CamelBak Rocket Water Bottles/Cages

DESCRIPTION

  • Capacity: 72 oz (2.1 l)
  • Dimensions: 10 in x 3 in x 15 in (154 mm x 76 mm x 381 mm)
  • Volume: Cargo - 100 cu in (1.6 l) • Total - 230 cu in (3.7 l)
  • Weight: Empty Reservoir - 1.1 lbs (0.5 kg) Filled Reservoir - 5.6 lbs (2.5 kg)

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    [Apr 25, 2005]
    Proflex857
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Minimalistic. Carries just enough... Rides tight to the body. Barely know it's there even when filled with water. Nice internal mesh pocket/dividers. I'd buy another one if I lost this one!

    Weakness:

    sternum strap too high (I'm avg build 5'10" 40" chest) and gel pocket a little tight.

    See treolis review below. Works great for short 2+ hr rides. Carries most of what you what for both road & mtn rides. Bleach cleans it out just fine. I primarily ride mtn bike rides and this is my pack for non-epic rides.

    Similar Products Used:

    Many. Favs: Camelbak HAWG (great all purpose mtn bike & ski pack), Ultimate Direction Tailwind torso pack (still my fav pack design but 1st gen bladder)

    [Dec 30, 2003]
    treopolis
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Stores pump, tube, spoon, cell phone, and some power bars without having to stuff it too much.

    Weakness:

    Hard to keep dry when not using it. Look into camelback's drying rack.

    Camelbacks are all really nice quality. If you find the size of storage and water you like, you will enjoy your camelback. Just keep it clean and dry when you arent using it.

    Similar Products Used:

    none

    [Apr 03, 2003]
    Davis Tucker IV
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Easy to clean if you have long pipestem cleaners and a bottle brush. It helps to put a teaspoon of bleach in the reservoir. I also like the elastic straps that hold the regular shoulder straps and waist strap, so they won't flap in the wind.

    Weakness:

    All CamelBaks have the sternum strap way too high - and there is no way you can adjust it lower. The sternum strap hits me way above the collarbone. Why did CamelBak discontinue the Razor? That's what I really wanted - aerodynamic

    Important on long rides (over 50 miles) when I'm riding solo; especially when there are minimal water stops on my route. It's also handy when I'm in a high pace group, because there's no time for me to get my bottles to my mouth. I also use the Rocket when skiing the steep and the deep. I tuck the bite valve in my collar of my parkas. I like to hike to the bowls or steep stuff, it sure comes in handy to get hydrated in alpine territory. It carries spare dry socks, a balaclava, a spare turtleneck, and PowerBars.

    Similar Products Used:

    Blackburn Hydropack, CamelBak Classic

    [Dec 07, 2002]
    John Abrahmson
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    Good aero form.

    Weakness:

    Too bulky. You cannot clean the reservoir.

    Really above guys. I cannot stand this pack. The reservoir cannot be cleaned without specialized brushes.

    [Aug 06, 2002]
    RoadnMtn
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    No leaks, great valve with shutoff, insulated bladder pocket keeps water cool. Enough storage for necessary extras, tube, minitool, pump/CO2.

    Weakness:

    Get one...

    Nicely made. Have used Camelbak for years now and have never had a problem with leakage. Keeps water cold and enough room for the essentials. Bought this for my road bike as the HAWG and Trans Alp are too big for me on the road bike.

    Similar Products Used:

    Camelbak Mule, Hawg, Trans Alp

    [Jul 05, 2002]
    jjbenegar
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Ease of use. Bite valve

    Weakness:

    None

    Excellent. The bite valve works flawlessly. NO drips. Water stays nice and cold and plenty of storage space. Well worth the money. No need for anymore bottles or pouches!

    [Mar 02, 2002]
    Tom Hanson
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Stays secure Good amount of storage space. HANDS FREE DRINKING! Light. Aerodynamic (slim) Big Bite valve is genius (no drip) No more bottles & inadequate amount of fluid from them.

    Weakness:

    None. Get one.

    Awesome design. Very light, good storage, enough for tubes, food & a mini-pump. Stays secure! The sternum strap & smart shape hold it snug. 72 oz. of fluid is enough for a little over a two hour ride. The big bite valve is genius. No dripping No more bottles! Thank-you very much...

    Similar Products Used:

    Make shift version of hydra-pak, bottles (never again)

    [Nov 20, 2001]
    j4knee
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Aero adherance, internal set up for lifes little essentials (See above). Color (mine is red), 70 oz bladder just right. Best valve system on the market.

    Weakness:

    N/A

    This is the ulimate hydration pack on the market imho. I have a "CamelBak Cloud Walker" I use in the winter when I mountain bike but this is my favorite of the two. I am a diabetic and have to carry testing supplies and CHO when I ride. Everything fits in the pack without having to have hiking back pack and it still stays in an aero form

    Similar Products Used:

    CameBak Cloud Walker and a couple of Blackburn packs (worlds worst valve system imho)

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.