Cannondale R400 Triple 2002 Road Bike

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Sep 28, 2012]
cory
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Longevity, comfort, looks, climbing.

Weakness:

The big ring (triple) is huge and unnescessary. I can do 48mph down the steep hills of NH on the middle ring, I never use the larger one.

Besides the oversized big ring, the gear ratio is perfect. On steep climbs, this bike still crushes $5000 bikes. I just raced it last weekend in a sprint tri against some amazing carbon tri bikes and hung on for 6th. I can out-climb similar level riders without getting out of the saddle. I have put 5k miles on this bike and it still rides like a dream, I can sit on it all day long. This is a perfect training and fitness machine that can be had used for $400-500. For entry level, you couldn't ask for anything better. I will own this bike forever.

Similar Products Used:

2005 Giant TCR2, 2001 schwinn passage, 2008 Cannondale Ironman

[Jul 23, 2009]
Antonio
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Frame, Mavic wheels, brakes

Weakness:

SORA/ Tiagra components

So far I love the bike. I did however upgrade all the drive train to all Dura-Ace (front/rear deraileur, shifters, chain, rear cassette). I switched the triple cranks to double (FSA Team Carbon). The frame hold up well for me. I'm 6'3" and 220lbs. I dont feel much flex when cranking up hills. The stock brakes actually turned out to be lighter than the Shimano upgrade I bought, so I left them on. I did not like the SORA shifters. But if you are getting this bike as your first, it's great. Room for upgrades. SOLID platform to work on

[Sep 30, 2008]
George
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good, sound frame.

Weakness:

Components. I plan to change to carbon fork and upgrade front and rear derailleurs.

Bought this to upgrade from an 80's era steel frame w/clunky components. Now I have a new frame w/clunky components. At least the frame is worth upgrading as soon as the $$ are there.
The R400 frame has a nuisance rattle in it that I can't pinpoint.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Sep 25, 2004]
bandj
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Great frame and great price for a Cannondale. The frame itself was worth the entire cost IMHO. The frame makes the bike definately worth upgrading.

Weakness:

Stock SORA derailers and cranks did not shift smoothly. Even the LBS was not able to get the front derailer/cranks to dependibly shift for very long. The steel fork, bottom bracket and triple cranks add a lot of weight. Strap and toeclip system is dated.

Just a disclaimer, I've mostly been a bike commuter that used a MTB and also rode a recumbent bike. I had a ancient Schwinn roadbike in the garage gathering dust which I rarely rode. I decided to make an impulse buy of this bike just because it looked pretty and the LBS knocked $200 off and through in a few extras. So I really don't have a deep background on roadbikes. But I can say this, this is lightyears ahead of my old Schwinn roadbike and much much faster. Having rode on this bike for nearly two years now, I have to say this was one of the best impulse buys I ever made. This bike is fast, climbs mountains like a goat, and looks great. I did have trouble with the front derailer/cranks. The shifting was terrible. After letting the LBS screw with it a few times, and it wasn't getting better, I went ahead and upgraded everything to Shimano 105 grade and installed it myself. That was like getting a new bike again, everything worked better. I haven't had a single thing to complain about since upgrading the cranks & derailer. I also didn't fit the saddle well, I would get numb in some places during rides over an hour long. A new saddle fixed this issue.

Similar Products Used:

A 20 something year-old Schwinn 12-speed road bike I junked it after buying this). Also ride a Raleigh MTB and a RANS recumbent.

[Aug 26, 2003]
chang200
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

The frame & the name; good value for entry level road bike. Stable handling at high speeds.

Weakness:

Low quality components, especially the derailleurs.

My first ever road bike, bought it on a whim and now I'm hooked and want to race soon. I was sold mostly on Cannondale's reputation for great frames and didn't even try any other brands. After a couple months of daily riding I'm starting to hate the derailleurs and wishing for better handlebar geometry. Gotta wait for another couple paychecks to upgrade components. Otherwise I'm pleased with how fast it goes and the smooth handling at speed. A pretty good value (marked down from $800) but I'll end up spending more than the difference getting better parts.

