Easton EA90 SL wheelsets - clincher

Available At:

Easton EA90 SL wheelsets - clincher 

DESCRIPTION

Easton EA90 SL Road Wheel is the undisputed workhorse in the Easton high-performance wheel lineup. Same ECHO hub as wheels costing twice as much or more. Higher spoke counts front and rear with the ballistics-grade tubeless certified EA90 series rim make

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 28  
[Jan 05, 2018]
Paul
Recreational Rider

Strength:

When they work, they are nice for the money. When they work!

Weakness:

I have had 5 rims crack at the spoke. That is correct, 5 rims cracked. The 4th and 5th ones (a pair), Easton said I was a few months out of warranty and wanted to sell me a new set. We had firm words about them selling me defective wheels and then replacing them with defective wheels until they finally relented and replaced the wheels at no cost. However, they had me agree to no warranty support on the replaced wheels. Now another one has broken, and I have ZERO warranty. Going to rebuild the wheel with a DTSwiss rim.

The other challenge is the tubeless tire fit to the rim. I have been road tubeless for almost 5 years and would not go back. I have learned a lot of tricks along the way. This rim's "gutter" in the center needs to have a slightly larger diameter. Their rim tape will work for a while. It is actually better than all the other rim tape I have tested. However, the problem is that the 100 psi pushes the tape into the spoke holes creating 24 offset craters. Since the rim is a little small, the tire has little contact with the rim tape and the air leaks around the craters during initial inflation. It is impossible to seat a tubeless tire with this kind of leak. The solution is to add another TWO wraps of rim tape.

Bell let Easton deteriorate over the years and then they sold it off. During that 5 – 7 year period they created A LOT of bad products and lost many dealers. The dealers openly complain about quality and support. Or, the dealer would just refuse to service an Easton wheel (I had this happen).
Maybe Easton will come back, I would encourage many other products over Easton, especially the wheels.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
[May 06, 2015]
Jim

Strength:

Look good

Weakness:

Spokes break

I purchased a set in the spring of 2012. The first year was fine, then the 2nd year I had SIX spokes on the rear wheel break. I weigh 182 lbs. The wheel was sent to the EASTON factory for a rebuild, which took about 2 months. I have had 3 more spoke on the rear wheel break since I got them back. I SO WISH I'D NEVER BOUGHT THESE WHEELS. Consider it money wasted, except for the lesson learned.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 25, 2014]
Jeff Caddock

Strength:

Light weight

Weakness:

It's had to find spokes for replacements

I have had nothing but trouble with these wheels. I have broken numerous spokes in the front wheel and on the anti drive side of the back wheel. There non reliable: you don't know if they'll get you home.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 23, 2014]
TAC
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light, strong, fast, durable, attracive.

Weakness:

None

I have been riding these for a couple years and have put thousands of miles on them. I am 6'-1" and 210lbs and have not experienced any of the weakness's others have reported. Easy to adjust bearings and they stay properly adjusted. Spokes are strong and stable. Wheels are quick and smooth. Higher spoke count for a stronger more durable wheel.

Similar Products Used:

Magic Aksium

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 13, 2013]
Cycling Enthusiast

Strength:

light, durable, fast

Weakness:

None...

These are some great wheels. I was told by an Easton rep that they did have a problem when they received some bad spokes a while back, but that was all resolved. The wheels I got were after the spoke incident and they are awesome. Changed from my Mavic to the Easton EA90 SL's and I am very happy with them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 12, 2013]
T Connell

Strength:

Light weight, Durable, Fast

Weakness:

None that I have experienced

I have been riding the EA90 SL's for about seven months and could not be happier. I am 205lbs and these wheel are great on my Giant TCR Advanced 2.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 08, 2012]
Har

Strength:

none

Weakness:

everything

Being geneous here and giving these a 2 based only on the fact i rode them 5 months before i gave up on them and EASTON in general. This past weekend I bought a set of Mavic Ksyrium SL's. Here is the back story: My original purcahse was a set of Easton EA 90 SLX, but read on the SL's come in to play also.

4 broken spokes in 14 months on the SLX's and sent back to Easton for complete rebuilds each time. Front, rear, it didn't ' matter. They broke on both wheels. After the 4th time and Easton gave me the standard send the wheel back, I said enough is enough and sent back both wheels. Easton came through, they downgraded me to a new set of SL's not SLX's. At that point i took what they sent. I figured maybe with the extra spoke count i would be better off. Didn't happen. 5 months into the new set, the SL's broke a rear spoke. Shipped back to Easton, this was my 6th return, 5 on the SLX's and one on the SL's that i recently got directly from Easton as a replacement. Just confirmed last Friday the SL rear wheel was rebuilt and being shipped. To take care of the confidence i needed now that the SL rear wheel is on its way back i was at the bike shop the next day and left with my Cervelo and a new set of Mavic Ksyrium SL's. That's the confidence i needed. I refused to let myself put an Easton wheel set back on my bike. I was as patient as someone could be with these wheels, at times going 4 -6 weeks if not longer while i waited for a rebuild and having to use 10 year old trusty Cane Creek Volos as a backup. The shop and the group i ride with, believe me just based on my experience and being with me on group rides for all these broken spokes thinks they are junk and now so do I!

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Elite, Cane Creek Volos, and now Mavic Ksyrium SL's replacing the Easton SUX's and Easton SL's

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Dec 16, 2011]
Vaughn
Recreational Rider

Strength:

strong/durable/with a high load capacity

Weakness:

Bearing pre-load is difficult to get set right

I purchased these wheels from a buddy almost 2 years ago and have put well over 5000 miles on them. I weigh 230lbs and haven't experienced any problems. I pay attention to where I am riding and avoid potholes. The wheels are straight and have never been trued. I couldn't be happier.

For those who have experienced broken spokes, I've heard that Easton had got a bad batch of Sapim spokes and that those bad spokes have been the cause of spoke failure. Otherwise these wheels are bullet-proof.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 22, 2011]
Brad Bartels
Road Racer

Strength:

Light and fast when working

Weakness:

Not reliable. Breaks spokes very easily.

Bearing don't last long at all

I bought the Easton EA-90 sl wheelset because of the extra spoke count for how hard I ride. The first 1000 miles I loved the wheels they rode fast. Then the problems started I broke my first spoke on the front wheel. I broke another on the front then the back wheel I have broken three spokes all on the non drive side of the wheel at the nipples. I have also had the bearings replaced on both wheels. I am very disappointed with the performance and reliablity of these wheels

Similar Products Used:

Chris King hubs with Deep V Volecity Rims

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 18, 2011]
Jon Padgham
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Ceramic bearings are nice. Light and stiff wheel for the money.

Weakness:

Poor durability. Rim should not have to be rebuilt after 2,000 miles. Got a sense that Easton doesn't stand behind their product.

The Easton ea90 SLs were great wheels for the first year and a half, put about 2,500 miles on them over that period but then they began breaking spokes on the rear wheel. Broke 3 spokes over about a 500 mile stretch of rides. Sent wheel back to Easton. They replaced the worn hub and informed me that the rim needed to be rebuilt. It was out of warranty at that point so I would have had to pay for it myself. I opted to not throw good money after bad and instead got a pair of Rol Race SLs. Better wheel set and for about the same price. And MUCH better service.

Similar Products Used:

Rol Race SL

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 28  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.