Merida Extreme 905 Older Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • Components: SHIMANO 105
  • Weight: 9.3 kg

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    [Feb 03, 2019]
    MeridaMike


    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    I just restored one with 24 speed ST1055 group set Mavic Cxp 14 rims & Rx 100 brakes & hubs. Alloy 7005 frame Its a very smooth bike with classic lines. It compares very well with modern bikes but this one only cost me $40 & then $100 to bring back to concours condition. Im not sure of the age probably 1996 . Gets lots of looks & compliments when out .

    Weakness:

    I noticed a small bit of bubble corrosion under the paint at the water bottle mounts .Old St1055 105 shifters need to be kept clean but work very well.

    Price Paid:
    40
    Purchased:
    Used  
    Model Year:
    1996
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Suit "larger" rider at 1.87m and 110kg

    Weakness:

    Broke a lot of spokes in the early days, wheel rim problems conceded and replaced by Mavic
    Anchor bracket for front set changer (welded direct to frame instead of usual bolted bracket)sheared and there is no room for replacement bracket. Major welding issue, still not resolved - may result in trashing of frame.

    Standard 10 groupset excellent.
    Great bike 'till it broke.

    Similar Products Used:

    Cannondale (Crack an fail) 300 series. Frame cracked at rear downtube chain side.

    [Jul 27, 2005]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Frame is excellent, especially for me as I don't suit compact framesets

    Weakness:

    None yet

    As a frame/fork package, it is excellent value there alone. I am in the process of replacing the parts I originally had (Shimano Sora & 105) to something much better (DuraAce and other carbon parts).

    Similar Products Used:

    Avanti Sprint

    [Feb 23, 2003]
    T Lovett
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Great value for money. The full 105 Groupset. The stiff lightweight frame with carbon forks. The geometry really suits big riders. No skimping to keep price down. The flexibility of the Shimano 105 groupset enabled me to fit an Ultegra 12-27 rear cluster - I now rarely get dropped on climbs and can still stay well in touch on the flats. In this instance it is definitely the bike not the "motor".

    Weakness:

    None so far. Even the standard seat is bearable!

    In Australia, the Merida Extreme 904 has 7005 Al tubing, carbon forks and the full 105 Groupset with Ritchey rims. The 905 has the magnesium frame with similar running gear. At 6'1" tall and 105 kg - I am a big rider. I find that Merida's frame geometry suits me perfectly. It is ultra light and stiff without any twitchiness. The carbon forks also suit the frame and eliminate "road buzz". The bike is pure fun - a joy to ride.

    Similar Products Used:

    Trek 1000, Trek 1400, Giant OCR1

    [Jan 28, 2003]
    loxley
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    V. light (9.5kg incl pedals); integrates well with Shimano flightdeck; good carbon fork smooths out ride

    Weakness:

    None so far (will update when I find them)

    I am a novice triathlete and bought the 904 (2003) model which I think replaces the old 905 that has now been upgraded to a magnesium frame. Great value for money for a full 105 set. NB price is in Aussie Dollars

    Similar Products Used:

    Hybrid mountain bike

    [Jun 18, 2002]
    rohal
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Value and components are excellent.

    Weakness:

    Pedals need patience, but I'm new to the concept.

    My first road bike and very impressed. 105 gear, great wheels and very light. Received bad review in local bike magazine for flexible frame...can't say I've noticed it on my 52 cm model...

    [Apr 21, 2002]
    sstiles
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    The bike comes with an exceptionally good wheel set and tyres for a bike in this price range. Complete Ritchey components and complete 105 group set, no skimping as we see on many models. 9.3 kg at this price.

    Weakness:

    Pedals - comes with clipless pedals which is a bonus over other bikes, though I would suggest that you upgrade them, I am sure your dealer will be happy to trade. 9 speed cluster is 12- 25, OK if you are a just startin out, not much use to anyone else Frame could be a little stiffer for those sprints and big hills.

    Cheap enough for entry level yet good enough and complete ready to race. Looks fantastic in brushed alloy, wheels and tyres and 9.3 kg make this bike fast for its price. Race quality wheels.

    [Apr 18, 2002]
    jackson
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    quality frame and components carbon forks are a good addition for the price

    Weakness:

    spokes keep on snapping

    great machine for the dollars good looking

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.