Campagnolo Hyperon Tubular Wheel Set wheelsets - tubular

Campagnolo Hyperon Tubular Wheel Set wheelsets - tubular 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Dec 16, 2010]
dennis
Road Racer

Strength:

Acceleration, feather weight, long lasting.

Weakness:

none

Fastest accelerating wheels I have ever ridden. Supple over rough roads. Bullet proof. Never trued in 5000 miles. 180 lb rider/sprinter. Minimal flexing under hard acceleration. Beautiful Italian finish.

Similar Products Used:

none compare.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 04, 2009]
kiddoh
Road Racer

Strength:

Light, strong, fast rolling, sweet-looking.

Weakness:

None.

I'm a racer/recreational/tourer combo...but ask a a lot from my equipment. I must say once I put on these 2006 Hyperons (used on ebay (Buy It Now) with about 100 miles on them), I noticed an immediate difference in acceleration, handling, braking... . This is my first set of tubulars, too, so I initially thought the difference I felt was because of the tubulars...but someone pointed out on my forum post ("Thumbs-up for tubulars") that probably 70% of my experience of these particular tubulars is because of them being Hyperons. There's a video on youtube that shows someone spinning a rear Hyperon when holding it from the freehub...and it is true- the wheel spins. These do the same thing when mounted on the bike, too. Amazing. I'm coming off of a pair of DT Swiss RR1.1 rims with DT 240s road hubs built by Joe Young, which have been awesome for three years. Still, the Hyperons roll faster and smoother. Maybe it's because the Hyperon hubs are newer or less used...but the wheels are light, strong and fast. I especially notice the acceleration up hills with force or cruising down hills without force. It is true- one way to upgrade your bike is with a light and strong wheelset. I do carry a spare tubular tire and a puncture kit (Tufo sealant extreme), but the ride is much better now and worth an extra pocket with a tire. Like another said, if you can find these at a good price, do it. You won't regret it. (There was an 06 pair on this site's classified list a few weeks ago for $875.)

Similar Products Used:

No other tubulars used- this is my first set...and now I feel lucky these are my first set.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 24, 2009]
Calk
Road Racer

Strength:

Hubs, Weight, Campagnolo Quality

Weakness:

Cost

The Hyperon Tubulars are a great wheelset, they are light, stiff, strong, easy to accelerate and have smooth hubs. Mine have over 3000 training and racing miles and remain true despite several trips through potholes etc. (I am 6'2" and weigh 170 lbs) Although I also have Zipp 404's, 303's, Reynolds DVT's, I most often use the Hyperons in Crits. and hilly road races. Incredibly expensive, but if you can find a deal, buy them. You will not be disappointed.

Similar Products Used:

Zipp 404's, 303's, Reynolds SVT

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 16, 2007]
Scarpelli
Road Racer

Strength:

They feel substantial, unlike my Zipp 202s, which have lateral flex and feel sketchy and flimsy. (I still love Zipp.) The Hyperons require no maintainence, they are supple, unlike deep-section wheels, they have great lateral stiffness, and they're extremely stout, almost like 2,000 gram wheels. They are bombproof, and have a dreamy ride, especially with 250 gram Tufo tires.

Weakness:

The only weaknesses are price, availability, and availability of service parts. If you break a rim, you throw the wheel away and buy a new one.

I have two sets of Hyperon tubulars, and I use them for everyday riding, training, and racing because life is too short...and I am old. They have the heft and stiffness of heavy wheels, yet they are light and without friction. I've had once set for three years and with about 15,000 miles on them, they have never needed truing, a spoke replacement, or a bearing adjustment. They are the best bike component I've ever owned.

Similar Products Used:

Wheelsets I currently own: Zipp 202, Zipp 303, Zipp 606, Zipp 900 disc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 21, 2007]
Peter Schindler
Road Racer

Strength:

Lightweight, impervious to wind, smooth as silk.

Weakness:

A bit costly, but that is the price of a super wheelset without resorting to Lew or Lightweight.

Amazing, these wheels do everything well. I have them on my Parlee custom Z3. Of course they look stealth, but most of all they are great riding wheels. No matter the ride, up down, windy calm, these wheels always feel the same, great. I particulary like the ceramic bearings and recommend that if you bought a newer pair without ceramic bearings that you upgrade to them. I weigh 155 and these are super comfortable wheels, yet they lose no power when you go to accelerate or sprint.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager XXX Lite

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 12, 2007]
gearfreakNY
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Pure Italian Elegance! Construction! Quality !!! Reliability, Unashamed Luxury!

Weakness:

Cost, but if you cant afford get the aluminum Neutrons.

