Tour de France Champ Coming To Colorado

News Race Coverage

Chris Froome will be part of a stacked field racing the USA Pro Challenge in late August.

Calling it one of the best fields ever assembled for a pro bike race on U.S. soil, organizers of the 2013 USA Pro Challenge announced provisionary rosters for the Colorado stage race on Wednesday.

Tops of the marquee are the respective winners of the most recent yellow and green jersey at the Tour de France, Brit Chris Froome (Team Sky) and Slovakian Peter Sagan (Cannondale) who are ranked No. 1 and 2 in current world rankings. This will be the first time Froome and his team will contest the seven-day race in Colorado that starts August 19 in Aspen.

The race’s field will also include six current national champions: Fred Rodriguez (USA), Hayden Roulsten (New Zealand), Luis Enrique Lemus (Mexico), Michael Olsson (Sweden), Michael Schär (Switzerland) and Slovakia’s Sagan.

Other notables include five of the top-10 finishers from last year’s USA Pro Challenge, including 2012 winner Christian Vande Velde and second-place finisher Tejay van Garderen. KoM champion Jens Voigt and Best Young Rider Joe Dombrowski are also returning.

All told the USAPC field will include 128 riders from 31 countries, and is comprised of seven teams that competed in the Tour de France, plus four Pro Continental teams and five Continental teams. Here is a rundown of this year’s stages and preliminary list of all the riders slated to race.

Stages for the 2013 USA Pro Challenge

Stage 1: Monday, Aug. 19 – Aspen/Snowmass Circuit
Stage 2: Tuesday, Aug. 20 – Aspen/Snowmass to Breckenridge
Stage 3: Wednesday, Aug. 21 – Breckenridge to Steamboat Springs
Stage 4: Thursday, Aug. 22 – Steamboat Springs to Beaver Creek
Stage 5: Friday, Aug. 23 – Vail Individual Time Trial
Stage 6: Saturday, Aug. 24 – Loveland to Fort Collins
Stage 7: Sunday, Aug. 25 – Denver Circuit

Full stage details

UCI ProTeams

BMC Racing Team (USA)
Tejay van Garderen (USA)
Stephen Cummings (GBR)
Mathias Frank (SUI)
Michael Schär (SUI)
Greg Van Avermaet (BEL)
Lawrence Warbasse (USA)
Julien Taramarcaz (SUI)
Brent Bookwalter (USA)

Cannondale Pro Cycling (ITA)
Peter Sagan (SVK)
Damiano Caruso (ITA)
Alessandro de Marchi (ITA)
Edward King (USA)
Nariyuki Masuda (JPN)
Fabio Sabatini (ITA)
Juraj Sagan (SVK)
Davide Villella (ITA)

RadioShack Leopard Trek (LUX)
Andy Schleck (LUX)
Ben King (USA)
George Bennett (NZL)
Tony Gallopin (FRA)
Andreas Klöden (GER)
Tiago Machado (POR)
Hayden Roulston (NZL)
Jens Voigt (GER)

Sky Procycling (GBR)
Christopher Froome (GBR)
Richie Porte (AUS)
Joshua Edmonson (GBR)
Ian Boswell (USA)
Joseph Lloyd Dombrowski (USA)
Peter Kennaugh (GBR)
Danny Pate (USA)
Kanstantsin Siutsou (BLR)

Team Argos-Shimano (NED)
Patrick Gretsch (GER)
Thomas Damuseau (FRA)
Simon Geschke (GER)
Tann Huguet (FRA)
Tobias Ludvigsson (SWE)
Luka Mezgec (SLO)
Michael Olsson (SWE)
Nikodemus Holler (GER)

Team Garmin-Sharp (USA)
Christian Vande Velde (USA)
Thomas Danielson (USA)
Thomas Dekker (NED)
Rohan Dennis (AUS)
David Millar (GBR)
Lachlan David Morton (AUS)
Andrew Talansky (USA)
David Zabriskie (USA)

Team Saxo-Tinkoff (DEN)
Michael Rogers (AUS)
Anders Lund (DEN)
Bruno Pires (POR)
Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN)
Jay McCarthy (AUS)
Rory Sutherland (AUS)
Timothy Duggan (USA)
Jesper Hansen (DEN)

UCI Professional Continental Teams

Champion System Pro Cycling Team (CHN)
Chad Beyer (USA)
Gang Xu (CHN)
Gregory Brenes Obando (CRC)
Chris Butler (USA)
Craig Lewis (USA)
Ryota Nishizono (JPN)
Chun Kai Feng (TPE)
Ying Hon Yeung (HKG)

UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team (USA)
Lucas Euser (USA)
Alessandro Bazzana (ITA)
Jonathan Clarke (AUS)
Benjamin Day (AUS)
Philip Deignan (IRL)
Christopher Jones (USA)
Jeffry Louder (USA)
Kiel Reijnen (USA)

Team Novo Nordisk (USA)
Fabio Calabria (AUS)
Javier Megias Leal (ESP)
David Lozano Riba (ESP)
Joonas Henttala (FIN)
Martijin Verschoor (NED)
Andrea Peron (ITA)
Kevin de Mesmaeker (BEL)
Christopher Williams (AUS)

Edwin Alcibiades Avila Vanegas (COL)
Julio Alexis Camacho Bernal (COL)
Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (COL)
Marco Corti (ITA)
Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (COL)
Jarlinson Pantano (COL)
Michael Rodriguez Galindo (COL)

UCI Continental Teams
Bissell Pro Cycling (USA)
Phil Gaimon (USA)
Jason McCartney (USA)
Jeremy Vennell (NZL)
Christopher Baldwin (USA)
Jonathan Patrick McCarty (USA)
Carter Jones (USA)
Michael Torckler (NZL)
Kirk Carlsen (USA)

Bontrager Cycling Team (USA)
Nathan Brown (USA)
Lawson Craddock (USA)
Antoine Duchesne (CAN)
Ryan Eastman (USA)
Connor O’Leary (USA)
James Oram (NZL)
Tanner Putt (USA)
Nathan Wilson (USA)

Optum Presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies (USA)
Alexander Candelario (USA)
Marsh Cooper (CAN)
Jesse Anthony (USA)
Michael Friedman (USA)
Tom Zirbel (USA)
Thomas Soladay (USA)
Ryan Anderson (CAN)
Ken Hanson (USA)

Jelly Belly p/b Kenda (USA)
Fred Rodriguez (USA)
Morgan Schmitt (USA)
Ian Burnett (USA)
Alex Hagman (USA)
Serghei Tvetcov (MDA)
Sean Mazich (USA)
Luis Lemus (MEX)
Nic Hamilton (CAN)

Jamis-Hagens Berman p/b Sutter Home (USA)
Janier Alexis Acevedo Calle (COL)
Juan José Haedo (ARG)
Matt Cooke (USA)
Tyler Wren (USA)
Carson Miller (USA)
Luis Romero Amaran (CUB)
James Driscoll (USA)
Ben Jacques-Maynes (USA)

About the author: RoadBikeReview is an online community of cyclists who share a passion for the sport. Visitors of the site regularly purchase gear to upgrade their bikes, share inspiring photos of rides, and keep up to date with the latest industry and technology news. Which products perform best? Where to buy them? Where to ride? How to ride better? Cyclists come to for the answers.

Related Articles

NOTE: There are two ways to comment on our articles: Facebook or Wordpress. Facebook uses your real name and can be posted on your wall while Wordpress uses our login system. Feel free to use either one.

Facebook Comments:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




VISIT US AT and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.