Williams Cycling Wheel System 50c wheelsets - clincher

Wheel System 50c

  • Built to Race

  • User Reviews (11)

    Showing 1-10 of 11  
    Western Rider   Recreational Rider [Apr 21, 2017]
    Strength:

    This review is for System 58 Carbon Clincher.
    Wheels were purchased on Amazon. Price seemed reasonable compared to all the Chinese eBay carbon wheels. They offered 1 year warranty.
    Josh - Williams' lead mechanic - was quick to respond to warranty claims.

    Weakness:

    Had serious rear hub bearing problems right out of the box.
    Sent item back as a warranty claim, but problem was not resolved. Bearings were way too tight and way too much ultra-heavy bearing grease caused the axle to barely turn... also had rough feel ... no smooth operation at all. Keith - the owner - was very rude and arrogant when i suggested that the product was inferior.
    The cheap ceramic rear hub bearings finally collapsed. I ended up having the rear wheel rebuilt with new spokes and a Shimano 9000 hub.

    Carbon rims are okay. Williams should sell these and let customer have them built up with a non-Williams hub.
    Williams ceramic bearing hubs are total garbage.

    Similar Products Used: Bontrager Triple-X Lite Wheels
    Off-the-Front Racing System carbon rims with DT Swiss hubs.
    Mavic ksyrium elite, 10th anniversary
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Leroy   Road Racer [Aug 02, 2016]
    Strength:

    The price is less than the known brands but a lot more than Chinese generic wheels off Ebay

    Weakness:

    8 broken spokes in 15 months. Bearing are also shot is less time. These are the ceramic and they roll worse the $100 wheels

    This is for the Wheel System 58 Carbon Clincher. There seems to be a design flaw with the wheels or I got a really bad set of wheels. I have never broken a front spoke in my life and have broken 3 in my front wheel and 5 in my rear wheel. What's most unusual is that I have not broken any drive side spokes. The valve is not boxed so there's a spoke crossing right where I need to attach the pump. The bearings are garbage; it would take a mavic bearing 20 years to get like a 6 month old Williams bearing. I weigh 157 lbs and don't race. I was hoping for much better, these are worse than the wheels back in the 80s.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    JDavis   Road Racer [Jun 02, 2015]
    Strength:

    Cost and customer service. I have also found these to be a very reliable wheelset.
    My Cost was 1800.00 as I also purchased the PowerTap G3

    Weakness:

    None

    I actually have the Williams 58's clinchers and I love them. I have not have any issues with them for this year that I have been riding on them I weigh about 186 lbs and last year I put about 12,000miles on these as I race and commute on them (I just received the commuter of the year in Pima County). Recently my front hub developed a problem after hitting a pot hole really hard but I'm convinced that any carbon wheel would have been challenged by the impact.

    I also have the Power meter G3 option on my wheelset...this combination has proven to be awesome. As you can tell I love my wheels and I would recommend them to anyone.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    rocky_mtn_rider   [Apr 03, 2014]
    Strength:

    [This review is actually for the System 58 carbon clinchers]
    Attractive... If you like huge and numerous decals.
    Lightweight
    The carbon rims appeared to be okay.

    Weakness:

    The Williams proprietary hubs are garbage.
    Bearings are bad... I mean REALLY bad.
    Right out of the box the front wheel needed truing at the local bike shop.
    During rides a really weird noise developed... I was informed that this was the pawls sticking.
    Had five pro bike mechanics inspect these wheels to determine cause of noise and other manufacturing-related issues. All confirmed that there was a serious problem.
    Yes, I know... that can happen with any product. Especially Asian made stuff ... But still, this web page is for reviews of this particular item and that's what I'm providing.

    Read all the luminous reviews prior to purchasing. But am very disappointed.
    Customer service was / is outstanding, in the sense that the owner Keith Williams responds quickly and personally. He is very helpful, accessible, communicative as is their in-house mechanic.

    I am considering returning these for a full refund.
    I purchased through Amazon - and Amazon has a really good return policy.
    There is really no significant advantage to getting Williams carbon wheels as opposed to getting the really cheap eBay Chinese carbon clinchers.
    Williams carbon wheels are built either in Taiwan or China anyway, so what's the point ?



    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Brian Killion   [Apr 19, 2013]
    Strength:

    Excellent balance, strength and roll.

    Weakness:

    None so far

    I've had these wheels for a month now and I've put them through hell. They bounce back like a good rubber band and haven't had any problems at all. True as the day they came out of the box.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Don James   Triathlete [Apr 26, 2012]
    Strength:

    Strong as all get out, hybrid ceramic hubs, carbon rims with basalt braking surface. Came with the brakes pads. Nice build with the Powertap.

    Weakness:

    Ah...hmm....oh....NADA!

    I got these after I was smashed a few times by cars and my HEDs went bye bye forever. I demo'd the ZIPPs and no doubt they are nice wheels, but with a premium I don't see.
    I got the Williams 58 clincher with the SL+ Powertap. I slam in 1500 watts sprints and not a "tink" "ping" or groan from the wheels that is. After over 3k miles, not even a wobble, I have never had them trued, I have the hub serviced once a year, just because and no worries. At 220 after my morning constitutional these wheels have held up amazingly well and they don't need to be "Clydesdale" builds to do so.

