Klein Bicycle Corporation 2000 Quantum Pro Older Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

road race & triathlon, Shimano Dura-Ace components, Klein Aeros fork

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Jan 09, 2003]
gfgfinlayson
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiffness, light weight, beautiful finish, superb handling, lifetime warranty.

Weakness:

Some may view the price as a weakness, but this standard of quality doesn't come cheap anywhere.

This is by far the most enjoyable steed I've ever owned. I bought mine as a framest from my local dealer (he bought the full bike and a custom frame, swapped the parts and sold me the original frame). The frame is a work of art. Smooth welds, integrated headset, internal cable routing giving smoother cleaner looks, carbon fork, and that paint!!! Pearlescent with transferless transfers!? Klein spray the base coat, apply the transfers, spray the top paint coat, and then peel off the transfers before lacquering. The result is an indented logo with no transfer, which looks so superior to the lacquered-on transfers seen on other frames, and can never peel off. This is one of the lightest stiffest frames available today. I was amazed at how well it climbs. Every single joule of energy input is used to drive it forward. Nothing is wasted in frame flex. Even with my not so light component set, it weighs in at just over 16lbs. Even the least confident rider would have no problems cornering at speed on this frame. It feels so stable and sure footed on all but the very worst of surfaces

Similar Products Used:

Trek 2300.

[May 24, 2002]
jcpyun
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Responsive, fast, well balanced, paint, internal cable routing, internal headset.

Weakness:

Price, weird steerer tube diameter (between 1" and 1 1/8")

An incredible frame. Was in a race this week- felt like I had an upper hand whenever I needed to pound uphill or sprint. Despite its stiffness, handles like a dream on curves and downhills. Not bad at absorbing large bumps either, but will transmit vibrations to rider. Bonuses are the paint, internal cable routing which makes the frame look sooo clean, and the integrated headset. What a frame!!

Similar Products Used:

Giant Once, Bianchi XL EV2

[May 02, 2002]
phooeyonklein
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Looks great hanging in my garage.

Weakness:

questionable quality. horrible customer support.

This is a warning to prospective buyers of Klein Q-Pro Carbons and Quantum pros. I purchased a NOS (new, old stock) 2000 Quantum Pro with a badly installed integrated headset (apparently, Klein''s quality control is lousy). Took it to my local Klein dealer for repair and they just scratched their heads. Told me they''d never worked on a Klein integrated headset before. In fact, they didn''t even own the $400 tool it needs to be fixed. I called other Klein dealers and was told the same thing. No one could repair it. I wrote Klein and they were indifferent. They wouldn''t honor the warranty because I wasn''t the original owner. They couldn''t care less that local service was unavailable. (Nor did they apologize for allowing a faulty, new frame to leave their factory.) Their only suggestion was to pay to ship it to them and pay to repair it. Thanks bunches. I even wrote John Burke, the President of Trek (Klein''s owner), asking for help. He never bothered to reply, much less help. Very professional, Johnny. So, my $1600 Klein frame continues to hang in my garage, looking pretty but completely useless as a bike. My advice is to avoid Klein''s integrated headset frames (and any other bike distributed by Trek), because when something goes wrong you can expect no customer service or support. With so many choices, why do business with a company like Klein/Trek?

Similar Products Used:

Serotta Concours

[Apr 25, 2002]
jcpyun
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Incredible sprinter and climber Stable on descents Great handling NO unwanted flex God, the paint. Solid fork Internalized cable routing gives the frame a smooth look

Weakness:

Top tube is horizontally ovalized, and sometimes rubs my inner thighs Unusual steerer tube diameter-in between 1" and 1 1/8" May be a little stiffer for lighter riders

Great frame. Probably one of the most responsive frames out there. The thoroughly manipulated aluminum transfers all energy into forward motion, while trying to minimize road shock. the integrated headset is without flaw, and saves weight. A true work of art by Gary Klein.

Similar Products Used:

Giant Team Once Bianchi XL EV2

[Jan 14, 2002]
JJ
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Acceleration, responsiveness. Paint Workmanship Weight

Weakness:

Weird sized steerer tube (between 1 and 1 1/8)

Incredible frame/fork. Great for racer,may be too harsh for those who just want to cruise. Accel, climbs, and even descends incredibly well. Overall quality is flawless. This is a work of art.

