Sidi Ergo 2 Shoes

DESCRIPTION

The Sidi Ergo2 Carbon road shoe is for riders who demand the best. It has the Techno II buckle system to dial in perfect fit. Additionally, the fully carbon sole provides stiffness for total power transfer. When pro riders get to choose the brand of cycling shoes they use, more professional cyclists choose Sidi than all other brands combined. Now Sidi is the only 100% European made brand of cycling shoe left in the US market. Quality fit and comfort are the reason Sidi continue to survive and prosper against all those less expensive Asian brands.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Feb 15, 2011]
serrat1
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Overall quality and attention to detail. Fits like a glove much like my Ferragamos

Weakness:

none.....

Been riding for less than 2 years and have had problems with shoes and fitting the past..By far the best shoe I have worn, hands down.

[Aug 27, 2010]
teapotter
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Super stiff, able to really get them dialed in with fit.

Weakness:

Heel adjustment requires a screwdriver, and a small one at that. The screws seem easy to strip too

Typical Sidi fit. Narrow and tight. The sole on this is crazy stiff. The heel cup adjustment works great. Works as it makes that part nice and tight. The 4 different closing mechanisms work together to make the shoe part of your foot. I have narrow feet though.

Similar Products Used:

Have really only ever worn sidi

[Jun 01, 2010]
CRSturdivant
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

STIFF!!! Good looking, nearly every part of the shoe is replaceable (meaning that if you break a strap or buckle you can buy a new one for $15, instead of buying a new pair of shoes), well-made, relatively light.

Weakness:

I just couldn't make these work for my feet. I tried 3 different footbeds, shims and spacers for my pedals, every cleat adjustment imaginable. I couldn't get rid of the "hot foot" that I was looking to eliminate by buying these shoes to begin with!

I bought the Palo Betini special edition of these from Pro Bike Kit about 2 years ago and have been using them up until yesterday. They are absolutely the stiffest shoe I had ever tried until now and they look totally sweet! I like that there are two types of buckles, but as far as performance is concerned, I think that two of the same would do just fine. I like the bottom buckle better, because it is simpler and isn't as prone to breaking, like the top ratchet-style buckle. I ended up ditching these shoes this last weekend for a brand new pair of 2010 Specialized S-Works shoes, that are positively the best shoes (for my feet) ever! I just couldn't get comfortable in my ergo 2's, maybe it's just my feet though...

Similar Products Used:

Specialized BG sport shoes, cannondale cheapo shoes. Currently: 2010 S-Work Shoes (The best shoe ever, see my review).

[Feb 07, 2010]
nadimk
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Above

Weakness:

The Ergo 2's have no weaknesses. We will see how long the dial adjuster lasts, but it's still replaceable.

Somebody please remind me why any other manufacturer attempts to compete with Sidi in the high end cycling shoe market. After trying the top shoes from Northwave, Shimano, and Lake, Sidi's top offering nailed it at all levels. Other companies can compete with Sidi in the lower price ranges, but not with the Ergo 2 or Genius levels.

The Ergo 2 fits like a dream right out of the box, they have excellent adjustability, and they are very well made. The carbon sole is blissful and finally allows me proper cleat placement. The heal adjustment works. The Lorica is sinful. White is a little risky, but they were on sale. Best of all, they are great to walk in! The little polyurethane tab is soft and cushy. If it wears out after a year, at least you can replace it with Sidi!

After suffering with knee pain for several years, the Sidis somehow have taken care of it. I think having proper foot wear improves overall alignment of the leg and reduces knee stress. Who cares? My knees and feet are happy now.

Cost? Why do people complain about Sidi costing so much? What else are you going to spend your money on?! At the top end, Sidi is a little but not much more than other brands like Lake, Mavic, or DMT. Sidis are well worth the money, and even more so if you get them on sale!

[Jan 20, 2010]
fishey72
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Stiffness, fit, adjustments.

Weakness:

Heal counter padding material wore out in 12 months. Very disappointed.

Stiff, awesome fit for narrow feet, lots of adjustment. Really well though out and designed.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano's, SIDI dominators.

[Jan 18, 2010]
deerock
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Adjustable everything. Replaceable heels, etc.

Weakness:

none

Plain and simply put - these shoes are the sh**. I was hesitant to buy these, but found a good pair on ebay. So went for it. I've not felt a great shoe fit until now, I've not had feet that don't hurt until now, etc. Worth every penny whether purchased new as well. Great adjustments and great fit. Not just marketing and hype.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized shoes

[Oct 25, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fits my foot shape. Very good quality. Light.

Weakness:

none

Over the years have tried many brands of shoes. Now i only buy SIDIs. The Ergo2s are expensive (got mine on sale, discontinued colour) BUT they feel great and last a long time.

Similar Products Used:

carnac, shimano, northwave, dmt etc

[Jun 19, 2009]
domogo
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

incredible comfort
excellent power transfer
durability

Weakness:

price?

I ride for transport and sport, and these shoes fit the bill for all needs. Here in the hot summer these shoes breathe incredibly well, and they hold my feet like gloves. no slip even when im out of the saddle pedaling hard. When paired with my keo carbon pedals I have experienced no hot spots at all. I can feel the stiffness of the sole transferring all of my power. I also love the rebuild-ability of Sidi shoes. I have not had any issues with a component yet, but i walk a lot with the cleat covers on, and i love that i can replace the heel pad exclusively when it wears out. Or any individual component for that matter. These shoes were built to just keep ticking. The price is up there, but considering how long sidi shoes can last, it seems worth it to me

Similar Products Used:

shimano, genius 5 carbon

[Jun 10, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

stiff and comfortable, look great, very adjustable, quite light, replaceable parts

Weakness:

Check your sizing as my 42s were 5mm longer than my old ergo 1s. Too expensive if you buy retail.

I bought these shoes after destroying my old ergo 1s in a crash. Having only ever used sidi shoes for both road and mtb I was very confident about the quality and the fit. So after doing the usual web research I bought these online without checking them out first at my LBS. Well no complaints at all about quality of construction and materials. The silver looks hot and the touches of colour on the fasteners really adds to the overall effect. Having said all that...at almost AUD$600 retail or even $350 odd online you've gotta REALLY like them to pay that much. For me though the points of contact with the bike are not for compromise. For seat, shoes and bars just spend what you have to get comfortable.

Gone are hot spots and sore feet I used to get with the ergo 1s. These things are very comfortable. The sole feels stiff and responsive (the ergo 1 feels like rubber in comparison) without forcing your foot into an unnatural shape. The three different fasteners give you all the adjustability you need too.

One surprise however was that the shoe measured 5mm longer for the same size than the ergo 1. Thanks to the heel cup system that has not been a noticeable problem, but if you are considering purchasing a pair online I would strongly recommend that you physically try a pair on to get your correct sizing beforehand.

Overall though I would recommend these shoes without hesitation. For comfort, response, adjustability, durability and just plain sex appeal you can't go wrong.

Similar Products Used:

carbon ergo 1

[Mar 14, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Fit, fit and fit.

Weakness:

Cost if anything.

From the moment I put them on until the last mile of a century they are unbelievably comfortable. Long gone are the hot spots and numb feet of the past.

They "feel" a bit less stiff than my old carbon shoes. Which feels good, while my power meter says I haven't lost anything.

I like the attention to details like the replaceable heal pads, alignment post mounts (for cleats like the Look Keo) and a grip pad to keep cleats in place.

The quality appears to be top notch with superb fit and finish.

This is one item I'd buy again without hesitation.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized BG Comp

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.