SRAM S40 wheelsets - clincher

S40

Sram S40 Aero Road Wheelset. Climb, accelerate, and sprint with no effort with the lightest of our carbon wheels. The new unidirectional carbon fiber used on the structural rim reduces weight while increasing stiffness. Whether using S40s for your local g

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
chuck   [Oct 04, 2014]
Strength:

great rolling wheelset- good looks, stiffness, and durability.

Weakness:

As the reviews indicate, rear spoke broke after about 2,000 miles- HOWEVER, the set came with a nice spoke tool. I'm an absolute amature when it comes to wheel maintenance, but I bought a spoke for $10 simply replaced it, tightened it like the other spokes and it was completely fixed....very little effort with a great result. And when the spoke broke, I didn't notice it until after the ride.

AAA+++

Similar Products Used: Dura Ace C50
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Howse   [Nov 02, 2012]
Strength:

Brand name (but didnt deliver)

Weakness:

Spokes continually broke front and back, ended up leaving for the dumpster. Way to ruin your brand.

DONT BUY

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
RKLovett   [May 11, 2012]
Strength:

Looks, stiff ride, hold speed well

Weakness:

durability

I bought a set of S40 wheels May 2011. I'm a <140lb female rider...non-racer but can hang with a group at 24 to 25mph. Smooth roads and no hills where I ride. In Dec 2011, had a rear spoke break completely off the wheel in mid-ride. I was able to ride home and LBS contacted SRAM who immediately replaced the set. After MINIMAL riding over the winter (mostly rode tri bike) on May 10, 2012I was looking at wheels before an evening ride and noticed a CRACK in the NEW rear wheel in between 2 spokes and not near the valve stem hole. Aluminum surface and all other surfaces are fine and no impact hits!!! Unbelievable!!! I learned that these wheels are discontinued- and for good reason!!!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
BMC123   Road Racer [Oct 10, 2011]
Strength:

The decals are reflective
They coast and hold speed like a rocket
Climb well
Make a cool carbon woooshing noise

Weakness:

None

I have used these from every thing from training rides to CAT 4/5 racing. They are great wheels and I have never had any problems w/ cracked time or breaking spokes like the others. Iv hit huge pot holes and even crashed in a road race with these and not even knocked them out of true. I think the problem some people forget is to go back and check/ tighten the spokes after the first couple of rides if you do that they will all have a chance to be tightened properly and you won't have any problems and things popping.

Similar Products Used: Mavic ksyrium sl
Specialized hubed 30mm custom build wheels
Shimano ultegra wheelset
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick N.   Road Racer [Jul 11, 2011]
Strength:

Price, Looks, Comfortable Ride, Performance

Weakness:

Hope there isn't a durability or workmanship issue! At least Sram stood by their product!!

Just finished the RAAM using my S40/S60's. Loved the performance and the ride!, but on the last day, I noticed the carbon on the front S40 cracking. The front wheel was still true. The rear S60 was great. I don't remember hitting any potholes, etc. Don's Bikes called Sram, and they are sending me a new one--no problems!!

Similar Products Used: ZIPP 404, Mavic Krysirim
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
pjcanale@gmail.com   Road Racer [Jun 16, 2010]
Strength:

Looks? Braking.

Weakness:

Not worthy of their price. Not good reputation-builders for SRAM...

Got these as fancy training wheels. Within a month, started breaking non-drive side spokes. One broke while bike was sitting, others on climbs far from home.

If you're looking for durable carbon clinchers with an aluminum braking surface, look elsewhere. S40s are certainly not ready for prime time.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Tampen   Road Racer [May 12, 2010]
Strength:

Fast.

Beautiful.

Weakness:

Reliability ? The jury's still out on that one.

Some reviews have mentioned their weight, but absolutely not an issue for me.

Expensive at list price, but they are on the web much cheaper.

I couldn't afford Zipp 404s, and wanted something faster than the Eastons that came with my new BMC SLC-01 Promachine. The LBS suggested Sram.

The good news is that I have only one serious test for any new piece of kit - that it makes me go faster. These wheels succeeded on all kinds of road in all conditions. I've been knocking out personal best times on a whole range of rides, from flat sprints to fast climbs. OK, they're a bit heavy and they haven't made me faster up 15%+ hills. For that I need new legs, not new wheels. But overall I'm really happy with the measurable performance boost (at my age, every bit counts), and it doesn't hurt that they look terrific on a red/black/white bike. I've lost count of the envying compliments.

BUT - and this is a very big but - after only a couple of weeks of not very intense riding - and certainly no major pothole, kerb or other noticeable impact - the front wheel's carbon rim cracked on both sides of the valve. Some kind of manufacturing flaw - Sram agreed to replace it immediately.

Five days after I got the new front wheel, a rear spoke popped while the bike was sitting in the garage. My wife heard it go "boing". Back to Sram, a three week wait, they fixed it free of charge.

Since then (another three weeks) the wheels have been running great. So maybe I was just unlucky, and caught an early dud pair. Right now I'm really hoping that there isn't a fatal reliability issue....

Similar Products Used: Easton EA90 SLX
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Esky78   Recreational Rider [Jan 19, 2010]
Strength:

Light, responsive, firm, smooth, quick

Weakness:

max rider weight rating of 90kgs (198 pounds), needs to be retentioned correctly not long after first ridden/broken in.

I tried to research these wheels as much as possible before buying them from Wiggle.com but couldn't find many reviews, having used them I hope this can help others.

I've only had these wheels for under 4 weeks now but I've done about 1200 kms (roughly 700 miles) and at least 60 miles of that was at pace over extremely rough roads, over 500 of those miles was on on avg roads at best.

I'm not a small rider (6' tall and 80/84kgs - 180/184 pounds) and although I wouldn't call myself competitive level I will keep with a group that has a number of guys that are. I will also load the wheels up jumping up in a big ring uphill etc - so I think I can safely say the wheels have been tested.

I found that within the first 200km (120 odd miles) of very harsh roads the rear started to make what turned out to be a spoke noise with a few of the rear spokes twisting - I might not have noticed it but other riders in my group alerted me to it - I was able to nurse it back to the LBS (local bike shop) and have them straightened - the wheel was still very true but obviously I wanted it sorted.

About 300 more kms of riding I found the rear was now buckled and there was one very loose spoke - again nursed it back to my LBS and this time had the guys retighten/check all the spokes.

Since then I've had no dramas and obviously no spokes have ever broken on them - it seems clear they just needed to be retentioned once they started to break in (as with most wheels).

I think if I had ignored/not noticed the noises etc very quickly and had the shop retention the wheels properly I may well have started breaking spokes, this would be my warning but I would still highly recommend these wheels.

Performance wise they are awesome - they are very light, but very smooth, firm and responsive I can certainly feel the difference in hill climbs.

Similar Products Used: Shinmano RS10, Mavik (basic and about 8 years old)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
escape   Road Racer [Oct 19, 2009]
Strength:

look good ,stiff

Weakness:

Broken spokes.

Mine lasted less than 200km before 2 broken spokes on rear non drive side, and try get spares!!! ended up making my own spokes to fit, done about 600km on them now, hold thumbs still ok.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
carl702   Road Racer [Sep 26, 2009]
Strength:

not to heavy and well aerodimamic

Weakness:

2 broken spokes rear wheel cheap spokes

super stiff wheel, not to heavy excellent for climb and flats, excellent wheelset buttttt after 350 miles 2 broken spokes at the rear wheel sapim spokes not better than mavic sl premium spokes

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 11  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.