Williams Cycling Wheel System 30 wheelsets - clincher

Wheel System 30

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
John   [Aug 05, 2013]
Strength:

Durable.

Weakness:

None

I've raced three seasons of CX on these wheels (Stevens Team Cyclocross carbon) and they've outlasted two forks, one seat post, one front and one rear derailleur (SRAM Red) and one frame. Seriously, they're the only part of my ride that takes a CX licking and keeps on ticking. I have them set up on Stans Notubes.

Training rides are done on Sierra Nevada single track with lots of gnarly granite "pebbles". I have yet to replace a spoke even need to true a wheel. Love them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andy Hutcheson   Road Racer [Jan 23, 2013]
Strength:

Have had the System 30 wheelset for a year (7000+kms) and recently the rear wheel developed a creaking / popping noise under load. Contacted Keith at Williams Cycling and was sent a new freehub the same day...no charge. Fixed the problem right away. Can't say enough about the customer service. These guys are a pleasure to deal with.

Weakness:

No weakness in customer service.

You won't be disappointed dealing with this distributor.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Afunk   [Oct 20, 2012]
Strength:

Price, easy to repair, semi-aero, stay true

Weakness:

durability

Decent wheels for the price. I have had the 30X almost 2 years and roughly 7-8,000 miles with my weight generally being 205lbs. They have been used on the road with the occasional smoothish dirt road. I have found them to be reasonably stiff but not the stiffest wheels I've used (stiffer than the stock wheel on my Pinerello). When up to speed (20+mph) the bladed spokes and semi-aero rims make a notable difference in maintaining speed compared to my more standard wheels. No major problems with them coming out of true or spokes coming loose. However, I have had 2 of the nipples break on the rear wheel (separate rides) but these where easily fixed.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
breacycling   [Aug 25, 2012]
Strength:

lightweight, strong, inexpensive

Weakness:

i haven't had any problems..

these wheels have been nice for me... I have had them for the last 6 months or so. I ride almost everyday 20-30 miles with plenty of hills

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bikeman-Potter2   [Jun 12, 2012]
Strength:

Keith Williams is great for service.

Weakness:

The wheels while billed as bullet proof are far from this. In 2 seasons I have had 5 broken spokes and now the rear rim has 4 spoke holes with cracks. The wheels roll nice but are not stiff enough or strong enough to handle hard pounding climbs without flexing. The 30X's might work for light weight guys under 180 lb's but they don't hold up for 200lb riders.Try Rol race SL's, before you waste your money on williams 30x's.

If your a big rider the Williams 30X is not the wheel for you!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
smitty9999   [Feb 16, 2012]
Strength:

Spin easily, ride great, stiff when you push hard on flats and hills

Weakness:

None

I purchased the 30X wheelset after several email exchanges with Keith Williams. He recommended the 30X based on my 195 lb weight. I had been using the stock Shimano wheelset that came with the Cannondale Synapse Carbon 5 and wanted to upgrade.

The wheels were everything that other reviewers have mentioned. They spun forever, stayed true after many bumps and holes, I did not feel the harsh ride that others had mentioned - the roads around here can be tough and these wheels handled them without any trouble.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   Road Racer [Sep 18, 2011]
Strength:

Stiffness
Responsiveness
Price

Weakness:

stock skewers

I purchased the 30x wheel set from the web site and have been very happy with them. I weigh about 175 and got the 30x due to some of the roads in my area. I have not been disappointed at all. The wheels have stayed true as the first ride. The ceramic far out spin my Mavic wheels. the ride is stiff with out being harsh and the wheels are very responsive in a sprint. They handle well in cross winds and hold there own on climbs. since riding these wheels I can say that in a tuck on a descent I often fly past other riders who are tucked also.

I will be getting another set of Williams wheels in the next year to race on. Probably pick up the 38 carbons.

Get the Carbon wheel skewers to go with it is a big step up. The stock skewers are really cheap. And skip the tire and tube set up. The tires wear very quickly and seem prone to flat easily.

Similar Products Used: Easton EA90
Mavic Ksyrium ES
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
VeloMonkey   Road Racer [Jul 23, 2011]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

Poor build, not at all stiff.

I have the System 30 and they are not of the best quality. The spokes look like 2nd rate Mavic rejects, each spoke has 3 or 4 colors and is poorly finished. I could live with that but the wheels are “sloppy”. If you grab the rear wheel and pull it side to side you will have no problem contacting the brake pads on each side. I have 8 year old wheels with over 10k miles that are stiffer. The wheels rub when I sprint or climb hard out of the saddle. I am only 170lb so that should not happen. Overall, a waste of my $$.

Similar Products Used: Mavic Ksyrium Elite Wheelset
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
clayton.cole23   Road Racer [Feb 25, 2011]
Strength:

- Light
- Strong
- Price
- Fast

Weakness:

- bling factor

These wheels have been though two crashes and held up superbly. The first crash was during the Grandfondo Pinnarello, I was moving up to pull when the lead guy in our group got distracted (or tired) and drifted back to the right after I passed him, his pedal hit my back wheel and flipped him off his bike at 45kmph. I was lucky and stayed upright, ended up only breaking two spokes. I quickly ripped the spokes off and raced the last 50km with a true back wheel! Second crash, slip on a wet road during a training ride with a buddy. Nothing serious, no issues.

I have rode almost 10,000km so far on them and they are true as the day that I got them. They have weathered two winters, eurpoean cobbles, big potholes, and the random accidental Mike Tyson bump. They climb, hold speed when soloing, and I fly downhill with confidence around the tight Italian downhills. The only issue I have is that I have to pull the tires off to get the water out after very wet rides and weekly cleanings. These wheels are hands down the best value around for the serious amateur racer and maybe pro.

Keep contact points of the spokes very lightly oiled, and rim clean.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ariel   Road Racer [Sep 19, 2010]
Strength:

-Value
-Well made
-Features

Weakness:

-A bit heavy
-Nice rims, UGLY hubs

Bought the wheels based on reviews found here. I am very pleased with the wheels so far. Although I haven't had 'em long enough to form an experienced opinion I am however disappointed with the weight discrepancy. The website claims 1580 grams for the wheelset, I weighed them with a calibrated lab scale and found them to be a full 100 grams (almost 1/4 pound) heavier. Total weight of the set including skewers tallied up to a wopping 1791 grams! The hubs look cheap - period! but it is nice to have ceramic bearings in them though. Again, I'm pointing out just a couple of bad points as there aren't many, but overall I am satisfied with the purchase - especially for the money.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.