    Similar Products Used: Felt TTR2 wheels, HED 3, Reynolds Attacks, Reynolds Assaults
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Jamie Gardner   Road Racer [Feb 09, 2012]
    Strength:

    Price, noticeably aero, 2 sets of brake pads included, easily serviced, graphics look good, as light or lighter than competitors with similar wheel size (for a clincher).

    Weakness:

    Maybe a little flexy (for bigger riders)????

    I purchased the 38 clinchers in April 2011. I had plenty of time to do research with a broken leg from skiing. Looking at several independent manufacturers and bike wholesale websites, these appeared to be the best $ per gram for an aero carbon clincher. Reviews also seemed favorable. I rode these all summer in group rides, on chip and seal roads, hit several pot holes and railroad tracks, and managed to get my fitness back enough to race them in August. These are my favorite wheelset! I have a lighter alloy clincher set (Rolf Prima Elan Aero- about 1300 grams) and the ride quality of the carbon is extremely noticable. I do not have powerful legs for time trialing but I was surprised at the aero advantage even in group rides. I was easily outcoasting even the heavy riders in our group. Their trueness has remained perfect although I am rather light at 5'8" and 155lbs. I do wonder if they might have some flex under a bigger rider as I occassionally have some brake rub when out of my saddle if my brakes aren't centered perfectly. Although this hasn't been much of an issue and I would gladly buy a 2nd set for my other bike when finances allow. I can't justify dropping over two grand for a pair of Zipps. I would say if you are of average build, like to ride hard and occassionally race, and are cost conscious that these wheels would be for you.

    Similar Products Used: Mavic Ksyrium SCC SL, Rolf Prima Elan Aero
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    madurorr   Road Racer [Feb 21, 2011]
    Strength:

    They are pretty! Seem to be strong clinchers you can train on. We'll see.

    Weakness:

    Came from the vendor with minor tension and trueness issues. Quality control isn't amazing according to the master wheel builder I had look them over before I rode on them.

    Bought the Williams 58's (2nd Generation) about 2 weeks ago, and Wow!! I love them so far. Before I road them a mile I had the local bike shop master wheel builder scrutinize them. Perfectionist that he is, he found some minor tension/trueness issues that I believe he tweaked and fixed. I rode them hard (descents, climbs, sprints, hard intervals (tempo flats), hard braking, cornering, etc. for about 30 miles the ohter day and they remain staight as an arrow. Maybe a mm or less out on the front, not to be unexpected. I weight 205 lbs and am hard on wheels. No better tester for these things than me. Weight limit for the set is a claimed 225 lbs. When I am fit, I am sub 200 (low 190's). It is mid-winter here so I can't ride the hell out of them yet. I am looking forward to it however and to training (not just racing) on these wheels. The brakes pads Williams supplies MUST be used or you void your warranty. I didn't see that anywhere on their site. The Wheels do ship with two ocmplete sets of pads. They seem to wear quicker than my Dura-Ace pads did but we'll see what kind of life I get out of them. I didn't feel braking suffered at all, as some reviewers (testrider/peloton magazine, et al) have said. They braked fine for me. I was riding in chilly 47 deg dry conditions. Again, I am recommeding this wheelset to our entire team. At that price (950 bucks, enter coupon code 'cycloclub' at checkout and get 40 dollars off), anyone shopping high end carbon clinchers should consider these things. The reviewers all really really like the 38's but the weight limit on those is 200 lbs, so not for me. Did I mention that these wheels are beautiful??! Wow. The lbs guy thought the hubs might be American Classic. I think they are great so far. The wheels do roll very well. Was using Conti 4000 's mounted to the rims. My overall rating is a 4 because of the issues the local shop found, and due to the sloppy mounting ofthe rim strips which I had to correct to safely mount tires.

    Similar Products Used: Bontrager XXX-Lites (clincher) .. admittedly amazing wheels, but something to compare them to
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Seoulhawk   Recreational Rider [May 12, 2010]
    Strength:

    Smooth ride
    Great roll
    Good breaking

    Weakness:

    None so far

    Purchased the Williams58 clincher a few months back and have about 500 miles on them. So far I am really impressed. I don't know if I am any faster, but I do know that I feel better after a ride. They have really smoothed out the road. I do know that I get more roll, they seem to roll forever. My ride partner noticed that he is always slowing down well before me when costing. The main reason that I purchased this wheelset was for the breaking. I ride mountains and breaking is very important. When I first put on the wheels they did not break as well as my Cane Creek aluminum wheelset but it was ok... I was surprised that the more I rode the better the breaking got. I am really happy and will post more later.

    Also if you are military living overseas using an APO address SHIPPING IS FREE!

    Similar Products Used: First carbon wheelset.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Mike Adams   Road Racer [Jun 09, 2009]
    Strength:

    None

    Weakness:

    Have to be fixed right out of the box. Major hassle and pain in the you know what!

    I had high hopes for this wheels. In the first mile of riding these wheels the spokes kept popping and the wheels went out of true. Who wants to spend $999.00 for a product that needs fixing right out of the box. Wheels are crap! Mr. Williams advised me to take the wheels to my local bike shop to get them trued and they should be OK, yea right! Who wants to spend the time, money, and the put up with the hassle factor of fixing a new product? I should of saved my money and purchased some Zipp 404's

    Similar Products Used: Reynolds Attack
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Showing 1-10 of 11  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.