Bontrager Race X-Lite Carbon wheelsets - clincher

Bontrager Race X-Lite Carbon wheelsets - clincher 

DESCRIPTION

  • Rims are a very slippery 44mm tall and made using Tour de France tested, OCLV technology 16 hole front and rear, utilizing PST and 26mm spacing results in the lightest possible rim design; special glass embedded braking surface for added durability
  • Dura-Ace carbon brake pads are recommended and included
  • Hubs are Swiss made, fully serviceable, triple sealed, cartridge bearing design; system uses aluminum axles and a star ratchet system in the rear
  • Torque sharing, oversized, rear hub shell more effectively transfers torque to left side resulting in less wind up and a longer lasting wheel
  • Spokes are butted and bladed stainless steel, as light as a DT Revolution, but 20% stronger; J-bend type spoke design allows for replacement with any standard 14g spoke in a pinch
  • Bontrager Race X-Lite titanium skewers included

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-7 of 7  
    [Aug 21, 2006]
    Howard
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Stiff, light, fast, look very cool. Compared to other carbon wheels they are pretty affordable. @ $7000

    Weakness:

    Very stiff and a little harsh on less than perfect roads, but what do you expect with deep dish carbon wheels? easy to edit other people review

    I purchased these nearly new off ebay and use them on my Klein Q-pro for racing and triathlons. The wheels are super fast, particularly with a good set of tubs on them. The noise they make seems to psyche you into pedalling faster. The are super stiff and great for sprinting, they are lighter than the Race x-lite non aero wheels and are great for climbing. When these wheels are on my bike, I know I'm going to race fast.

    With regards to the wet weather performance, I use Dura Ace carbon pads and I have the newer version of the wheels. Whilst the breaking isnt as good in the wet as alloy rims, its good enough. You dont really want to be slamming the breaks on when you're sat in the pack at 30mph in the wet anyway.

    Similar Products Used:

    Bontrager race x lite non aero and aero versions

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jun 17, 2006]
    CJ
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Light, aero, stiff, and durable. Super easy to spin up on flats and descents.

    Weakness:

    Don't climb as well as similar products. Superlight rims (350-380g ballpark) don't hold speed as well as heavier rims once they're spun up.

    One word: badass.

    Bombproof and aero. I've hit potholes that would be rim-killers on even deep section alloy rims without so much as a groaning sound from the Carbons. Braking performance is superb, and the aero advantage can't be denied.

    Similar Products Used:

    Zipp 303, 404. Feels most like a Cosmic Carbone.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jan 19, 2004]
    leggoon
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Light-these days what does that mean? It means quick spin up, hill happiness and a sub 1400g reason to boast. Solid construction backed up by a company willing to do the right thing. Aero as all git goin'. They will produce a unique hum at +25mph. I find it speed inducing to my psyche. My fastest TT is 28.2mph over 15 mi. All your buddies will have Carbon envy.

    Weakness:

    Did I mention how stiff they are? Yeah, they're that stiff. Not necessarially a weakness but a for-warned shopper is a happy owner. Brake pad issues. Cork pads included w/wheels are junk. Braking surface needs some work. Bontrager-are you listening? I'm picking at nits here but for what these babes retail for...

    After racing these wheels for the entire '03 and partial '02 season they have gained a permanent place in my arsenal of speed weaponry. Fast, agile, quick acceleration and smart looks give these Carbons the edge over similar deep dish wheels. These wheels offer a measurable time savings in TT's (my favorite race type). I also use these wheels in crits, road races and the local weekly circuit race. I own a set Bontrager Race X Lites as well and have been converted from a Mavic to a Bontrager devotee. Swiss bearings are top notch. Hold these spinning wheels and prepare to smile. Freehub is very smooth as well. Solid and strong and always ready for warp speed. Now lets face it, deep dish wheels tend to be unstable in cross winds. True, these 44mm rims will get jerked around. I am 6'5", 170lbs. and ride these wheels with no trouble in +25mph winds. In my opinion, the wheels add very little to the amount of force you may feel from a strong sideways gust of wind. Cheers to Bontrager/Trek on replacing, at no charge, the rear rim after I noticed a soft spot on the braking surface. The rear has even held up well after I managed to roll the rear tubular. Vittoria's base tape came unglued causing the roll off. I still ride the Vit's, they did the right thing post crash. A word about stiffness. There might be a Phizer label under the Bontrager decal. Awesome for cornering and stomping on the pedals to get off the front. So watch it if your off camber turns hold some minor bumps. You will find your rear wheel suddenly airborne with the possibility of landing 1 almost 2 inches out from your original line. Heart stopping the first few times but like the caged animal these wheels are, I learned control and now use it to my advantage. These wheels are right for so many more applications than just your flat TT. They kick glutus maximus up hill too. I'd say they act like a tow rope going up hill except there is never anyone in front of me when I've got my Carbon's on. High end wheels do deserve special consideration though. Leave 'em at home for those wet races. Unless of course you like the feel of grease between your brake pads and the rim. I've raced them in the rain before but it's just not worth it.

