Shimano SH-R214 Road Shoe Shoes

DESCRIPTION

The ultimate racing shoe from the ultimate bike component maker! Contour molded carbon glassfiber composite sole, cup-molded EVA inner sole, molded heel counter with flange for incredible stability, shape-retention padding, deep heel cup. Mesh and Lorica® upper, dual high-strength laminated forefoot straps, easy-to-adjust ratcheting buckle. SPD®/LOOK®/SPD-R® compatible. Silver (SIL).

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Aug 10, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

looks, stiffness, ratchet staps on any shoe is a definite plus... and in my case price.. my garne carbon arcs were only 189.00 and are equal to the $239.00 sh-r214s... fortunately i didnt pay that much

Weakness:

the soles on thes shoes scratch up easily. the heal plate isnt big enough to actually do any walking on these.. this is a complaint I have for all shimano shoes.. that and the heal isnt relplacable

shoes are just great not a single complaint.. except maybe could have had a black also color choice.
Ive been riding/racing/ and evn a few tri's going on 34 yrs and this is what ive come to really know about shoes. 1: the shoes have to fit.. meaning your feet cant shift around in them.. this is where you loose a lot of power.
2: hotspots are from a bad (or just not compatable) footbed design.. either by the sole itself or by worn or just junt insoles. the shoes should fit like a glove.. the hotspot occurs not becaust of the soles rigidity but by the lack of support behingd the cleat.
3: carbon soles advantage is weight.. thats it... they are no more supportive than any other material. you are only applying force to the cleated area . the fit of the shoe determines how the weight is transfered not the material its made of.
4: this is the true sticking point to CHOOSE a carbon soled shoe. they just look better. sidi, gaerne,carnac,shimano. (own theme all) just have a coolness factor that isnt in the general consumer models. And if you want to run with the dogs you got to look like a dog.. just thought ide throw that in. If you got what it takes go carbon. If you think a carbon sole shoe will turn you into a lance, guess again. If your a daily commuter i wouldnt go over 120 for anything brand new and not over $60 on ebay.

Similar Products Used:

carnac carbon, gaerne carbon arc, shimano 121, lake,

[Sep 23, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiff sole / lightweight overall. nice ventilation, especially a hole in a sole design really keeps the feet dry.

Weakness:

carbon sole should have robber stopper for safe walking

overall, a good design with nice ventilation system keeps you cool. fits people with wider feet.

Similar Products Used:

Sidi

[May 03, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Good design, carbon sole very stiff, great comfort (if foot "matches").

Weakness:

Stiff straps. Vulnerable sole. Not easily compatible to Egg Beater pedals, due to SPD-system sole.

Good design, cool looks. Good comfort. Sole easily scratched. Cleat compatibility not excellent.

Similar Products Used:

Sidi Dominator. Diadora "something".

[Jan 27, 2004]
Tech72
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, thin sole, good straps and latch, lightweight. Great power transfer.

Weakness:

Expensive if purchased at full retail price. More ventilation would be good.

I'm hooked on carbon soles!

Similar Products Used:

Shimano SH-210, Sidi Genius 3, Specialized Team Pro, Vittoria with wooden sole!

[Jan 10, 2004]
Blixt
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Super-crazy stiff. The shoes absolutely made me feel more connected to the bike. Great power transfer.

Weakness:

Straps are too stiff. Shoes do not really fit all that well. May be a bit wide. I've experimented with insoles and extra foam around the tongue. Numbness and general pain after about 40 miles.

I had been away from cycling for 10yrs and was anxious to get the latest and greatest. Until know I have always worn SIDI. Despite the hype, find the shoe that fits you. I'll never just buy the latest and greatest again.

Similar Products Used:

Sidi

[Dec 22, 2003]
kyle79
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

secure fit, very stiff sole for great power transfer.

Weakness:

price, but you get what you pay for. saved £40 by mail order.

great shoes. 2nd pair of shimano i've bought. very comfortable and good fit for riders with wider feet. ratchet makes the shoes very secure and gives good power tranfer. used with spd sl pedals which are also faultless.

Similar Products Used:

shimano r122

[Dec 21, 2003]
Geoffrey
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Asthetics (ooohhhh... love that carbon sole) Thin sole bringing the axle closer to the foot Stiffness Shoe width (fantastic if you dont quite have the petite feet of our Italian and French cycling brothers Reflective stuff

Weakness:

ALL cleat bolts need to be filed otherwise they stick through too far and put pressure points on the foot = nubness. Sole too stiff thus if shoe soles are not exact fit to foot, will bend foot joints instead of shoe and can caus pain/numbness. Esp if standing on the pedals Velcro straps are too thick and inflexible thus do not fold over properly when fastening Innersole has little arch support thus orthodics/other innersoles may need to be used again to reduce chance of injury

Out of the box, they look superb! Feel very nice to strap and great to first ride with. The problems only start after 30km or so... (numbness etc - see below)

Similar Products Used:

Carnac ellipse carbone (good shoes, very comfy but too narrow) Gaerne Dart Pro - oldies but goodies. Good for entry level.

[Mar 04, 2003]
Cherry
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiffness, fit, adjustibility

Weakness:

cleat thingy on the bottom. Out of the box these shoes are made for the SPD pedals but there are instructions for changing the cleat over to the three hole design. I had to use a steak knife to cut out the pattern that was embossed on the insole. Everything fit it but now I can feel where the cut out is.

Shoes fit very well and the adjustibilty is great. They're quite stiff. I'm using them on a Trek OCLV with DA and Time Impact Mag Pedals.

Similar Products Used:

Time Equipe shoes.

[Jun 08, 2002]
Quinn
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent power transfer, light weight. Typically great Shimano quality.

Weakness:

None so far, other than if you consider paying $350 for a pair of shoes a weakness, but you get what you pay for!

Have only had these shoes for a couple of weeks, but have logged about 500km. on them. The power transfer is exceptional and I have had no problem at all in getting them to feel comfortable during my rides. I have had a bit of numbness in my toes due to the newness of the shoes, but a simple adjustment of the strap across the toebox gives immediate relief.

Similar Products Used:

Looked seriously at the Carnac Quartz, but a fellow rider just switched off of them to these Shimano shoes because of durability. He found the Carnac tended to really stretch out after two seasons of

[Jun 04, 2002]
Daniel the triathlete
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

very strong

Weakness:

I found no until now.

the best shoes I've ever owned. Very strong and light. You think that your body is melted with the pedal.

Similar Products Used:

Carnac Eclipse, Northwave Sprint

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.