Koobi Tri Saddles

DESCRIPTION

Koobi raises the bar on comfort and performance by taking firm, highly durable foam padding and adding gel to the top. Hollow Ti Rail for a frugal 225 grams.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jan 13, 2012]
Mike O
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very comfortable

I have the Koobi PRS Century saddle on my road bike & the TRI saddle on my Tri bike .I have been very pleased with both

Similar Products Used:

Adamo ISM saddle
Stock Trek saddle

[May 12, 2011]
Herbie Helmest
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

comfort, looks, shape, suspension (tune-able)

Weakness:

none

I've used the Koobi PRS Tri saddle in 4 ironmans & numerous other tris. The PRS suspension really takes the bite off the usual harsh ride my aluminum frame gives out. The comfort of the saddle is uncomparable (& I've used a lot of saddles thru the years). They're handmade in Italy by Sella Italia and the quality is better than anything you'll find anywhere, especially in the various Taiwanees copies (Adamo, et.al). It has super hi quality leather topped with a gel (I believe). It's just the right amount of padding for hard riding, yet with amazing comfort. You can pay a lot for this saddle, but it's worth it. I know guys that have purchased several cheaper saddles looking for the right one and in the end if they'd just started w/ a Koobi tri they'd have spent a lot less money.

Similar Products Used:

sella Italia, brooks,

[Sep 08, 2003]
John Culver
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfort on relatively long time trials. 30 day return policy.

Weakness:

None.

While I understand that saddle fit and comfort is very individual, I do not understand the incredibly low marks a few reviewers gave this saddle. I am a 6'3", 215lb. clydesdale triathlete who has never had any serious crotch discomfort or dysfunction riding in a standard road position. However, I have had lots of trouble getting my crotch comfortable in the aero position- I went through four fittings and several top of the line saddles (Terry Fly, Selle Italia SLR, etc.) and could never eliminate the overwhelming crotch pain (and relatred malfunctions) resulting from the aero position. It was so bad that I considered giving up on that position altogether and just racing in a standard road position. Fortunately, before giving up, I tried the Koobi (the 30 day return policy helped) and my problem has been solved. The combination of the split fit and the extra padding in the nose make for for a pain free ride. I just finished a half ironman on it and the plumbing is still in working order (the last time I did that distance on my Terry, I was in agony for three weeks and needless to say my wife was a little bummed).

Similar Products Used:

See comments.

[Feb 12, 2003]
Adam Young
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Nice padding (perhaps a little deeper & softer than some). Nice and light.

Weakness:

Not as pretty as the rest of the Koobi range - pretty dull grey colour. Quality rarely comes cheap.

This is the most comfortable saddle I've ever ridden in a low-ish position on tri bars. It seems to have just the right amount of cushioning in just the right place. I've ridden approx 1000 miles with it on my race bike, mostly in races / hard training sessions, and I rarely notice it's there. In a sitting up position it feels quite unusual, as it seems to give support quite wide on the glutes with nothing in the middle, but this seems to encourage blood flow, and I found it quite comfortable. I read the previous reviews and was very surprised how negative they were, especially comments on durability. The logo's worn off, but apart from that it still looks new. I'm 1.88m and 73kg in race trim (6'2" 162lb for our US friends!), pretty lean guy, but quite wide hips (85cm (34") waist). Raced many olympic / half IM on it. Planning to ride IM France on it this year, saddle comfort is the least of my worries!

Similar Products Used:

Most of the Selle Italia range.

[Dec 27, 2002]
Nao
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Materials Weight

Weakness:

Fitting Padding No flexibility

I replaced from Koobi Au (1st production from Koobi), and was very disappointed with Tri's fitting and padding. This saddle did not fit me any positions. I am a small rider (5'8", 137 lbs), by the way. Koobi claimed "Tri" is specific for triathlons or time trials, but it was so uncomfortable with or without aerobars. Old Koobi Au was much better products for me. Saddle preference is quite personal, but you could buy better products less than $100.

Similar Products Used:

Koobi Au, Selle Italia Flite & Flite Gel, Selle San Marco Aspide (current)

[Sep 25, 2002]
CP
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Full length split provides ample relief area. Solid workmanship. Responsive company.

Weakness:

Too narrow and insufficient padding for larger riders. Limitations on seat post clamps due to titanium hollow rails.

Upgraded to this saddle from the Koobi SI. Rode it for just a few days and went back to the SI. For a heavyweight rider,(200 lbs), this saddle does not provide enough "sitbone" area to be comfortable and it's narrower than the SI version. I did not see where this saddle would provide additional comfort in the aeroposition beyond that that was exhibited by the SI. Both have decent nose drops that help relieve pressure in the aeroposition. Based on what I've seen in the Koobi SI saddle this Tri version could be a good choice for lighter, smaller riders. Be aware that the hollow titanium rails dictate that your seat post clamp provide a large sclamping area to distribute the seat load. Clamps that provide minimal contact to the rails are going to create problems (potential rail failure). The manufacturer provides good information regarding this limitation - make sure you read.

Similar Products Used:

Koobi SI

[Sep 04, 2002]
jimmyk36
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfort, weight

Weakness:

cost

Bought to replace the Bianchi saddle that came with my bike that left me sore after 50 miles and was not user friendly in the aero position. I thought that I would give this one a try since it had a 30 money back guarantee. I've only got 158 miles on it, including a 62 mile ride and very happy with the condition of my bottom side. I weigh 215 and am now comfortable in any position and am looking forward to trying some longer distances. I haven't noticed any problems with the material on the side like the previous reviewer but will keep you posted.

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi Visount Bodyfit

[Jul 17, 2002]
Thierry
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Weight.

Weakness:

Padding way too soft, questionable quality

Very disappointing product... I thought it would be the definitive saddle for my new triathlon bike, not... I gave it a fair try: 230 miles overall. Result: the outside layer (the gray one) is already peeling away, and I'm so sore I stopped my last ride after 55 minutes. I am happy with the Selle Italia I have on my training bike, I think I'll install it on the TT bike now. The problem with this Koobi is that either I'm too heavy (175 lbs) or the padding is too soft. I feel like I'm seating right on the rails at this point, and it's not comfortable!! Yes the saddle is light and soft (very comfy at first actually), but sitting on it for a few hours is just too painful now. I didn't expect that for a retail price of about $100. A shame.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Trans Am

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.