2014 Tour de France: Stage 9 Results

Race Coverage Tour de France

TDF Header

Tour de France - Stage 9

German Tony Martin grabbed a heroic solo stage 9 win on Sunday at the Tour de France. Photo by Graham Watson

Sunday’s stage 9 run from Gerardmer to Mulhouse saw a shake-up at the top of the GC standings, with France’s Tony Gallopin (Lotto-Belisol) taking over possession of the yellow jersey. Gallopin was part of a 28-rider breakaway that finished more than three minutes ahead of the main bunch, including previous GC leader Vincenzo Nibali (Astana). The Frenchman was best placed rider among the group coming into the day, which netted him the overall race lead.

Of course, Gallopin poses little threat to the true GC favorites. Instead Nibali and the other top contenders were content to sit back and save their legs for Monday’s monster day, which includes seven rated climbs and finishes with the cat. 1 grind up La Planche des Belles Filles. For now Gallopin owns a 1:34 led over Nibali, with fellow breakaway rider Tiago Machado (Netapp-Endura) third at 2:40.

Meanwhile, German Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) put his world class time trialing skills to use, escaping for a solo win at the end of the 170km ride that included six categorized climbs. After breaking clear with Alessandro De Marchi (Cannondale) on the descent of the first climb, Martin dropped the Italian and rode what was essentially a 59km time trial.

Gallopin was part of a chase group that came together about 35km into the stage. They couldn’t reel Martin in, but built a big enough gap to push the Frenchman into the yellow jersey, which will be extra special on Monday. It’s Bastille Day, France’s version of the Fourth of July.


1. Tony Martin (GER)
2. Fabian Cancellara (SWI)
3. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel)
4. Tom Dumoulin (NED)
5. Matteo Montaguti (ITA)
6. José Joaquin Rojas (SPA)
7. Steven Kruijswijk (NED)
8. Mikael Cherel (FRA)
9. Brice Feillu (FRA)
10. Tiago Machado (POR)


Omega Pharma-Quick Step
Trek Factory Racing
AG2R La Mondiale
AG2R La Mondiale
Bretagne – Seche Environnement


04h 09′ 34”
04h 12′ 19”
04h 12′ 19”
04h 12′ 19”
04h 12′ 19”
04h 12′ 19”
04h 12′ 19”
04h 12′ 19”
04h 12′ 19”
04h 12′ 19”


1. Tony Gallopin (FRA)
2. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)
3. Tiago Machado (POR)
4. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN)
5. Richie Porte (AUS)
6. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL)
7. Alejandro Valverde (SPA)
8. Pierre Rolland (FRA)
9. Alberto Contador (SPA)
10. Romain Bardet (FRA)


Astana Pro Team
Team Sky
Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
AG2R La Mondiale


38h 04′ 38”
38h 06′ 12”
38h 07′ 18”
38h 07′ 56”
38h 08′ 10”
38h 08′ 10”
38h 08′ 39′
38h 08′ 45”
38h 08′ 46”
38h 08′ 51”

TDF Header Yellow Jersey: Tony Gallopin (FRA), Lotto-Belisol
TDF Header Green Jersey: Peter Sagan (SVK), Cannondale
TDF Header Polka Dot Jersey: Tony Martin (GER), Omega Pharma-Quick Step
TDF Header White Jersey: Michal Kwiatkowski (POL), Omega Pharma – Quick-Step


About the author: RoadBikeReview

RoadBikeReview.com is an online community of cyclists who share a passion for the sport. Visitors of the site regularly purchase gear to upgrade their bikes, share inspiring photos of rides, and keep up to date with the latest industry and technology news. Which products perform best? Where to buy them? Where to ride? How to ride better? Cyclists come to RoadBikeReview.com for the answers.

Related Articles

NOTE: There are two ways to comment on our articles: Facebook or Wordpress. Facebook uses your real name and can be posted on your wall while Wordpress uses our login system. Feel free to use either one.

Facebook Comments:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *