Continental Sprinter Tires - Tubular

Available At:
Sprinter

Light enough for racing and durable enough for training, the Continental Sprinter Tubular Road Bike Tire features four layers of polyamide casing to protect against punctures.

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
JV Araneta   Road Racer [Jan 12, 2018]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

weak threads at the base of the valve

been using conti psrinters for 4-5 years no problem. then last year, i started getting flats at the base of the valve. i thought it was because the hole of the carbon rims got bigger. so i bought a new rim. still had the same problem. since then, i've had 5 new sprinters gave up after a ride or even 45min on the saddle. lucky i got home since i brought a space that also had the same problem! i have resorted to do "preventive sewing" on the base of the valve to prevent the original stitch from unraveling. what's up, contienental? if you want photo's, let me know, i'll send you some.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
No Time Toulouse   Recreational Rider [Sep 08, 2016]
Strength:

Great ride, handling, decent durability, reasonably light.

Weakness:

Expensive, always goes on very tight, wears quickly.

I've used Conti Sprinters off and on for 20+ years. Good tire that can be used for both training as well as racing, but at a price. I must have 6 of these in my basement (still have 1 wheelset with nothing but Sprinters on it); they ride better than anything short of a Vittoria latex-tube tire. However, after 5-6 years, the base tape starts to separate at the edges, and common latex doesn't seem to adhere well to the casing.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Josh Rubin   Triathlete [Mar 03, 2016]
Strength:

Build quality, straight and consistent. Fairly easy to mount on a HED disc, using Tufo tape.

Weakness:

None

Mine is a 650c version, and its a newer tire with Black Chili compound. Build quality seems much higher than previously reviewed tires. No issues mounting, able to stretch it onto wheel by hand. First time I've tried the Tufo tape, very easy compared to glue. Time will tell if it holds up.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
watertight   [Sep 02, 2014]
Strength:

Not sure, don't last long enough to tell.

Weakness:

This is the lumpiest tubular I've ever seen. Bought two based on reviews and had big enough lumps to feel them while riding. I've had 2 sprinters and a comp and all are lumpy. Switched to these from Tufos just to try something new and am very sorry I did, massive waste of money. The last 10 or so Tufos I've mounted were very consistently round so assumed that was normal but the Contis proved that to be the exception. Dry mount these first to make sure they aren't junk, send em back if they have lumps.

Lumpiest tubulars I've ever seen, by far.

Similar Products Used: Tufo Elite Ride, S33, etc
Mavics
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
marct001   [Sep 08, 2013]
Strength:

Excellent German quality overall and well made. Tough tread, casing and anti-puncture belting. Do not generally puncture, especially when used with a latex inner tube, which are highly puncture resistant and faster. Tyre is supple, fast and puncture resistant with latex. Good in wet. Tough base tape also, that does not wear through like some brands now. Corners well. Good value

Weakness:

Hard to mount when new, must be stretched a great deal, around rim. Quality control a little dubious, case is not always sewn up straight, particularly around valve, making straight mounting difficult. No latex inner tube, butyl must be replaced with latex to realise true potential of this otherwise excellent tough tyre. Butyl tube is very poor quality also, compared with best these days. Butyl tube reduces the value and quality of this great tyre.

I like the German quality and the toughness of these fine tyres. They ride well, last well and are puncture resistant and fast especially when used with latex inner tube. But to realise these benefits it is necessary to change the butyl tube, which can be done but is tedious. The butyl tube is quite poor quality compared with the best around these days. Being hidden inside the sewn up casing it is not hard to wonder if this is intentional.

Sprinters would score well on rolling resistant and puncture resistant tests if latex tubes were installed. They feel as good as the fastest around, with latex.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Red   [May 12, 2013]
Strength:

grip, cornering, price

Weakness:

comfort

Great value for money. I use the tire on my front wheel, as it is fantastic in corners. They grip and roll very nicely - I like the black chilli compound of the contis. No issues on wet roads either. The only downside is the comfort as the don't have a inner latex tube.
After purchasing you should stretch the tire on a spare rim for some weeks, then they mount a lot easier.
I can't see a big difference to the Conti 4000 which costs significantly more ...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
wetpaint   Road Racer [Dec 04, 2010]
Strength:

Durable
Cheap
Ride better than clinchers
Great cornering

Weakness:

They are a bit lumpy
Nightmare to mount, they do not stretch at all.

I've been very happy with these tires. They've survived racing where many others got flats and they have fantastic grip, even while racing crits in the rain.

I've been using them for training quite a bit and they've held up even when I've accidentally run over glass. I'm at 1600 miles on the tires and the rear looks like it should go to 2500 without a problem.

They're a tire you can race on and ride everyday.

Similar Products Used: Continental GP4000, Gatorskins
Specialized Mondo
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
harry   Triathlete [Nov 05, 2010]
Strength:

cornering grip, acceleration, rolling resistance, professional feel.

Weakness:

absolutely none.

these are amazing... tubulars are amazing and so fast. forger clinchers if you are a serious cyclist. the grip, confidence, accleration from sew-ups is second to none. and forget being stranded with the new fix a flat injection stuff out there. excellent tire with amazing cornering grip; get stoked on cycling again; ride tubies.

harry, triathlete san diego

Similar Products Used: pro race 2, gatorskins, panaracer elite triathlon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jurcy   Recreational Rider [Apr 09, 2010]
Strength:

Dry grip, (from what i heard) durability, they hold pressure very well.

Weakness:

Bumpy(up-down) - not soo smooth

I ride them for about 500km(until now). I am riding always when the road is dry, so I don't know about their wet grip. But in dry, these tyres are good, the grip is ok and they are fast. I can't say anything about durability - at least for now.
My review is for 700x22c version.

Similar Products Used: Clinchers(Vittoria Rubino Pro 2 - 120 TPI)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
jtk1   Road Racer [Aug 19, 2008]
Strength:

Very fast, durable, and economical.

Weakness:

Wet grip. These tires are not for wet crits. Not the straightest tire when mounted. The Competition is a lot better.

I've won a lot of races over the years on these tires. They are fast and durable. Only lately have I been looking for a replacement due to wet traction issues. I don't know if the compound changed over the years, but lately I've found them to be scary in the rain. I've done crits recently (in the rain) where I swear I was sideways in every corner.

In the dry they rail.

Similar Products Used: Vit. cx, cont. comp.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 21  
Available At:
Available At:

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.