Shimano Ultegra WH-6700 Tubeless wheelsets - clincher

Shimano Ultegra WH-6700 Tubeless wheelsets - clincher 

DESCRIPTION

ULTEGRA blends race-proven technology with ergonomic perfection. ULTEGRA Wheel Set features lightweight 10-Speed compatible alloy axles and freehub body with 16x20 straight pull stainless steel spokes. Road tubeless tires and clincher tires compatible. St

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[May 31, 2013]
Kenn

Strength:

Light. Smooth. Amazing.

Weakness:

Nothing so far!

I ve ridden about 125 miles on them and could not be happier. Installed a set of maxis padrone 120TPI and they roll like butter over some pretty toasted roads. They were a great price but an even better value.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 24, 2013]
santacruzdave

Strength:

Reliable. Same width rim as Dura Ace and RS-80. No brake adjustment necessary when swapping wheels. Tubeless or not your choice. Hubs are easily serviced. Comfortable ride, while laterally stiff enough not to rub the brake pads during 1000 watt sprints. Cost effective training wheels.

Weakness:

None in 2000 miles worth of winter riding. One could argue that replacing a spoke or rim would be a more complex and perhaps expensive proposition, but that is true of any factory wheel.

I use these wheels as my winter wheels. I bough them so I would not wear out a Dura Ace 7850 wheelset during the winter here in Santa Cruz, CA. The back roads here are rough with many potholes and irregular surface areas. These wheels have performed very well the last three winters. Lots of grit from farms on the roads in winter, and the aluminium rims are wearing well. I really like the fact that the rims are exactly the same width as my DA-7850's. Wheel swaps are super easy with no brake adjustment necessary. There is not a lot of difference between the 6700's and the 7850's. I'm tempted to say the 7850's spin-up a bit faster 'cause they are 150 or so grams lighter, but that might be completely psychological. With the same set of tires, there is no real difference in performance between the two. Yea, the 7850's look a lot kooler. Overall I am very happy with the 6700's. Where they my only wheels I would be a happy camper. I am running Continental 4000s tires on both the 6700's and the 7850's with tubes. I ride mostly club rides and training rides 50 to 75 miles average at around 15 to 17 mph average speed. I like the ride quality, down hill confidence building performance (45 mph down Bonny Doon road). I have had very good luck with Shimano higher-end wheels, and at the price I don't think you can beat the 6700's. Right now you can get them from PBK for $360. Excellent wheelset for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 02, 2012]
Mike
Road Racer

Strength:

Stiff, low spoke count

Weakness:

Weak spokes, needs truing frequently.

I bought these 18 months ago and train 80-120 miles a week. I had some American Classics which I liked, but am a fan of Shimano and thought I would like their rims. But unfortunately, they constantly need truing. I'm probably having to tru the rear rim every 2-3 months. I've also had two spokes break. Never had these problems with other rims. So I'm disappointed and shopping for new rims.

Similar Products Used:

American Classic

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 06, 2012]
Gary T

Strength:

Strong and light, rolls so well and looks good

Weakness:

None

Had these wheels for 2 months and not a problem. Replacing Bontrager SSR wheels that came with the bike, they are faster and stronger and very smooth to ride on. Very happy with them.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 29, 2012]
Hiro11

Strength:

Durable with typical Shimano Ultegra-level quality throughout
Good looking and understated graphics
Not too heavy

Weakness:

Don't really stand out from the competition at this very competitive price point
Truing a bit tricky
Some people might not like cones

I prefer cone hubs as it's a snap to set perfect preload and they're cheap to overhaul with $2 worth of grade 25 ball bearings. Also, I'll admit that I'm a big fan of Shimano: I've been riding their stuff for 20 years and never had a problem. The main reason I chose these wheels is the sterling (deserved) reputation of Shimano's cone hubs. I'm not a fan of tubeless setups, these also work fine with typical clinchers. Rim is nicely machined and seamless, rim strips not required as it's tubeless-ready. Graphics are an understated matte black and white design. Spokes are straight-pull, slightly bladed and non-standard, it may be tricky to find spares. Also, as with all straight-pulls, truing is a bit tricky as you need two wrenches: one to hold to spoke and one to adjust the nipple. 16/20 spoke count which is low to me but fine (I weigh 145, YMMV) . The wheels come in at right around 1650g which is isn't the lightest but certainly not bad. The wheels seem bombproof, though. Really tough everyday training wheels. They're essentially a lighter, tubeless-ready option if you're considering the classic Open Pro / Ultegra combo. Nice wheels.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 26, 2011]
Matt
Road Racer

Came with bike - rear wheel went out of true in a few weeks, could not be trued replaced on warranty. Second rear wheel needs to be trued after only 2000km. Never had this kind of problems with road wheels before.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 05, 2011]
M. Rose
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Amazing ride quality with tubeless tires
Flexibility of tubed or tubeless tires
Relatively light
Arrived trued and stayed that way
No Flats!