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi XL EV2 Giant Team Once

[Jun 26, 2001]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

After owning this bike for a week I have NO compaints. THe thing climbs hills like an ape on speed, corners and handles superbly. Not to mention very light. Rolf Vector Pro's are awesome wheels as well.

Weakness:

some testers have said the bike has a stiff ride- it is, but not too stiff. I'm 5'10" and only weigh 145lbs I was not shaken up at all after a 60 mile ride on some not so nice roads. Any comfort lost by not buying a Litespeed is gained from the quantum pros phenomenal acceleration and handling, not to mention climbing.
Do not buy this bike if you are looking for a cadillac type ride.

I could not find a better bike for the price I paid. For another 1500 I could have bought a Specialized S-works or cannondale r5000. However, I rode a 'dale and liked the klein more. I have yet to find a bike that climbs better (response to pedaling is great on this bike) and its light weight helps that, along with the stiff frame. If you want a Cadillac type ride go buy a litespeed, but if you are into ripping it up hills, down hills and through flats, this thing does it all. Dura Ace components are flawless, shift super fast. Buy one if you can. It also has an awesome orange paint job that changes color in the sun.
But it if: you are looking for a solid, smooth but not plush ride, want a bike with phenomenal acceleration and great components.
Don't buy it if: You want a plush soft ride (buy a litespeed), if you dont care about a stiff frame, and are into just cruising rather than ripping up hills, down , etc.
Im giving it 5's for both value and overall ratings, but only because it does not go any higher.

Similar Products Used:

cannondale r3000, r4000, r5000, different litespeeds, lemond zurich

[Aug 13, 2001]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, stiff, climbs VERY well, handles like a dream come true, just think where you want to go, can't beat the color and finish work either!

Weakness:

At times maybe a bit to stiff a ride on rough roads, but really not a problem for the most part.

I'm 6'2" and 180 pounds so that may have some effect on the ride qualities, read, its not harsh like I was always told Al is. I took this to France to ride with a group following the Tour. In the big climbs we did, I felt like it would not only get me to the top but I felt good after the summits. All the energy went it to getting to the top not flexing the frame in the climb. The ride was smooth and predictable it those fast desents, around switch backs and winding roads. While riding across the flats I had no question that I would have enough speed to keep with the group and be able to take my pulls on the front.
Bottom line from my point of view if you want a good climb and steady performance in desents and across the flats you probably can't go to far wrong here.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Feb 28, 2000]
Anonymous
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Light weight...Top of the line components...Great wheels

Weakness:

COST!!! ...It is a great bike but they need to work on trying to get the cost of it down so more riders can afford to ride it...

If you want a great looking bike that is light as a feather then buy one...Shop around as you can beat the manufacturer's retail price by several hundred dollars...If you have to worry about the cost of the bike then you might consider the Quantum Race (Also Nice)...{I am downgrading the value rating just because I think Klein should be more competitive in the pricing field}...

Similar Products Used:

Kestrel 200 SCI (Test Ride Only)

[May 16, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiff, light, accelerates

Weakness:

Stiff, cost

Great bike for aggressive rider, corners good, climbs very fast, and accelerates like you would not belive. It might be to stiff for 5 hour rides but it's great for 2hrs of hard group riding with you buddies it makes a difference.

Similar Products Used:

Lemond Alpa D huerz

[Aug 15, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightweight, outstanding paint finish and detailing, great components, accelerates like a rocket, stiff but not punishing. Great bike stock, no changes really needed. Also has very quick steering response.

Weakness:

Price

The bike handles, climbs, and accelerates very well. The Vector Pro wheels are very strong and light, and have given me no problems at all. I changed to carbon post for vibration absorption only, not much weight saved due to the stock Thomson post being very good also. The paint quality is otherworldly, along with very good weld quality and detailing. You think about steering, and the bike responds. I've had good support from Klein on questions also. The main reasons I bought this bike are its responsiveness, agility, build quality, and geometry fitting my needs better than others. I'm 200 lbs, a light rider may find the frame too stiff.

Similar Products Used:

Trek OCLV, LeMond (tested)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.