Diamondback Interval 2002 Road Bike

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Apr 24, 2006]
Scottsbluff
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

Sora components seem to need frequent adjustment.

I haven't had a bike in about 15 years and purchased the Interval and haven't modified it at all. This bike has been excellent thus far, I ride approximately 15-20 miles per day. It has a smooth ride and I keep up with riders on $2000 - $3000 bikes!

Similar Products Used:

None

[Nov 26, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

comfortable frame but fast!not too heavy but not to pricey. Rims don't go out of round and are stif. every thing fits great s bend stays are excellent.

Weakness:

Alumunum fork is heavy but I could deal with it for a while. tires are very cheap, but good till they pop.Shifters are bulky and thumb shift is anoying while you sprint.saddle is big.

Very good for a beginer, a bit heavy but thats what you get for $350.Great Deal. fork is heavy but who cares? carbon forks are cheap now. I would recomend geting new tires.rims are inexpensive but good. GREAT DEAL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used:

None

[Aug 13, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price. Can take a beating.

Weakness:

Shimano Sora derailleurs. They shift well, but are not appropriately sized. After many trips to the shop, it was finally decided that it's not an issue of trying to get rid of chain rub, but merely deciding where it will bother you the least. Seat is mushy. Personal preference.

This was my first venture into road biking, and I have been suitably impressed. It's not the snazziest bike on the road (by a long shot), but if you're moving up from a hybrid or mountain bike, the difference is still astounding. This bike has inspired me to invest far more in the sport. Not for those who know what they're doing, but more than enough for a newbie like myself.

Similar Products Used:

n/a

[Aug 13, 2003]
Rich
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I like the frame very much ... for aluminum, it does seem to absorb shock quite well ... and, I ride well over 200 a week.

Weakness:

Stock seat could be better.

Excellent bike in every way! Mine was modified for my wants, but the bike is great! Get past the stock tubes, and seat, and all is well.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Jul 22, 2003]
Steve Hicks
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

PRICE!, good geometry, decent drivetrain

Weakness:

Avenir seat is mushy, no name hubs

A very comfortable bike, quick turning. A great entry level bike. It won't turn heads but you can be comfortable and have all of the basics covered.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1200

[Aug 28, 2002]
Mark Fielder
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Low cost! STI shifters (on the handlebars integraated with the brakes) are real ergonomic break-throughs! Quick handling. Looks great!

Weakness:

You'll probably want to upgrade to clipless pedals if you ride with a club. Cheap tires don't seat well after changing a tube on the road. This bike has Shimano Sora components including thumb shift tabs and 8 speeds in the rear. I think all bikes shifts roughly under power climbing, but higher level bikes may be better?

Great entry level road bike! Similar to most the other brands entry level bikes in quality and components for several hundred less. Shimano Sora components are perfectly adequate for beginners, casual, or light enthusiast road riders. We ride 15 to 30 miles, averaging 13 to 16 mph, 3 times a week. And this bike can lead the pack if YOU have the pedal power. Not a race machine, but will keep up with the 15-16 mph crowd quite easily. If you ride longer, harder, faster or more frequently, a better bike may be justified. 24 speeds are plenty. Seems most riders spend most of the time riding with their hands on the hoods, so the thumb click shift tabs are just fine too. Occational century worthy. This is a great price point to get (re)started in modern road biking! They feel like sports cars compared to the older stuff. Simply amazing!

Similar Products Used:

Older classic 12 speed Trek and Bianchi road bikes. Mongoose hybrid (these low end bikes are trash, don't waste your money...). I don't think it makes much sense to upgrade components on entry lev

[Aug 16, 2002]
Shane Woodruff
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The bike comes with an aluminum frame - something that you don't get on most bikes at this price level. Intergrated Sora shifters work great.

Weakness:

Sora parts. Big seat.

I'm a newbie triathlete so I wanted a quality bike without shelling out a lot of money early on. The interval a great buy. For the money, you get a great fitting, sharp looking bike.

[Jun 17, 2002]
Dennis Crane
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Performance/price. Decent equipment. Like the Shimano Sora even though it's low end

Weakness:

Hard to adjust brakes to avoid drag on rear wheel. Welding, joints, etc not as pretty to look at as bikes at 2X price. Waiting to see how durable. May want to experiement with other saddles after a few more weeks.

Wanted to get back on a road bike after about 20 years - with some mountain biking in between. This unit seems to be the right price / features / performance trade-off for now. Ride is solid on the XL frame. The Shimano shifting is a notch up from what I used several years ago. I've been riding 10 to 20 miles per day on moderate hills. Seems to handle well and hold up under my 230 lbs.

Similar Products Used:

None

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.