Shimano Dura Ace 7900 WH-7850-C24-CL wheelsets - clincher

Available At:
Dura Ace 7900 WH-7850-C24-CL

Shimano Dura Ace WH-7900-C24 offers high speed cruising with astonishing acceleration. improved acceleration performance within aero dynamics. With a focus on speed, the new rim profiles yield a substantial reduction in weight while maintaining the aerody

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Gaz   [Aug 20, 2015]
Strength:

Roll beautifully, amazing acceleration and inspire confidence in descents & hard cornering.

Weakness:

Clearcoat peels off leaving spotty appearance over time.

I'm a 100kg rider and have had these for 3 years and they're still as true as the day I bought them. I ride a lot of B grade roads and these things are robust..haven't lost one spoke so far. Bearings are easy to adjust and they role superbly. Depending on what wheelset you've previously had, the C24's have the ability to transform a bike's performance...they're that good.

My comparisons are based on Shimano WH 501's, Shimano WH 560's (great wheel) and Mavic Kyserium Elite's (not too shabby either).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Ron   [Feb 13, 2015]
Strength:

Ride, responsiveness, braking

Weakness:

none

I have Dura Ace and also Record. I prefer Campy, but when a company produces a flawless product, they deserve proper credit.
Shimano have produced a wheel that is just without fault.
Their responsiveness is noticeable and surprising at times and the ride is as smooth as a box shape rim; what more can you ask of a clincher wheel?
If my aero race tubs ever give up the ghost, I'd easily consider the C50's just because these are so impressive. Great work, Shimano.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BigMal   Recreational Rider [Nov 29, 2011]
Strength:

Lightweight (1380gms per set).
Bonded Aluminium braking surface.
Red nipples for bling.
Great Value ++++

Weakness:

Durace steel skewers are heavy - get some titanium replacements.

Most of the rides around Sydney are on rough roads (with rough drivers) and lots of hills.
These wheels are light for climbing but strong enough to take the multiple bumps and potholes of Sydney roads.
They have needed minor truing only once (rear wheel only).
They spin freely and track well on descents with great stability and the aluminium laminate on the braking surface works brilliantly. There is no annoying squeal (carbon braking surface is soo annoying) and brakes work strongly when they have been tested in the Alps, Pyrenees and at Angliru.
Great value for money

Similar Products Used: Easton EA90SLX (also a great wheel)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Jim Burke   Recreational Rider [Sep 18, 2010]
Weakness:

Poor customer service. Replacement parts are difficult if not impossible to find.

I started having problems with my Shimano wheels after 2 years. I started having blowouts and parts were wearing out. Shimano refuses to sell parts to end users, and bike shops are not interested in helping you find replacement parts. They would rather sell new wheels. I am switching to ROL where customer service is first.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Alfonze   Recreational Rider [Sep 16, 2010]
Strength:

Realtively light (fast on climbs and sprints)
Comfortable ride
Doesnt get out of true
price (for that kind of price it doesnt get better:-) )

Weakness:

The braking surface could be a little thicker (problem for more hilly riders)
Freehub engages sometimes with strange noise (like chain skip over the cog)

A really good all around wheelset.

Similar Products Used: Ritchey Road Pro
Old Dura Ace hubs custom wheels
Bontrager Racelite
Mavic Ksyrium Equipe
Mavic Ksyrium Elite
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
simonashwell   Road Racer [Apr 11, 2010]
Strength:

As above, I love them!

Weakness:

The alloy braking surface bonded to the carbon laminate is thin so not really a wheelset for all year use. I use them only for summer. However, after a years use, no sign of wear on the braking surface yet.

A fantastic set of wheels for those who do lots of climbing. Very light especially considering the price and those of wheelsets of similar weight and performance. Feel superlight on steep climbs and roll beautifully. Noticeable quicker than other wheels on accelerations and climbing out of the saddle.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jathanas   Recreational Rider [Oct 11, 2009]
Strength:

Smooth, light, quiet, and robust.

Weakness:

None, maybe a bit more bling?

Excellent product. Smooth, quiet, and light! I ride rolling hills and these are ideal wheels for that terrain. Touch wood, no maintenance issues either. Stylish in an understated way.

Similar Products Used: Zipp 404, Mavic Ksyrium
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Poop   Road Racer [Apr 04, 2009]
Strength:

Light, ease of maintenance, comfortable, stiff

Weakness:

None.

Purchased these wheels to replace an old, beat up set. I wanted an everyday wheel that was light enough to race and tough enough to handle all the potholes. This is a brilliant wheelset that feels like riding carbon tubulars, but brakes like a set of aluminum clinchers. The best of both worlds! Great in crosswinds.

Similar Products Used: Mavic Kysrium, Cane Creek Cronos and Volos, custom 50mm carbon tubulars, HED Jet 50/60.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8