, 2011]
Strength:

Very light, very fast and very puncture-prrof

Weakness:

Maybe it's me, but the tires feel slightly sleepery under wet conditions.

Excellent tires. Good grip and smooth and fast ride. I changed the tires after 4,000 km and used the new pair for another 2,500 km. During this time I had one puncture in my rear tire and another one in the front tire. Better than any other tires I've used.

Similar Products Used: Specialized Armadilo; Specliazed All Condition Pro II; Continenatal GP 4000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dave   Road Racer [Sep 01, 2010]
Strength:

Smooth, long-lasting, durable

Weakness:

none

I put Tricomps on front & back May 2008 and never rotated the tires (had I done so I would have gotten a lot more wear out of the rear tire). I put just over 5900 miles on these tires with no flats before the rear tire wore through to the threads & the front tire still has good tread.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 104  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.