    Similar Products Used:

    Mavic Ksyrium Mavic Cosmic Elite Zipp 404

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Sep 15, 2003]
    Griff
    Commuter

    Strength:

    Stiff, they get up and go when you are off the saddle hammering or climbing.

    Weakness:

    The valve extender clicks a bit.

    Very stiff, very fast! Great set of wheels, nice look, and fast!

    Similar Products Used:

    Zipp 404

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 19, 2003]
    maddog4173
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Looks, performance

    Weakness:

    Higer maintenance wheels than clinchers. Crosswinds tend to throw you around a little due to the deeper wheel design.

    Very fast wheels. I have put about 300 miles on these and have had no problems so far. I'm using them as everyday wheels and have increased my average speed by 1-2 mph.

    Similar Products Used:

    bontrager race lights

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Jul 18, 2003]
    krafty
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    The fact they can get a grand out of the customer for this "inferior to thier claims product"

    Weakness:

    CUSTOMER SUPPORT! Trek/Bontrager has again let me with a no compromise situation.

    After reviewing your response I was dissatisfied. My argument is that this is a design issue. I will clarify this by stating even with the best materials and workmanship, a poorly designed wheel set will break on the smallest impact. So therefore you use your warranty in the loosest sense to deny my claims. Unfortunately, consumers hold in in the strictest sense and trust that the design is adequate. I have taken pictures of the corner that had caused the damage and I will not be surprised if a sample group of twelve people would agree that the wheel should have survived. I believe I have a sound case that what your aluminum rim would survive could not be shadowed by the carbon rim. Looking at how a tubular tire sits on the rim, sidewall protection looks to be at a minimum, especially when cornering. Maybe this is the root cause of the failure and why a clincher type rim would survive. NONE of this is covered in your warranty or sales literature, just your bold claim that this wheel set is for everyday riding. I work in engineering for consumer products and understand I truly do have a case for more than just a quick reference to your service department. -----Original Message----- From: Consumer, Bontrager [mailto:consumer@bontrager.com] Sent: Monday, June 16, 2003 11:56 AM To: Subject: RE: [Bontrager.com] Product Justin, thank you for your email and for giving me the opportunity to respond. I've reviewed your claim and rear wheel this morning. Our warranty covers defects in materials and workmanship and it's evident that the damage to your rim was not caused by a defect. I'm sure you understand that there is only so much we can do to prevent damage from road hazards. I'm sorry, but your rim can not be covered under our warranty. The good news: we have a service department that can rebuilt it for you. Please discuss the pricing options with your retailer and ask them to give us the "okay". If we haven't heard from them by the end of the week (6-20-03) I will assume you have chosen not to have the repair done. Sincerely, Jeff -----Original Message----- From: Consumer, Bontrager Sent: Monday, June 16, 2003 8:40 AM To: Grotjahn, Jeff Subject: RE: [Bontrager.com] Product see w025086 has broken both wheels. -----Original Message----- From: Sent: Friday, June 13, 2003 11:27 AM To: Consumer, Bontrager Subject: RE: [Bontrager.com] Product Hello Elizabeth, The shop that the wheel was purchased from was Bicycle in Charlotte, NC. The number is -- and Andrew is the contact I work with. The shop had sent the wheels back so they would have that information on the RA number. For the third question it is the same as the above mentioned. The inflation level was 110 psi. The damaged occurred while leaned over in a right hand corner. The course was not rough and the bike did not feel as out of the ordinary. What I am translating is that in the race I did not hit or ride over anything that would cause me to think I damaged my wheels. In fact, I finished the race with a top finish. It was only when I was cooling down that I heard the "clicking" noise of the broken rear rim. I would have put the bike away without any inspection to the wheels after the race if it was not for that noise. -----Original Message----- From: Consumer, Bontrager [mailto:consumer@bontrager.com] Sent: Friday, June 13, 2003 1:41 PM To: Subject: RE: [Bontrager.com] Product Good Day Justin, I am sorry to hear about the difficulties that you are having. I will need some additional information from you to be able to fully investigate this matter. What is the name and phone number of your local dealer? Do you have any return authorization numbers that I could reference to our computer system? Is there a contact name at the shop that is familiar with this issue? What was the inflation level of your tires? Any further information that you can provide would be appreciated and I will look into this ASAP upon your response. Thank You, Elizabeth Schoob Trek Bicycle Corporation

    Similar Products Used:

    Bontrager Race X-Lites

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    [Jul 16, 2003]
    Jaybirdy
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    strong , yet fast not sure what the other guy is reviewing below

    Weakness:

    not well known

    I have ridden these wheels for about 3000 miles with zero problems. I have had almost every wheel out there and these rule. Much better than last years Zipp 404/303.

    Similar Products Used:

    404/303 Zipp, Campy Hyperion/Bora/Shamal/Electron, Mavic Ksyrium/Helium, hand built wheels and lots of other dumpster wheels

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-7 of 7  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.