Weakness:

Retail price could come down
Not easy to mount tires

After a long period of flats and being stranded a couple times, I decided Road tubeless was worth a try. I found this wheel set on eBay and got it for much less than retail. I initially used them with clincher, tubed tires for a month, then switched to Hutchinson Intensive tires. Even with tubes, these wheels were far superior to the Bontrager or Neuvation wheels that preceded them. When I put on the Road Tubeless tires, the transformation was nothing but amazing--the best ride I've ever experienced on a road bike, bar none. This combo was the largest improvement I've made to my bike, almost akin to moving from a aluminum to carbon fiber framed bike. And, after five flats in three weeks with tubed tires, I haven't had one in the 3 months I've been riding this combination on the exact same roads (with Effetto Mariposa Caffelatex Sealant)--and that alone makes it worth it. Yes, the tires are more expensive. IMHO, it's well worth it. And, these wheels arrived trued right out of the box and have not needed a correction since putting them on. I am a Shimano wheel & Road Tubeless believer now.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager Race Lite
Neuvation

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 15, 2011]
Russel
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light for price, stiff, well build wheel, tubeless.

Weakness:

Rear wheel would not stay true...had to be re-tensioned...perfect ever since.

Solid wheels, had trouble keeping rear wheel true for first few rides, ended up re-tensioning rear wheel and I haven't had a problem since...something was a little odd out of the factory. Would have rated 5/5 if not for need to re-tension and true rear wheel. Overall a very good wheel though. Tubeless setup is fantastic.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Askium Race

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 29, 2011]
CSPEI
Recreational Rider

Strength:

The WH 6700 with the Conti GP4000s climb better, descend as well, feel more nimble and accelerates faster. The wheels look better than the old set any time . Both the important aspects of climbing and instantenious acceleration are enhanced.

Weakness:

Over cobble stone road sections felt more harsh than the previous Mavic CPW22 c/w Kenda 25mm tyres. On tar sealed road some perceptible minor increase in road buss but still comfortable enough.

Used to ride Intense 5.5 EVP MTB at moderate paces with friends in the numerous Borneo jungle treks created by the Kampong folks foraging in the forest. Found the constant "carrying" of bike over tree trunks, rocks and other natural obstacles tedious . 6 months ago bought a Giant Defy 1 with stock Mavic CPW 22/ Giant hubs and Kenda 25mm tyres. After nearly 40 rides of 30-70km distances found top speed stagnant at 33-38km/hr. Upgraded the wheel set to Shimano Ultegra WH 6700 with 23mm Continental GP 4000s with tube and realized an immediate improvement in speed of about 3 km. Not sure it's the wheels or tyres. But very happy to find after shaving 1/2 kg with the new wheel set climbing and acceleration are significantly improved. The bike is now more responsive and snappy . Looks like I should suppress the urge and expense to upgrade to 2012 Giant Defy / TCR Advanced. With the new wheel set I have achieved the performance I need to catch up with the local " big boys". After all it 's the "engine" now. Not the bike.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic CPW22 c/w Kenda 25mm Kryterium.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 30, 2011]
jonas nygard
Road Racer

Strength:

Smooth rolling wheel, nice and stiff and great road feel with tubeless. Great hubs and Shimano quality.

Weakness:

A tad heavy and not possible to remove valve core on standard set-up. Hard to get the sealant in without making a mess. I don't like the spray in kinds so rather shoot in through the valve with core out.

Wanted to check out tubless so got a pair of 6700 Ultegras and Hutchinson Fusion 3 wheels and drizzeled caffee latte latex goop in the tire as I mounted them. These things replaced much more expensive Hed Ardennes and albeit a lot heavier, sure have a really nice and stiff ride feel. I put in 85psi (I weigh 175/6ft) and like a stiff feel to my ride, the Ultegras really fealt nice and compliant and rolled just as well as the Ardennes. I am very impressed.

Similar Products Used:

Hed Ardennes, Mavic Axium, Mavic R-Sys SL, Campy Proton, Campy Eurus, Reynolds DV3 carbon tubulars......

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.