Similar Products Used:

Fuji & Bianchi hybrids

[Sep 02, 2002]
connolm
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Agressive and sporty aluminum frame. Tiagra rear shifter. Coda (Cannondale) brakes and fork. Cool stem with nifty "Coda" logo.

Weakness:

Plain old boring handlebar. Heavy wheels and fork. Heavy and useless Sora triple. (You don't need that granny gear!) Shifters that can't be shifted in the drops.

The R400 is priced, spec'd, and sold as an entry-level, recreational road bike. For that task, the bike excels. I am a mountain-bike crossover rider. I didn't want to spend $1500 on a road bike just to "noodle around." However, I love this bike so much that I already consider myself well past the "noodle around" point. It does well in both sprints and endurance. I can take it out and push hard for a 15-20 mile ride. The chasis converts every pedal stroke to energy very efficiently. Each mash of the cranks can be felt going directly into speed and acceleration. On longer rides, the bike balances long ride comfort with that aggressive, brisk aluminum feel. I have since changed a few things - Easton EC70 carbon fork ($129 Nashbar), Mavic wheels (Ultegra hubs laced to Mavic Open Pro Wheels, $199 Supergo), and a Selle Italia Marco Pantini signature saddle ($40 Nashbar). I also swapped the Sora triple crank for a Shimano 105 double and switched to Continental 3000 tires. This bike has converted me to a road riding junkie. I am quite confident that it will withstand all the abuse I intend to give it. I expected the Sora shifters to suck - but they've performed wonderfully. The Tiagra rear deraullier has not missed a shift yet. I expect I'll have 3-4 summers of 800-1000 miles each with this ride. It's an outstanding value in its class. The Cannondale brakes and fork are better than the no-name parts you'll find on Specialized and others in this price range. Therefore, five stars for value. I already wish for a more ergonomic handle bar and better shifters (that let me shift in the drops) so only four stars for overall rating.

[Aug 17, 2002]
jamie123
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Good frame, good name

Weakness:

expensive for what you get pedals sora parts

This is a good bike for people who like the Cannondale frames but can't afford the high end models or don't feel they need the super fancy racing components. Yes this bike has a very stiff ride but it is not totaly unbearable. If you are that sensitive to road vibration then none of the Cannondale bikes are for you. The shimano sora parts are not the best but unless you are racing or are a very serious rider you probably won't benifit from better components. I have put about 1,000 miles on this bike since I bought it and I have had to take it back to the shop once for a little adjustment. This bike is perfect for me because as my speed and endurance improves I can upgrade my components, it's better to have a good frame with bad components then it is to have a bad frame with good components. At least with this I have somthing to work towards.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized allez sport Lemond Nevada City

[Jul 12, 2002]
jeffsview
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

The Name.

Weakness:

Drivetrain. Stem quality. Mis-matched parts.

Took the R400 for a spin, and I did not like anything about the bike except for the name painted on it. Canondale shouldn't waste its time making lower end bikes if it can't price them competitively. The ride was stiff, but the drivetrain was clunky. A smoother drivetrain with matched parts may perform better. There are a lot better options out there. Try the Giant OCR 2. The frame is not handmade in the USA, but the ride is smooth and the Tiagra drivetrain is consistent.

Similar Products Used:

Giant OCR 3. Giant OCR 2. Specialized Allez.

[Feb 21, 2002]
makasper
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Great beginner bike. Very stiff. Great for big guys who like riding.

Weakness:

Sora components are not smooth or very top quality. One ride on a bike with better components and this thing will be history.

Bought this baby when I got laid off last July. Being 6''3" and 190 lbs, I loved how stiff it is. The lower end Sora components leave a lot to be desired, especially if you want to enter a few races. I would opt for the Ultegra component ready Cannondales, like the R2000 Si. I will be upgrading as soon as the $$$ are there.

Similar Products Used:

Good Old Schwinn and other recreational bikes.

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2018 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.