Mavic Ksyrium Equipe wheelsets - clincher

Ksyrium Equipe

Forget what you know about Mavic Ksyrium Equipe. This new version is down to an impressive 1690 g with a low inertia thanks to a new rim extrusion. It gets a new astonishing white version, featuring consistent Ksyrium family graphic approach. Black or Whi

User Reviews (59)

Showing 1-10 of 59  
Liam Kay   Recreational Rider [Nov 14, 2015]
Strength:

Tremendous value
Strong

Weakness:

Heavy but to be expected for this price

Been riding on these for 4 years now. Compare favourably to Fulcrum 5 in terms of value. Run really nicely in all conditions and climb very well.

Similar Products Used: Fulcrum 5
Generic carbon clinchers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andy   [Dec 13, 2014]
Strength:

I have found these to be exceptionally strong rims. For the reviewers below, these are road bike wheels. You cannot go into a big pothole at full speed with full weight on saddle and expect to have any wheel intact. These wheels have outstanding reviews elsewhere.

Weakness:

none.

Excellent rim, stable. wont cost arm and leg.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   [Jun 29, 2014]
Strength:

Durable. Easy to maintain. Inexpensive. Good looking.

Weakness:

Lateral flexibility

After years of putting up with these wheels flexing at high speeds in cross winds I finally tried increasing the tension by about one third a revolution. I hope not enough to risk durability. But it has made a tremdous difference in stability. Mine are ten years old, have eyelets and are vey easy to true. I'll keep an eye out for cracked rims but I doubt I increased the tension enough for that to be a problem. The ride quality drastically improved.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jon f   Recreational Rider [Jun 17, 2014]
Strength:

Affordable. Look nice

Weakness:

I'm 195lb. Front wheels went out of true almost immediately, could not be retrued. Mavic wouldn't replace under warranty. Rear lasted a year and did the same.

Look at other options.

Similar Products Used: Fulcrum 5, custom DT Swiss / Shimano wheelset
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
benroe1000   [Nov 19, 2012]
Strength:

responsive, corner well, look great

Weakness:

not quite bombproof, but a good wheel

Let me start this by saying I'm 6'4" and 270lbs. I purchased these wheels off a recommendation by my LBS. I couldn't ride more than 5-10 miles without them coming out of true. I carried them back multiple times until they cranked up the spoke tension a bit for me. Now I've got over 2k miles on them over some fairly ridiculous roads and they haven't let me down in any way. After an initial "tuning in" process they have proven to be a reliable wheel. Yes I know I exceed the recommended weight, and ride crappy back woods TN roads on them. I have destroyed other types of wheels within tens of miles and if this one will hold up to me stomping on it, is fairly light for having to handle an ox like me cranking on them I shouldn't be complaining at all.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Butch Keeter   [Oct 13, 2012]
Strength:

The only strength I see in this wheel is that it stayed true.

Weakness:

My experience with this wheel has left me wondering about the Mavic brand in general.

I purchased an Orbea Orca the week end after Thanksgiving 2011. I am not a category racer by any means. I just like to ride. After hearing a strange noise at the 5,500 mile mark from what I thought was my drive train, my bike shop mechanic found most of the spokes loose. What caused the spokes to loosen was multiple cracks in the rim where the nipple attaches to it. Almost every hole had cracked without any abuse. Mavic replaced the wheel at no cost but, how long will the replacement last? My mechanic said it was nothing to be concerned about, "It happens some times" but, it won't be him taking a tumble if these wheels decide to give up on a 40 MPH downhilll. I would up grade past this level of wheel to something better.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Scott Trenor   [Sep 29, 2012]
Strength:

Roll very well

Weakness:

Spokes are terrible
Mavic customer service is terrible.

Don't buy these wheels!
The spokes are not stainless and are prone to corroding. I have had my set for 4 months and the corrosion is eating through the spokes on the rear wheel. In my 15 years of cycling, I've never had this issue before. When my local shop contacted Mavic, they were told it was not a warranty issue and I should have wiped down the spokes with an oily cloth after every ride.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
jersey shore boy   [Aug 05, 2012]
Strength:

Rims stay true, never broken a spoke after 5 years, only had wheels trued twice, stands up well to rough pavement, descends solidly (48 mph in the Lake Placid Whiteface Mountain Road Race 2012, no wobbles)

Weakness:

Little heavy for climbing

Great value, 20,000 miles on mine, I'm a Cat 5 racer, 7 or 8 races a year and being on a tight budget i'm gonna buy a new set in white

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
k.flech   [May 04, 2012]
Strength:

1st rear I got 6000 miles.

Weakness:

Rebuilt rear @LBS (Slippy Pig, PHX.) They misplaced it for 3 weeks, so after 5 weeks to do the job, guess how many miles I rode before it was shot---still can't believe I only rode 500 MILES--yep 500!!! Don't think owner believed me. INSULTING--S.O.L.!!! Ironically, I had just ordered a pair of Aksiums day before, hopefully I'll have better luck with them!

All said.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
srenkin   Recreational Rider [Mar 26, 2012]
Strength:

Stiffness/strength, appearance (white finish).

Weakness:

Weight, and the white finish shows dirt.

Stock wheelset on my 2011 Felt F4. Coming from the aero shape Easton Vista (EA50), I was initially concerned about the stiffness and aerodynamics of this set. However, I've put about 500 miles on them over some badly broken asphalt and they have stayed absolutely true. Good acceleration, good bearings.

Similar Products Used: Easton Vista (EA50 equivalent)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 59  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.