Selle Italia Flite Ti Saddles

DESCRIPTION

Low profile, flexible nylon shell. Titanium rails. 215 g.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[May 14, 2020]
Stub Mandrel


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

When I bought my Diamond Back mountain bike in 1990, I trashed the supplied saddle on my first time out. Rather than accept an identical replacement, The shop let me pay the difference for a Flite Titanium. It's been up and down mountains, thrashed, beaten, dropped in rivers and skidded over gravel and thirty years on it's still going strong and still looks good. Pluses - very durable leather cover and great shock absorbing/strength of the titanium frame.

Weakness:

Not for people who like big squishy saddles, it's not quite a razorback but it is a saddle for people who feel most comfortable on a slim saddle.

Price Paid:
£30
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1990
[Jul 26, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Great shortcut for men who have decided against having children.

Weakness:

Not as common as it used to be—The CIA has resorted to new ways of inducing numbness and soreness now that use of the Flite in interrogations has been banned.

The people who trash this saddle and refuse to ever ride one again overlook one critical fact: it's actually the best value ever for a vasectomy.

Yes, I've heard about the break-in period. And it's true—broken in is what your @$$ will be after a few miles on this puppy.

Of course, eventually, the human body can adapt to anything, including rutabaga pancakes, the smell of New York in July, and Fran Drescher. But why spend a few months' effort on the Jedi mind trick of convincing your derriere that riding a brick mounted to a seatpost is perfectly acceptable when there are saddles created every day that actually are intended for those of us with convex backsides (see Fizik Aliante)?

Similar Products Used:

Cinder block. Also, Selle Trans Am Gel and SLK, Fizik Aliante, Specialized BG, and many a no-name "$5 Bin" slab of plastic salvaged at LBS.

[Dec 13, 2007]
Doug Antelman
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1

No CUSTOMER SERVICE! Saddle failed after less than 6 months- leather wore off side of nose of this saddle and their Cust Service refused to do anything. They tried to claim it was my fault that the saddle failed!

[May 21, 2007]
Dominique
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Comfortable after a while, offers various riding positions, not bulky.

Weakness:

Takes time to get comfortable (took mine 1000 km to "break"). A carbon seatpost is a must. A bit expensive for what it is (quite classic shape, no flashy design).

I had to replace my overly outworn - but comfy - SI prolink last year. At first, with the flite, I wasn't so sure. It was very hard, a 2hr ride would be a 2hr post-ride pain, unlike with my prolink. But if you give the flite a bit of milage (about 1000km), it's feel better, it gets softer, and you'll get used to get the benefit of the range of postitions it allows you to have (it doesn't really have a very curvy profile, so you're not stuck in it's horse back low point). But a carbon seatpost is a must (had to change my alu post that was fine with my prolink before, but most bikes come with a carbon post today anyway).

Similar Products Used:

SI Prolink, SI Anatomic (very old model), turbo leather (very old too).

[May 25, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Shape/looks

Weakness:

colour options (but its not like you can see what colour your seat is anyway, and if you do you need to ride more...)

From the moment I tried this seat, the shape just felt right. Not bad weight, but thats not the important with seats, right?

Similar Products Used:

SLR, Selle San Marco's, Fizik's

[Dec 18, 2005]
gimondi65
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Classic(now)design, it fits!

Weakness:

Not a lot of flash, the price has gone up from several years ago.

Great saddle, I've been using them for 10 years, if it fits your arse, use it. All other saddles are judged against it.

Similar Products Used:

Many other saddles claiming to be the next best thing-I've gone back to the Flite every time.

[Nov 29, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

comfy durable

Weakness:

not the lightest but given that your arse comfort is rather important, a few grams don't matter much

Well there have been 2 other reviews on this saddle, one from a 'recreational rider' and one from another road racer. When in doubt, listen to the road racer (-; This is not the lightest saddle on the market, but it is extremely comfortable and as the other fella said, the benchmark for saddles. Obviously everyone's arses are different shapes, but I lots of bike riders I respect (i.e. people who actually race) rate this saddle very highly. I have ridden the SLR and it killed my SPAB (space between arse and balls) but this saddle, for me. offers unparallelled comfort. So, it's up to you to try different saddles - most bike shops will allow you to try and return if it hurts your SPAB but I'd definitely give this saddle a go.

Similar Products Used:

fizik SI SLR

[Nov 16, 2004]
Eric_H
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, durable, affordable, looks great. In the current saddle market, this saddle should get a 5+ for value, considering a Fizik Aliante costs $180, an Arione costs $125, and a Selle Italia SLR is $80-100.

Weakness:

Might not be perfect for everyone, lack of colors available in North America (except in the Gel version).

Saddles are personal, but for me the Flite Ti is the saddle that all others are measured against and no other saddle has met the challenge. I have used this saddle for the past 12 years on at least one of my bikes, and now it is on every bike I own. It is comfortable, reasonably light, durable, simple, and affordable. Plus my butt is happy, whether the ride is one hour of power or a 5 hours long. What more could a guy want?

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Turbomatic 1/2/3 (good, but heavy), Avocet 02 Air 40R (good until they put a cutout underneath in the shell), San Marco Era Pro (ouch), Fizik Arione (average).

[Oct 19, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

If you are not someone who rides alot this saddle has a lot of value and does the job. Plus it looks great on any bike.

Weakness:

If you bike enough to consider yourself a roadie then this isn't for you. It makes you sore far too soon and does not have enough wieghtlessness to balance it out. Not worth your time. Buy the SLR.

This saddle is what I would call basic. It offers the slenderness and light weight (sorta) design of a road saddle and steals all of the comfort that comes with a touring saddle. Honestly, it's just simple. But because this saddle is simple, there is nothing to make up for the lack of comfort. While it looks fine, does the job, and compares well to its competitors, it is literally a pain in the butt. If you want to ride alot, don't buy this saddle. If you will not ride for more than an hour and you won't ride often, this is a good value and you will not be unsatisfied. It just depends on how much you are going to use it.

Similar Products Used:

SLR, Selle San Marco, Saddle Co

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.