Bontrager Race X Lite Aero wheelsets - clincher

Race X Lite Aero

  • This aerodynamic wheel is a proven performer
  • Swiss-made cartridge-bearing hubs with star ratchet drive system
  • Spokes are 14G bladed stainless steel
  • J-bend type spoke design allows for replacement

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
CB   [Mar 25, 2013]
Strength:

Lite wheel set cuts thru air

Weakness:

I had the Bont Race Lite set up as 2nd set with diff cluster than my work out Mavic wheels. Blew a knee and rehabed for 2 yrs. Getting back to serious riding I went to put new tires on this set. It had been hanging on a closest hook (no bike) for 2 yrs. Total rides maybe 4 total of 300 net mi on them. I was dumbfounded to take them off the hook and see the whit metal flanges o of the hub had cracked off. Useless now. With special spoke pattern I am skewered in the pocket book to replace.

Poorly constructed hub leaves riders vulnerable

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
PMartel   Commuter [May 14, 2012]
Strength:

Roll very smooth, aerodynamic and never trued them. I weight 185lbs and live in Quebec...many potholes. Roulements doux et rapide, aerodynamique et je n'ai jamais eu à les redresser.

Weakness:

I cracked the rear hub once (side hit) but Bontrager gave me a new wheel and no problem since then. Not very good in hard acceleration. J'ai du faire échanger ma roue arriere car bris du moyeu suite à un coup latéral. Excellent service de Bontrager et jamais eu d'autre problèmes ensuite.

I love those wheel in windy conditions. These are aerodynamics but not dangerous with crosswind like deeper rims. Very satisfied with that wheels but a bit expensive. J'adore ces roues lors de grand vent car elle sont très aerodynamiques mais aucunement sensibles au vent latéraux comme les jantes hautes.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Norton Homer   Recreational Rider [Mar 21, 2012]
Strength:

Light, fast, stiff, excellent accelerations.

Weakness:

Dangerous hub flange failures.

Hubs fail, especially the rear drive side spoke flange, suddenly releasing two spoke and throwing the wheel so far out of true that it won't turn. Trek extended the warranty on these to 5 years. Their reps admit excessive failure rate on them and that it is a safety issue, but no help beyond 5 years. They need to recall them for safety and consumer confidence. Trek Customer service number: (800)313-8735. Also file a report at at www.saferproducts.gov. The Consumer Product Safety Commission is looking into this. The more reports, the better. Trek redesigned in 2010 to get rid of this problem.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
hrvat   Road Racer [Nov 09, 2011]
Strength:

strong-have survived bad roads on both sides of oregon
lightish
good braking
stay true

Weakness:

stickers look stupid. take them off and save some grams. black rims look good in mud, dirt, and shine.

i have between 4000-5000 miles on these wheels so far. i believe they are the 2009 model. the hubs are smooth on these wheels, which is really nice for a cheaper wheelset.i've had to true them maybe twice, and when i did they had to be tweaked,so they were more or less true already. i weight 185 and on a good day can get down to 182 ish. when i started getting heavier during the colder months (need to work on that) the rear wheel has a light popping noise coming from the spokes that cross each other grinding. so i don't think i'd recommend these for anyone 190+. no wear anywhere on the wheels i can see, everything just shows years of normal use. i've hit 55mph down hill with no problems. i've ridden them in lots of wind-headwind, cross wind- and they've kept on spinning despite it all, and i haven't noticed any pull like i have on some alluminum aero rims that act like a sail. but....i've also ridden the rolf prima tdf58 carbon in crosswinds and they didn't show any side pull either, so these cheap bontrager's do possess some aero qualities. no doubt the low spoke count helps. the reason i mention this is i've ridden some really cheap stock rims that had like 90 spokes or something: super slow, heavy, got tangled in air, everything bad about a wheelset was in this wheelset. so if you're looking to go the next step up, these are better than the stock wheels that comeon lower end bikes.

Similar Products Used: nothing similer. everything used was either of cheaper quality or far superior
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
David   Road Racer [Sep 04, 2011]
Strength:

Fast. Good for climbing. Look great. Semi aero. That's why I'm giving them a 4...for now.

Weakness:

Im always afraid that a problem will occur. Hopefully if anything happens it will be this winter while they are sittin in my garage and not while I'm riding.

Good set of wheels so far! No problems yet (probably due to the fact i weigh 115 lbs). However, I'm afraid of problems in the future as everyone says.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
karlmichael   Road Racer [Feb 23, 2010]
Strength:

cheap, light and look good

Weakness:

have heard mix reveiws about how long they last.

i got these wheels to replace my Bontrager race wheelset. so far after 600 miles no problems and they feel very fast for their weight

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Sfdeathrider   Road Racer [Nov 18, 2009]
Strength:

Fast and problem free when new!

Weakness:

Had the wheels stored in my garage and just checked them after and noticed that a piece of the hub had cracked off. Gonna try to see if they will warranty these, as they have less than 1000 miles of use! Good think I wasn't riding these when they broke and cracked. Seems like these hubs are weak and crack under the high spoke tension. No recommended at all! I would rate these wheels a Zero if I could!

Rode these wheels for couple of months and then stored them for about 1 year. I am just a 125 pound rider and never abused these wheels.

Similar Products Used: I have used Velomax Ascent wheels, Spinergy Sprox, and Real Design Carbon wheels without any failures!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Fit4Life   Triathlete [Sep 15, 2009]
Strength:

The spokes are the least likely part of the wheel to break.

Weakness:

Rims and hubs are prone to cracking.

I've initiated a product recall petition for Bontrager wheels. The front hub on my Race XLites cracked while riding under perfect road conditions. This put me at great risk of crashing and experiencing bodily harm.

If you have, or know someone who has, experienced cracked hubs or rims on Bontrager road wheels, please contact the CPSC at http://www.cpsc.gov/
info@cpsc.gov

You can also fill out a claim online,
http://www.cpsc.gov/talk.html

The more claims made will speed along the recall process and put safer Bontrager wheels on your bike.

Similar Products Used: Vuelta XRP Comp. Very sturdy, stays true
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Richard Young   Recreational Rider [Jan 11, 2008]
Strength:

good strength - I weight 240 lbs. and have never had to true wheels!

Weakness:

none that I have seen so far.

My old Mavic MA 40s w/ Campy Chorus hubs finally wore out (17 yrs & 10,000 miles). I weight 240 lbs. & was very skeptical of shop's advice but have grown to like wheels very much. Next price point up is $900+. Have put approximately 2000 miles and never had to be trued. Amazing! Obviouly lighter than old Mavics and I can feel it. I hear Bontrager having problems with their wheels but no problems here.

Similar Products Used: Mavic MA 40 with Campy Chorus hubs, 36 spoke rear and 32 front
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
pina-gal   Road Racer [Sep 29, 2007]
Strength:

Aero
Smooth hubs
16 bladed spokes look great
Durable for daily rides( i only weigh 140lbs though)

Weakness:

Heavy
Flex under heavy acceleration

Have done about 5000 miles on them, hubs are still silky smooth with 1 overhaul on them 2 months back. Semi-aero 30mm profile with 16 bladed spokes works well for ITTs but the weight (mine was measured at 1840g with the bontrager skewers) is a major turn-off. Very bad for hard accelerations/sprints etc. Get it if you do more timetrials/flat roads, avoid if you do mostly pack riding or hilly rides.

Similar Products Used: shimano R-550
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 21  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.