De Rosa King 2002 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

From steel to aluminum, then titanium... now carbon. King, the evolution of technology from De Rosa is designed for the rider in pursuit of maximum performance and unrivaled comfort. De Rosa''s experience, and the most advance technology has created the ultimate in carbon.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Apr 25, 2009]
Page Nicol
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, stiff, high quality, looks cool.

Weakness:

I don't really care for the stick on decals over the clear coat, but is' a minor issue

Last year I got rid of my Orbea Orca because I really didn't like the ride. I switched back to steel with a wonderful Colnago Masterlight. I really wanted a lighter bike for climbing and race days, and to use the Colnago for longer rides. I found a 2006 De Rosa King with full Campy 10spd in Craigslist. The bike is amazing. Very quick, agile, comfortable and best of all cool looking. What amazes me most is how quick you can accelerate this bike. It gets up to speed quick and is very stable at high speeds. It's not quite as plush as the Colnago, but very smooth for a stiff carbon bike. Right now it's my favorite ride and it's my first choice for fast rides and climbing.

Similar Products Used:

Colnago, Orbea, Lightspeed, Milano

[Nov 30, 2008]
velogeek
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

It's light, but really well balanced. Comfortable, yet stiff. I know it's an oxymoron to usually put those two descriptives together, but it's true.

Weakness:

I have an esthetic issue with the bike. I know the target weight is under 1000g for the frame. In order to achieve it there is no clear coat over the frame and graphics. The logos and graphics are stickers, and beg to be peeled off.

This bike is amazing. Over rough road it feels more like a Ti bike, yet it is stiff when you sprint and allows you to descend like the bike is on rails. It's not as fast as my Merckx AXM, but I could and would ride a century with the King 3.

Similar Products Used:

Merckx AXM, Time VXRS

[Apr 28, 2008]
brianherlihy
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiffness...this bike will let you peddle as hard as you can and give you the response in return

Weakness:

still looking...

Just bought the bike with Campy Record, Boras set up. i used to ride a ti bike with chorus set up. i am amazed at the responsiveness of the bike. When you push hard on the crank it fires off the line, surprised the rubber holds on to the ground. The one low review isn't even for this bike...it is an older model that is totally different. It is a beautiful bike...was looking at the Pinerallo Prince, Colnago C-50 and Cervelo...came down to fit at the end of the day...

Similar Products Used:

Pinerallo Prince, C50, Look 595 (they are all in the elite class, it really depends on what bike fits you best - i wanted the Prince going into it but the bike was too tall for my frame).

[Aug 08, 2006]
Paris_Metro
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Turns Heads
Smooth Ride
Handles like it is on rails
Italian Attitude
Stiff in exactly the right places
Mid Engine Positioning

Weakness:

None so far

I have to admit; it took me time to fall in love with this frame; about 9.7 seconds -- the time it took to accelerate from zero to twenty. Yes, this frame is all about subtleties: baby-bottom smooth ride, on the spot acceleration, sports car handling, and Italian flare. The longer you ride, the more you appreciate the R&D that went into this frame and Ugo's mastery of modern materials.

Unlike mass-produced frame manufacturers, De Rosa allows only the finest shops in the world to represent its frames. This strict selection process ensures that your bike is properly fit -- a good fitting means everything when it comes to comfort and performance. Also, De Rosa has the reserve to only produce and sell what it knows -- frames and forks. (BTW, contrary to popular belief, the King is NOT mass-produced in Asia; all King frames are manufactured in Italy).

Buy a Giant if you're seeking bang for your buck (you won't find a 1:1 with De Rosa -- $1 of bike for every $1 spent). If you are one to appreciate subtle ride characteristics, however, I can't think of a single frame I'd rather own.

Similar Products Used:

Orbea Marmolada

[Jun 25, 2006]
Chris Bas
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Weight, hype.

Weakness:

Paintwork & masking, Headset don't sit square, De Rosa seat pins explode,Speed wobbles, poor handling. Prone to crack around headset.

Sold Pinarello Prince SL to purchase De Rosa King Xlight after hearing about the raves. Waited 4 mths for the frame. First the seat pin exploded after only 20 mls riding then during a decent it wobbled, buckaroo'd then threw me off. I've now handed the King in PX for a Litespeed Ghisallo which I'm waiitng on delivery. I'm totally disapointed in De Rosa as the quality of the paintwork is not a what you would expect for a 2k+ frame. The masking of the gold strips was a total aborsion. My record hidden headset sat on the wonk and the back wheel was a nightmare to fit.
Mr Ugo De Rosa wont be getting any more of my hard earned money. Total pants !!!! AVOID

Similar Products Used:

Pinarello Prince SL,
Gios Chinquantanario,

[Dec 11, 2002]
Peter Schindler
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Workmanship is impeccable.

Weakness:

None

Just awesome! Ihave owned 20 road bikes since I started riding. This one is the best by far. It corners, acclerates and climbs like no other bike and it is comfortable to boot

Similar Products Used:

Calfee Tetra Pro, Calfee Luna Pro

[Nov 16, 2002]
dnovo
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ride, response, fit and finish. Looks match the performance.

Weakness:

None. Absolutely none.

Outstanding semi-compact geometry carbon tubeset (supposedly built by Mizuni in Japan to De Rosa's specs.) Clearcoat over carbon tubes, red highlights. Very pretty, very stiff with great comfort over our lousy streets. Bike is quite light, and responsive out of the saddle. Compares well in comfort to steel yet responds like an aluminum road-rocket when you crank down hard. Fit and finish is beyond reproach. I am very impressed. The name, "King" was appropriately-selected by De Rosa.

Similar Products Used:

Calfee Tetra Custom. Trek 5200

[Nov 14, 2002]
Jack Brunk
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great at sprints. Awesome climbing bike. The compact frame is very comfortable to ride long distances.

Weakness:

None even the price is good for the quality of bike you getting.

This bike can only be described as awesome. Virtually no road vibration felt along with a special feel and stiff but very comfortable. This is the best climbing bike that I have ridden and when climbing out of the saddle it feels like it can climb up a wall. When compared to my C-40, I will say that now there is no comparison between the two bikes. The King wins hands down.

Similar Products Used:

Colnago C-40

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.