Airborne Zeppelin 2001 Older Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • $1525-$2660
  • 2000 Cycling Plus Road Bike of the Year
  • You Choose Each Component to Create and Purchase your Dream Bike Online.
  • Aerospace Grade 3AL/2.5V Titanium Frame
  • Multi-shaped Cold Worked Seamless Titanium Tubing
  • GAMS (Graceful Arc Maximum Stiffness) engineered seat and chain stays.
  • Sizes: 43,50,54,56,58,60, & 63cm

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 109  
    [Dec 03, 2019]
    archangelndfw


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Smooth as butter.

    Weakness:

    Only weakness. It’s almost too smooth. I can’t feel the road

    Price Paid:
    1500
    Purchased:
    New  
    [Aug 06, 2007]
    Eric
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Value for titanium
    Absorbs vibrations excellently
    Ti has the bling factor
    Finish - seriously, this thing looks like it's still brand new despite being a 2000!

    Weakness:

    The 2000 came with a 1" steerer tube instead of the 1 1/8". Not really a weakness, but it just limits me on what fork I can get.

    This is hands down a "great value for the money" bike. This 2000 frame I have is the same exact one that won the "Best Road Bike of the Year" from Cycling Plus Magazine. This is my first road bike and have been very happy with the it. Too bad I am forced to sell it, because it is not the proper size for me. I am 5'7" and the bike is a 54cm. The top tube is too long for me at 56cm c-c/57cm effective. If c-c was 53cm, it would be perfect.

    The ride is very cushy; there are many times I look down at my rear wheel to see if I have a flat. I have Bontrager X Lites, so my wheels are plenty stiff and my tires are pumped to 100 psi. This just shows how much of the road vibration this bike can absorb.

    Too bad it's too big, now I'm in the market for a new frame and this one will probably be selling on eBay. If I can find another Zeppelin my size, I'd be happy!

    Similar Products Used:

    circa 87 Schwinn Le Tour

    [Mar 15, 2004]
    davidtrajtenberg
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Cost for sure.

    Weakness:

    If you do not like the sloping seat tube, then this would be a minus. At first the frame felt a little bit small, but after a few adjustments, I realized that the small feel was due to the sloping top tube.

    It's about time that I write a review for this bike. I have been very pleased with this frame. It is perfectly stiff (I weight 175lbs) and handles beautifully. I have a litespeed mtn. bike and I notice no difference in ride quality or craftmanship.

    Similar Products Used:

    Litespeed Obed and Pisgah mtn. bikes Cannondale road frame.

    [Aug 26, 2003]
    lou
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    good price for an exccelent bike

    Weakness:

    a tad heavy

    i race mtb and use this bike to train and i love this bike. i'm 6'1" at 200 pounds and this bike has very minimal flex. it corners,accelerates,climbs,and decends very well equiped with ultegra and ksryium elite wheels. it is not the lightest but the ti frame is super smooth.

    [Aug 01, 2002]
    Martin
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    The frame is awesome. Ti is everything it says it will be and more. Cost was great. Airborne excellent to work with.

    Weakness:

    Only the rider

    This is a smooth bike. I love the way it feels in every aspect of the road. It corners like it is on rails. It flys down hill like abat out of hell. It even made me a better climber. Low weight. Great setup. Looks fast stnding still Makes every road seem just paved. Ti finish looks great. An excellent alriund bike. It brought joy back to riding for me

    Similar Products Used:

    Only aluminium, bodies glad I made the switch

    [Jul 15, 2002]
    tgossman
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    As I said overall agreat deal .good value smooth ride

    Weakness:

    I've found few flaws. The one thing that a person should be aware of is this bike is long

    Though an economic price the ride and quality of this bike is the best I've evry had . I purchased my as a demo so the price was lower than most pay.I do alot of riding and the way this bike rides I can go farther faster with less fatigue.I was the first in the crowd of people I ride with to purchase an Airborne but already two others have bought them . From what we are all telling our friends there will be more soon. I called on a few of the items that I purchased at the sale and the customer service/responce was great. A friend of mine who purchased a bike had some aligment problems and the airborne crew took care of the problem the day he dropped off his bike .In fact while he waited . Overall a great value.

    Similar Products Used:

    I have ridden Canomdale bikes for sevral years as well as a steel frame . Canondales are close but not as confortable

    [Jul 06, 2002]
    Leslie Neville
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Light as a feather. Brakes well. Fits me well.

    Weakness:

    Just me!

    After riding a Schwinn Super Sport for eight years, I had a chance to buy this bike at a reasonable price. After road testing, I fell in love with this bike. There is so much difference between the two that words can't describe it. The Airborne is extremely smooth on the road, extremely light, accelerates smoothly and quickly, and handles very well. The shop was very, very helpful in setting it up for me and ensuring a good fit.

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    [May 28, 2002]
    Hot Wheels
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Great welds and craftmanship. Very light and very strong. Smooth ride especially with the Xaero's. Great Looking Bike, I get positive comments all the time. Excellent customer support. Great supporting web site and forum with other Airborne fanatics to help with questions, support and encouragement for upcoming rides.

    Weakness:

    Me-Unfortunately

    I am in love with this bike! This is my second bike from Airborne, my first purchase from Airborne was a 2001 Lucky Strike XTR mountain bike (it is an awesome bike as well). I can't say enough about this company and their bikes! I like their bikes so much that I bought this Zeppelin. I am a novice rider and it makes me a much better rider than I really am, this is a sweet riding, finely tuned race machine. You can really put the power to the pedals on this bike!

    Similar Products Used:

    Older road bike whose name is not worth mentioning in the same sentance as Airborne!

    [Apr 09, 2002]
    clemd
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    The customer service guy did a great job in helping me in sizing the bike. The ride feels smooth on all kinds of roads and handles the bumps well.

    Weakness:

    The componenents needed to be adjusted, but I was reimbursed the cost from Airborne.

    This is the first road bike I have ever owned and I think I am spoiled. After riding my Zeppelin I rode a friends bike to see if I could notice a difference. It wasn''t even 50 yards before I stopped and got back on mine. Now I know I am spoilded with the smooth ride.

    Similar Products Used:

    none

    [Mar 07, 2002]
    wkman
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Super-Light, super tough, great deal. Smooth as butter on the road.Knowledgeable sales Reps (you can tell these guys are serious riders themselves).

    Weakness:

    Absolutely none :)

    This is one great bike!! I love this bike. Incredibly low weight, tough (did a 66 mile ride in Vermont where 10 miles were unpaved road, no problem). Bike is very confortable, Titanium soaks up bumps. To quote someone who had posted earlier "accelerates likes a scalded cat, climbs like a mountain goat on crack!". Also corners like crazy (get the Michelin Axial Pro tires). Plus I find the whole design of the bike very beautiful. Played around with stem length to get correct set-up, but each time I needed a new stem I just sent old stem to Airborne and they sent me a knew one free (tried 110mm, them 130mm and finally settled on 120mm). I now have the riding position I wanted. When I was ordering the bike the Airborne Rep I spoke to was very friendly and very knowledgeable. Bike came sooner than promised and setting it up was a snap (on the road in 15 minutes). If you are thinking about getting a road bike that will be with you for a long haul, get this bike.

    Similar Products Used:

    1999 Trek 1200 (Aluminium, harsh ride but good bike for the money

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.