Raleigh USA 2000 R800 Older Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

road race & triathlon, Shimano Ultegra components, Kinesis fork

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Jul 19, 2020]
Gepena


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Great components- starts out with a complete Shimano Ultegra group set, on an Italian Columbus tubing frame, Mavic Wheels with Ultegra hubs. Great value.

Weakness:

Well the pedals it comes with suck, so upgrade the pedals - I went with look pedals. Also, the saddle it comes with wasn’t a good fit for me, so upgrade the saddle with something that is right for you. Saddles are very personal.

Price Paid:
1900
Purchased:
New  
[Jan 22, 2003]
timewarp186
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very light bike with a strong but compliant frame. The carbon fork helps smooth out road roughness nicely. Good components (except wheels and seat) make this bike an excellent value.

Weakness:

I was not crazy about the Mavic CXP-21 wheels and the seat wasn't the greatest. I replaced the wheels with a pair of Shimano Aero rims and am now getting another 2 mph or so on top end with no additional effort. I prefer a more comfortable seat and got a Trek comfort racing seat, not sure of the model number but it is way nicer than what came on the bike.

Excellent bike for the money. Happened to get this one in exchange for providing my local bike dealer with a complete website. I do a lot of hill climbing up the mountains where I live and this bike is geared very nicely for this. A lot of other road bikes only have a double chain ring but for what I do the triple is almost mandatory. Flying down the mountain passes at speeds of 45 mph the bike is very stable through the turns and predictable. No shudders or shakes, very smooth.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1000 Alpha Series Older Raleigh road bike with Reynolds 531 tubing.

[Sep 06, 2002]
Doug
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ultegra; stiffness; looks

Weakness:

Right Ultegra shifter from 2000 is defective and can't be repaired

Great bike for the money. Light, fast and responsive, especially on climbs. Like a rocket on sprints. Can be a little harsh on long rides on bumpy roads.

Similar Products Used:

Zunow steel

[Aug 11, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Weight, Ultegra for starters. Stock setup works great. Worked my way up from a steel Diamondback, so pleased with the quickness and responsiveness.

Weakness:

A little skittish on rough pavement, chatters due to the front fork.

After riding heavy steel, my first ride showed me the quickness of an out of saddle jump. Easier to climb with and the Ultegra set allows for smooth gearing. 18 gears and the STI keep the hands where I need them.

The bike tracks well from tops or prone.

Been on the bike over a year and love it. Great support from the bike shop makes the experience that much more enjoyable.

Somehow the expert cyclists think I am one of them at times, now I get a lot of wheelsucking, oh well.

Similar Products Used:

Not had the pleasure

[Mar 31, 2000]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

very light; 18.5lbs.

Weakness:

It has too many decals. It has too many decals. It has too many decals. It has too many decals. It has too many decals. It has too many decals. It has too many decals.

If you are looking for a new bike you should check one of these out. It is light. At 18.5lbs it enjoys going uphill. It is also stable at high speeds on the way down. I had heard aluminum is harsh on longer rides but this bike feels really good.

Here is what the bike looks like:
Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh Raleigh

While it does have too many decals, it is still a nice looking bike.

[Jun 01, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very light -- 19.0 lbs for 59cm. Equipped with high-quality components (Tompson, Mutant, Cinelli, Ultegra, Mavic). Handles corners nicely. Stiffness of Altec frame provides great acceleration and climbing. Carbon fork takes the edge off of road shock to the hands/arms. Nice, even welds and straight frame alignment.

Weakness:

A few too many decals. I guess more decals is supposed to give a bike more of a "team" look. Fortunately, the paint is a conservative blue/white fade, so the overall look is not too excessive. Still, Raleigh should back off on the decals.

There are a lot of great bikes on the market, but for the price (I paid $1700), I don't think you will find another bike as well equipped as the R800. This bike is a great value. It makes a great training and entry/medium level racing bike.

Similar Products Used:

My previous bike was a Cannondale R600. It was light and fast but it was too stiff and would beat me to death after a couple of hours. Tried the Specialized M1 -- rode nice but don't like Grabber Green and the Helium wheels on the M1 Team are too weak. Comparable Treks were too expensive and not equipped as well. Schwinn Peloton had gorgeous paint job but was not well equipped for the price and the steel frame had too much flex for my 6'2" size.

[Jun 14, 2000]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very light, corners quickly, nice bar tape, nice component set, very nice wheels

Weakness:

The headset is a peice of crap!!!!! The berings don't fit in the cup race right and this causes it to have side to side wobble or else be way to stiff. This however is just a weekness of the headset and not the bike. My friend has the same headset and it is exactly the same. We have both ordered Cane creek C2's $30 on supergo.com blowout special. I have one on my ATB and I love it.

This bike is definately worth the money. I have already put over 100 miles on it(had it 2 days) . it is smooth quiet fast, accelerates like a rocket. I can get going 20mph in two pedal strokes. BUY IT NOW AND THEN CHANGE YOUR HEADSET

Similar Products Used:

Diamondback Master, Diamondback Interval

[Aug 30, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Lightweight,stiff,comfortable,great paint job really an eye catcher,i bought the frameand fork not the complete bike.this bike rides sweet on long rides and races as well as crits it corners real well .i'm very satisfied.

Weakness:

i guess they could've done a better job on the welds and some very little bubleson the paint.but that's pure cosmetics,the fact is this bike races right out of the box and for the money it's damn worth it,you'll have to pay over a grand for altec 2 plus from the italian companies.

Great bike ,great value,get it if you serius about cycling and want a bike that will help you ride faster,without spending a lot of money

Similar Products Used:

Trek5500,bianchi Titanium,colnago master,giant tcr once,Jad JR5,look carbon,bianchi steel

[Jul 13, 2001]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff yet compliant frame, nice tubeset

Weakness:

Can be skittish cornering

A nice ride, good fork and wheels. Bike shop did not set up front/rear shifters properly so always do a thorough ride before leaving the shop.

Over all a decent ride

Similar Products Used:

Fuji Team

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.