2014 Tour de France: Stage 6 Results

Race Coverage Tour de France

TDF Header

Andre Greipel

Andre Greipel wins Stage 6 of the 2014 Tour de France. Photo by Graham Watson

It’s been a good week for German sportsmen. Marcel Kittel went 3-for-3 in opening sprint stages of the Tour de France, the German national soccer team scalped Brazil 7-1 in a World Cup semifinal match, and Thursday the man affectionately known as the Gorilla broke through with a Tour stage win of his own, blasting first across the line at the conclusion of the 194km run from Arras to Reims.

Andre Greipel of Lotto-Belisol put nearly a bike length into Katusha’s Alexander Kristoff, who slotted a distant second for the second time in three days. Samuel Dumolin (Ag2r La Mondiale) was third. The only bad news for Germany was a late race puncture suffered by Kittel (Giant-Shimano), which knocked him out of contention for another stage win.

In the race for the overall Tour title, Italian Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) and the rest of the primary GC contenders all finished on the same time. Up next is another day with sprint finish potential. But Friday’s 234.5km trip from Épernay to Nancy is the second longest of the Tour and has two small climbs near the finish, which could help launch the Tour’s first successful breakaway.


1. André Greipel (GER)
2. Alexander Kristoff (NOR)
3. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA)
4. Mark Renshaw (AUS)
5. Peter Sagan (SVK)
6. Romain Feillu (FRA)
7. Tom Veelers (NED)
8. Bryan Coquard (FRA)
9. Sep Vanmarcke (BEL)
10. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA)

Team Katusha
Ag2r La Mondiale
Omega Pharma-Quick Step
Bretagne – Seche Environnement
Team Giant-Shimano
Team Europcar
Belkin Pro Cycling
IAM Cycling

04h 11′ 39”
04h 11′ 39”
04h 11′ 39”
04h 11′ 39”
04h 11′ 39”
04h 11′ 39”
04h 11′ 39”
04h 11′ 39”
04h 11′ 39”
04h 11′ 39”

1. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)
2. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN)
3. Peter Sagan (SVK)
4. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL)
5. Fabian Cancellara (SUI)
6. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (BEL)
7. Tony Gallopin (FRA)
8. Richie Porte (AUS)
9. Andrew Talansky (USA)
10. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (ESP)

Astana Pro Team
Astana Pro Team
Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
Trek Factory Racing
Team Sky
Garmin – Sharp
Movistar Team

24h 38′ 25”
24h 38′ 27”
24h 39′ 09”
24h 39′ 15”
24h 39′ 42”
24h 40′ 10”
24h 40′ 10”
24h 40′ 19”
24h 40′ 30”
24h 40′ 36”

TDF Header Yellow Jersey: Vincenzo Nibali (ITA), Astana Pro Team
TDF Header Green Jersey: Peter Sagan (SVK), Cannondale
TDF Header Polka Dot Jersey: Cyril Lemoine (FRA), Confidis-Solutions Credits
TDF Header White Jersey: Peter Sagan (SVK), Cannondale worn by Michal Kwiatkowski (POL), Omega Pharma – Quick-Step


About the author: RoadBikeReview

RoadBikeReview.com is an online community of cyclists who share a passion for the sport. Visitors of the site regularly purchase gear to upgrade their bikes, share inspiring photos of rides, and keep up to date with the latest industry and technology news. Which products perform best? Where to buy them? Where to ride? How to ride better? Cyclists come to RoadBikeReview.com for the answers.

Related Articles

NOTE: There are two ways to comment on our articles: Facebook or Wordpress. Facebook uses your real name and can be posted on your wall while Wordpress uses our login system. Feel free to use either one.

Facebook Comments:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *