Shimano SH-R150 Shoes

DESCRIPTION

Three long straps for a combination of security and adjustability, synthetic leather and mesh upper won¹t stretch or shrink no matter what the weather is like on race day. SPD-R, SPD, Look compatible.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Mar 03, 2004]
Mike Prince
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

- fit me good - look good, not flashy (mine are black) - stiff and thin sole

Weakness:

The nonsensical Shimano hole in the sole under the toes just in front of the cleat. Easy entry for water and I have to tape it in the winter or my dogs freeze. This shoe seems well-ventilated enough that this hole should go away.

Got the 150's on closeout for a decent deal and have been happy with them so far. Thought SIDI's fit my feet well but these are a bit wider and feel better overall. This is my first carbon-soled shoe and the difference is noticeable.

Similar Products Used:

SIDI Energy most recently (and still), I could go all the way back to leather-soled shoes.

[Mar 02, 2004]
csainthenry
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very good fit, stiff

These are some really nice shoes. They look good and feel great. I have a wider forefoot, and these shoes have a nice, wide toe box, so there's no numbness or pinching like with my older shimanos. Definitely a good buy.

Similar Products Used:

Older model (2000) Shimanos

[Sep 22, 2003]
old wheelsucker
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Carbon main strap! Stiff Sole! NO FLEX

Weakness:

Color...luckly it matches my Casati! Insole is weak!

Best buy I have ever made! These shoes ROCK! My experiences have been positive with carbon but the 150's have the main carbon strap and this seems to make a big difference! My last shoes were Shimano 210 and they are good but the 150 are better! Would recommend to any racer!

Similar Products Used:

Shimano 210's, Carnac Eclipes,

[Sep 10, 2003]
Cole Coleman
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

has a stiffer sole than shoes hundreds of dollars more. the stiffness was very evident with my speedplay pedals which seem to consistantly form quite the "hot-spot" with other shoes

Weakness:

i can see no weakness here unless you have a very narrow foot. there is some heel slip for me, but nothing that i am overly concerned with.

this is one of the best shoes i have tried. It is wider and therefore more comfortable then that majority of shoe i have tried (Northwave, Sidi, Diadora, and DMT)and doesn't have the bulky and sometimes ciculation inhibiting ratcheting straps.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano SH-r210, sidi Ginus, and northwave

[Aug 04, 2003]
Ben
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, fast, very responsive, and breaks the race shoe mold in my mind, love the flat sole.

Weakness:

Without pontoons on my D/A cleats the carbon scratches very easily, but doesnt effect the performance one bit.

Geat shoe, i really liked how stiff the shoe was and worked great with D/A pedals, very responsive. The best shoe i have ever used. Comfortable for crits and short rides but starts to cramp your toes after 40 miles, but still the stiffest and most resposive shoe i have used.

Similar Products Used:

Carnac, Nike, and Sidi

[Jun 17, 2003]
hasanadil
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

stiff

Weakness:

none

The R150 is a great shoe. i used it daily, shows no sign of wear and tear. plus its a very light shoe.

[Feb 19, 2003]
bzadler
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

stiff carbon sole, comfortable, and black

Weakness:

none yet

Great shoe, and mighty stiff, as it should be. I upgraded from a hand-me-down pair of sidi tri shoes that were too small, and the Shimanos fit great. I can't say if they stretch, but I hope not, since they fit perfect now.

Similar Products Used:

sidi t-1's

[Jul 14, 2002]
RoadieRob
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Solid platform, 3 solid straps incl. carbon lined top strap, and durable!

Weakness:

Cleats slides a little (any carbon sole will cause this) and they are not the lightest shoe avaialbe.

One of the best fitting, durable, all around great shoes available and at a relatively good price around $150. I have used these shoes for over 10,000 miles the last 1+ years and have never had hot spots or soreness, inlcuding multiple 100+ mile rides. Great for wider feet as well.

Similar Products Used:

Nike, Diadora, Peal Izumi, etc...

[Jan 27, 2002]
trekwunda
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff and somewhat light. Fits wider feet better than others.

Weakness:

Color

Great shoe.

Similar Products Used:

Axio

[Jan 22, 2002]
Hackney
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

V. stiff, light & secure

Weakness:

Colour takes some getting used to. Hole in sole towards toe (poetry!) lets in a lot of water during the rain. Carbon sole easily scratched but no apparent structural implications

I have very large (US 49), very wide feet and shoes have always been a bugbear. These are the first road shoes in 18 years that I''ve been entirely happy with.

Similar Products Used:

Adidas Merckx, Duegi, Sidi, Jolly, Diadora, more Adidas

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.