Pinarello Paris Older Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

2000 Pinarello Paris Frame, "PINARELLO Vires" Butted Aluminum Tubing, TIG Welding, "ARIA" Carbon Fork

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jan 05, 2002]
jim6361
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Climbs like a dream, light weight, great ride with the carbon fork

Weakness:

Doesn''t have a replaceable rear derailleur

Owned a Cannondale (extremely harsh ride !!!) and a Torelli (in my opinion the best value in an Italian steel frame), but after a couple of years with each, decided to go for the Paris. It will have to be the last frame for a while!!! It climbs well, is fairly comfortable with the right saddle, and makes you feel like a member of the peloton with it''s heritage. The finish is fantastic (mine''s Power Red), and you won''t be seeing another one right beside you (like Trek blue or litespeed grey) on your group rides. If you''re in the market for a top notch frame, you owe it to yourself to look at the Paris.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale 4.0, Torelli Countach

[Oct 27, 2001]
pinarello paris
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Descents and weight. Depending on preference... no hiddenset. Chain Stays are well refined as is the paint. The ride feels comfortable and road vibration minimal. No carbon rear end (depending on what you like).

Weakness:

no replaceable derailleur hanger? Not high fashion (no carbon rear end). Keeping in mind the number of stages/event won on the Paris.

This is my third Pinarello to date and by far the best. You may want to take a look at my Pinarello Surprise review. The greatest difference I have found with the Paris is that it is much lighter and feels more lively. The Surprise was sure footed but didn''t have the same zest in the corners. I suspect that this is in a largt part a result of the Aria fork which in 2001 has a corbon steerer. I am glad that I bought this former 3 time tour winning model. As always the paint is excellent (Fassa Bortollo colours). The new "P" head badge looks neat but I liked the throw back old badge on the Surprise. Another difference between the Paris and Surprise are the Chain Stays. The Paris has very refined looking stays. As I have owned the bike for only a short time I have not yet discovered any faults. It seems to climb very well and as I have mentioned before it corners very VERY well. As I am a nervour rider on the descents I really appreciate this characteristic.

Similar Products Used:

Pinarello Surprise (about 60-70% as nice) I would buy one of these again if I could not find a Paris. Marinoni Levito - Top Notch! Columbus Altec 2+ with Muscle fork is fantastic.

[Apr 16, 2000]
Drew
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Italian, fairly stiff, aero tubing, great paint, excellent geometry, same bike that won 97 tour

Weakness:

expensive

I knew I had to have it when I saw it hanging on the wall at the bike shop. I've raced this thing in technical crits and road races already and it raced extremely well in both. It's a really comfortable ride on the days I'm not racing it. Looks great with my yellow paint job and the brown styling along w/ the yellow pinarello seat and custom yellow deda stem. It's pretty pricey, but I built it up with only the best european parts (except for the speedplays) Definately worth every penny every time I ride it and everytime someone's jaw drops looking at it. It's my dream ride to say the least

Similar Products Used:

GT aluminum and Ti w/ duraAce

[Sep 29, 2000]
matt
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

lite weight,perfect paint and cosmetics,very comfortable.Very responsive on the climbs

Weakness:

frame very thin aluminum slipped against door jam = DENT IN TOP TUBE my fault but very surprising.

The bottom line is I'm extremely happy with the bike. Its fast, comfortable, and I'v ridden centuries to crits on this thing.In two years I'v only seen a handful of them around so its nice having something special and unique.Those few owners i have come into contact with seem to have the same feeling as i do.I recommend this to not only the racer but to those rec. riders that log miles, you won't be dissapointed, shell out the cash!

Similar Products Used:

cannondale,yeti

[Nov 08, 2000]
Jesus Del Rio

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, light, responsive, fast.

Weakness:

None.

This is the best bike I have owned. It is not as light as the Fondriest Top Lite, but you cannot feel the diference when you are climbing. This bicycle has the best geometry. It works great for climbing, sprinting, criteriums, long road races. Eventhoug it is stiff when sprinting or pressing hard on the pedals it is forgiving on rough roads. The carbon fork reduces some of the vibration, but not the bumps. It is also very strong, Ive had several hard crashes on it and no sign of damage appeared. It is worth the money.

This bike is great for racers or recreational riders who are searious about riding.

Similar Products Used:

Fondriest Top Lite, Cannondale R100

[Nov 30, 2000]
Andrew Rushton
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Excellent paintwork, well made, aluminium frame.

Weakness:

Price. Leaves you wanting to try out better bikes

Unbelievably stiff, the bike allows an amazing amount of power to the transmission and the Carbon fork knocks out a lot of bumps. A great bike, but now I want to move to a Colnago C40 or Pinarello Prince to see what the best of the best are like. I would keep the Paris however. A great bike to get when you feel you need something better, but can't go too high end.

Similar Products Used:

none

[Apr 22, 2001]
Bruce McLellan
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff. Responsive. Beautiful. Comfortable.

Weakness:

None.

A wonderful bike. I can't imagine anything better for a big rider (195 lbs.) People don't believe me when I tell them the Paris is more comfortable than my steel bike. The Banesto paint is beautiful. When I took it out of the box my wife said "you aren't actually going to ride that, are you?" The first time out of the saddle you know how stiff this frame is. But I could ride it all day if I had the time. If I could, I'd buy a Prince, except at my weight I wonder if it would be a good idea. I have nothing at all bad to say about this bike. Take a look at Robert Millar's reviews of the Paris and Prince in procycling.

Similar Products Used:

First Alum. bike. My other road bike is a Bianchi Deda Zero Mega Pro.

[Apr 26, 2001]
Dave
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiffness through the bottom bracket, looks, not another Trek on the road

Weakness:

The ride can get harsh on bad pavement

The bike is made for sprinting and climbing, and it offers enough stiffness for a 200lb ride like myself. But lately I have been pricing Colnago C-40's and custom Seven titaniums, because I would like a smoother riding bike for longer rides on bad pavement.

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi Pantani Replica, Specialized Allez

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.