Super sweet!!!!!!!!!! Fast!!!!!!!!!! go! go! go! Wicked! smooth barings...

Similar Products Used:

Mavic

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 08, 2004]
TedB
Road Racer

Strength:

The first thing I noticed is that the Hyperons seem virtually invisible to gusts of cross winds. They just seem to keep rolling - fast. In the flats, the Hyperons feel very secure, but not harsh. They roll incredibly fast in the flats, and I felt very comfortable in diving into a relatively sharp corner at higher speeds than what I was used to. They handle beautifully and with precision. They also seem to be very quiet. In the hills, the Hyperons are an amazing climbing wheel, and this is quickly noticeable. Here there are a few steep bridges over industrial shipping canals, which normally bring me out of the saddle. This morning, I rode over them noticeably more easily, without having to leave the saddle at all.

Weakness:

Perhaps only the price of a new set.

I realize that this is not a wheelset that everyone can consider as a viable purchase option (including myself), but I had an opportunity to buy a used 2003 set for reasonable money and wring out my new ride.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Open-Pro Mavic CXP22

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 10, 2003]
Jaybirdy
Recreational Rider

Strength:

super lite and strong

Weakness:

none

I bought these wheels last May and they are my favorite wheelset. I work at a bike shop and have tried all different wheels available. These wheels are unassuming looking. They are not a deep carbon "killer looking" wheel, like Zipp 404's. But they are far better engineered in the all around sense. They are made for racing , but are just as happy on a everday club ride and can take the punishment. I weigh 185 and they have not needed trued. I have used them in wet weather and they are better than my Mavic Reflex alum wheels. Beware, you absultely need to use the brake pads with these wheels. And if you put a alum wheel back on, change the pads back or you will find a stopping problem on your next decent!

Similar Products Used:

all (with in reason)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 09, 2003]
mandrews
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Smooth, stiff, light, great handling, low rim profile

Weakness:

price

After selling my ’01 C40 (with the Neutrons) and being relegated to my backup bike – a bone-jarring Cannondale R2000 – until my Fondriest Top Carbon arrives, I was anxious to get something that would reduce the hammering from the combination of the stiff aluminum frame and the 303s. I still like the 303s, but can’t use them half the time due to the high winds around Colorado Springs. My comments about the Hyperons come after riding the Cannondale to do some A/B comparisons between the Hyperons and the 303s, LEWs, and the Clinchers. All the tubular wheels were shod with Conti Competition 22mm tires. I weigh 160 lbs, and have ridden since ’72. The Hyperons are the most amazing wheels I have ever ridden. Granted, the 303s are nice, but they sail like hell in bad crosswinds, ride harsh as a brick, and don’t dive well into corners, feeling rather nervous and tentative. The Hyperons beat them badly in terms of vibration isolation, ride smoothness, and handling. In particular, they allow the bike to dive better into corners than with any of the other wheels I’ve listed above. The Hyperons have a pentagonal rim cross section that spills wind very well, allowing them to carry speed well in the flats, as compared to the Neutrons or the Mavics. Their weight is the same as the 303s – if one removes the skewers from both sets of wheels – so weight weenies (such as myself) can just run the Zipp skewers. I swear the Hyperons accelerate and climb better than the Zipps, although I can’t really speculate why – perhaps the rim weight is lower, but I haven’t seen any figures for the Hyperon rim. The build quality is the typical gorgeous Campy quality, and all that carbon (including hubs) looks sumptuous in the sunshine. The best part, of course, is that since the rim is low-profile, I’ll be able to ride in high crosswinds here in the Springs sans terror, and the combination of light weight, crosswind immunity and terrific handling will make for fewer nervous moments going up – and down – the switchbacks of Mt. Evans despite its random, violent weather. One aspect I was really nervous about with the Hyperons was braking. The wheels come with special pads to insert into the Campy brake shoes. The braking was excellent with this combination, as good as with any of the other wheels, although an obnoxious squeal developed which I traced down to some residual tire glue. I’ve yet to ride these in the rain (I would greatly welcome the opportunity, give our 3-year drought), but have been told the Campy rim/pad combo works well wet, losing about as much performance as an aluminum rim would. I’ll follow up with a long-term reliability report, to include rain performance, as soon as possible. Folks, these wheels have been a true revelation for me. They combine the best characteristics of all of my favorite wheels in the past, with none of the drawbacks. If you can get a deal on these wheels, you’d do well to consider them.

Similar Products Used:

· LEW Race Lights Tubular · ’01 & ’02 Zipp 303s Tubular · Campy Neutron Tubular · Mavic Open Pro/Record Clincher

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.