Formula Xero XR-1 Aero Road Wheelset wheelsets - clincher

Formula Xero XR-1 Aero Road Wheelset wheelsets - clincher 

DESCRIPTION

Awesome stiffness, strength, and aerodynamics – Xero hubs laced to machined Velocity Deep-V 700c clincher rims, decreasing wind resistance and improving lateral rigidity. Great race-day wheels for time trials or triathlon!

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 45  
[Jun 06, 2013]
Chris B

Strength:

Light, Stiff

Weakness:

Cassette spindle chews up

Bought these used for $35 for both wheels. They have stayed true through all the miles I have put on them and the bearings are still very smooth. Great set of wheels for the price (the actual price, not the 35 I paid)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 04, 2012]
Billy

Strength:

Lightweight, stay true, looks cool, can take abuse, sturdy.

Weakness:

None. Honestly I have had no problems with it so far, and I have had them for a while, jumping curbs and stuff.

I bought a front wheel for $30 used. It was really new and the guy apparently didn't care much about letting it go. I had an old araya rim in the front of my old cannondale, and I have to say that this rim feels so much lighter. It makes it so much easier to climb hills. I've been jumping curbs fine, going over speed bumps at 30. However, I used my own shimano skewer for the rim so I can't argue with those that say that the skewers suck.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 04, 2010]
hsttrek
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Price, weight, rolling resistance, low spoke count look

Weakness:

Replaced rear skewer with Shimano since it would not stay clamped on my bike.

Working on my 3rd season at 3,500 miles with these wheels. 6'/180 lb rider here - have never encountered flex even on my 1 mile hill climb training route. I try to avoid bad "cobble like" roads on my 2x weekly rides. Have never trued or tensioned the spokes...I do check the tension via ping test every month or so.

Similar Products Used:

Trek / C'dale house brands - all popped spokes.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2009]
Jimmy
Road Racer

Strength:

Price, weight, aero, strong

Weakness:

none so far, time will tell.

I'm a 125 pound climber, so these wheels suit me well. I didn't hesitate to buy them, when I found the weight and aero profile and price. These wheels seem strong, I've hit a few potholes and nothing has phased them. At 1510g these things climb so well compared to my first set up with stock xero xsr-3's. After the first 100m and the tyical pings were done, these wheels felt great. I've really put the hammer down on the flats and ascents. Haven't had any problems with them, so if you are looking for a lightweight wheelset with an aero profile for under 250$ these are your wheels. Not sure if i would feel that way if I were a 210lbs rider..but luckily im not..haha

Similar Products Used:

xero xsr-3

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 09, 2009]
Gil
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Lightweight, affordable, fast, aero, great looking

Weakness:

none

I purchased these wheels to lose some weight. Although my Cadex frame is lugged carbon, it is almost 19 yrs old, so it's on the heavy side. Compared to my RD-80s, which are about 1750gms, the XR-1s save me almost 200 gms. These roll very good, and so far the spokes have been fine after about 500 miles. I've ridden over railroad crossings and potholed roads, and these thoings still roll great! For this price, who needs to spend mondo $$ on Mavics?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 11, 2009]
bikeman9999
Road Racer

Strength:

light, climbs very well, fast affordable

Weakness:

lack of status (not mavic)

Was reluctant the on these wheels. have not heard anything about them. Read some reviews and definitely took the advise to get the wheels tensioned the the lbs. These wheels are awesome. it feels like you just have more power to go. I heard some creaks and pops on maybe 2 hills but after that, they are silent and smooth. on hills you can accelerate up the hill, that would be where you notice the wheels. they are not mavics, but at 1/3 price I can put it towards something else.

Similar Products Used:

xero xsr-3

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 01, 2008]
bluetrek5000
Road Racer

Strength:

HUBS RUN VERY SMOOTH. ONLY 300 MILES ON WHEELSET. TIME WILL TELL.

Weakness:

ONE OF THE REAR SPOKES POP ON ME. LBS REPLACED AT NO CHARGE.

VERY NICE WHEELSET. SKEWERS ARE ON THE HEAVY SIDE. 30 MM PROFILE MAKES IT AERO. NOT TO HEAVY. MAYBE BUYING ANOTHER SET FOR SPARE. I USE THEM FOR EVERY TRAINING. FREEWHEEL SOUNDS LIKE MOST EXPENSIVE HUBS.

Similar Products Used:

BONTRAGER SELECT. CAME WITH BIKE. BEARINGS WHEN BAD AT 700 MILES.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 23, 2008]
Avisan
Triathlete

Strength:

Low cost
Light
Aero
Strong
Maintenance free

Weakness:

Get no respect becuase they didn't cost $1000's

Stats: I'm 190 lbs, ride ~2000 mi/year (on these wheels), 4 years, some harsh and bumpy roads. Never needed to be trued and worked on.
The lightest/fastest/cheapest wheels I ever had. Going to buy another set in case they discontinue them before these wear out...

Similar Products Used:

Many...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 20, 2007]
lbyrd
Road Racer

Strength:

LIGHT. Fast. Smooth rolling...and they climb like a chimpanzee.

Weakness:

If you don't have them adjusted and trued by a good mechanic before riding them...you will end up with a bad impression. I think the cost savings come in the initial build and shipment. Get them trued and tensioned...then enjoy them.

I weigh 210lbs, 6'1" and I've put the hammer to these wheels on many occasions. My other wheelset are Ksyrium SL's. Stats: 3 broken spokes on the Mavics...0 on the Xero X-Lites. Weight: The X-lights feel light as air when rolling...the Mavics are much more tank-like. I actually prefer the X-Lites and sometimes choose them for crits over the Mavics. That should tell you my opinion on the whole flex thing. Simply put, they could charge twice as much and I would pay for a set of X-lites again.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Ksyrium SL's.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 05, 2007]
UglyBagofWater
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Good looks, accelerate quickly, very light at this price range.

Weakness:

Question durability compared to the heavire Neuvations, and they don't spin quite as well. iCycles has great prices, but iffy service, and these wheels demonstrated that once again to me.

Bought these for my newly refurbished Kestrel 200SCi because they were 500g lighter than my Neuvation Aero M28's (which I absolutley love otherwise). I weigh 210 and experienced the flax and pinging immediatley out of the box. Took them to my LBS, and sure enough the spokes were loose (thanks iCycles) and needed retensioning. Since then, absolutley no issues. These are light and accelerate quickly, very nice on hills. Not sure if they are as durable as the Neuvations, and they don't spin quite as well, but for a speed built bike, I like them.

Similar Products Used:

Neuvation Aero M28, Neuvation R28 SL2, Forte Titan, Velocity Spartacus Pro.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 45  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.