2014 Tour de France: Martin takes penultimate TT stage as Nibali confirms overall

Race Coverage Tour de France Uncategorized

TDF Header

Tony Martin flies Stage 20

Omega Pharma-Quick Step’s Tony Martin put in a dominant performance in the 2014 Tour’s only time trial to take the stage 20 win. Photo by Graham Watson

German specialist Tony Martin bested the field in dominating style to take the win in stage 20’s 54km rolling individual time trial from Bergerac to Périgueux on the penultimate day of the 2014 Tour. Overall leader Vincenzo Nibali solidified his first-ever Tour title with a fourth place result, stopping the clock 1 minute and 58 seconds behind Martin. In between the two were Team Giant-Shimano’s Tom Dumoulin and Jan Barta of Team Netapp-Endura at 1:39 and 1:47, respectively.

For the overall classification it was a good day for Frenchman Jean-Christophe Péraud (Ag2r-La Mondiale) who leapfrogged his countryman Thibaut Pinot (FDJ.fr) to move into the runner-up position. Also on the move was American Teejay van Garderen (BMC) who finished sixth on the day 2:08 behind Martin–good enough to jump Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) for fifth overall as the Frenchman struggled to finished 26th, 4:07 adrift. Spain’s Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) struggled today as well but, barring catastrophe, will finsih in fourth overall when the race concludes in Paris tomorrow.


1. Tony Martin (GER)
2. Tom Dumoulin (NED)
3. Jan Barta (CZE)
4. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)
5. Leopold Konig (CZE)
6. Tejay Van Garderen (USA)
7. Jean-Christophe Péraud (FRA)
8. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA)
9. Markel Irizar Arranburu (SPA)
10. Daniel Oss (ITA)


Omega Pharma-Quick Step
AG2R La Mondiale
IAM Cycling
Trek Factory Racing


01h 06′ 21”
@ 01′ 39”
@ 01′ 47”
@ 01′ 58”
@ 02′ 02”
@ 02′ 08”
@ 02′ 27”
@ 02′ 36”
@ 02′ 39”
@ 02′ 58”


1. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)
2. Jean-Christophe Péraud (FRA)
3. Thibaut Pinot (FRA)
4. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (SPA)
5. Tejay Van Garderen (USA)
6. Romain Bardet (FRA)
7. Leopold Konig (CZE)
8. Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (SPA)
9. Laurens Ten Dam (NED)
10. Bauke Mollema (NED)


Astana Pro Team
Ag2r La Mondiale
Movistar Team
BMC Racing Team
Ag2r La Mondiale
Team Netapp-Endura
Trek Factory Racing
Belkin Pro Cycling
Belkin Pro Cycling


85h 37′ 52”
@ 07′ 52”
@ 08′ 24”
@ 09′ 55”
@ 11′ 44”
@ 11′ 46”
@ 14′ 41”
@ 18′ 12”
@ 18′ 20”
@ 21′ 24”

TDF Header Yellow Jersey: Vincenzo Nibali (ITA), Astana Pro Team
TDF Header Green Jersey: Peter Sagan (SVK), Cannondale
TDF Header Polka Dot Jersey: Rafal Majka (POL), Tinkoff-Saxo
TDF Header White Jersey: Thibaut Pinot (FRA), FDJ.fr


About the author: Don Palermini

Chicago-born editorial director Don Palermini became a cycling-based life-form in the sixth grade after completing a family road bike tour of his home state. Three years later he bought his first mountain bike to help mitigate the city's pothole-strewn streets, and began exploring the region's unpaved roads and trails. Those rides sparked a much larger journey which includes all manner of bike racing, commuting, on- and off-road bike advocacy, and a 20-plus-year marketing career in the cycling industry. Now residing in the San Francisco Bay Area and pedaling for Mtbr, his four favorite words in the English language are "breakfast served all day," together in that order.

Related Articles

NOTE: There are two ways to comment on our articles: Facebook or Wordpress. Facebook uses your real name and can be posted on your wall while Wordpress uses our login system. Feel free to use either one.

Facebook Comments:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *