ITM Millenium Stems

DESCRIPTION

Superlight forged aluminum construction for the cyclist interested in saving weight without sacrificing stiffness and control. Fits 1 inch or 1-1/8 80degree rise, 25.8mm clamp, 156g

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Sep 20, 2004]
AJS
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

~ Reliable/strong. ~ Holds most bars well. ~ Light. ~ Stiff. ~ Looks good/well finished. ~ It's Eye-ta-yun, if that means anything to you.

Weakness:

~ Cost? But that's a minor gripe considering its proven performance.

I don't know what some of you guys are talking about. I've used a Millenium in one size or another since 2000 and never had a bolt problem or stiffness issue with them, (I weigh around 198 lbs.). In fact, I've never had a single problem with them of any kind. Seems like I've always got one on my bike, or one laying around as my normal 'go to' stem. Only time when I didn't use a Millenium was if I needed a different angle than 80 degrees, or when the Deda Newton was still available in 115mm. length and that size fit the bike & bars perfectly. Lately, I've switched to a Cinelli Solida/Easton EA70 Ergo on my newest rig, since the Solida's are actually a bit longer than the given spec. So for example a 110mm Solida is really about a 115mm. Fits the EA70's reach just right. But I'm still keeping my 120mm/26 ITM for use with the BioMax. Here's a product that I think truly deserves a 4.75 (95%) or higher 'Overall' rating. 'Value' I peg at around 4 because I think $70.-100. is still over-priced for a decent Al stem these days, especially one like the Millenium that's been basically unchanged for some years now, where the initial R&D costs have been long since recouped. I've seen guys like M. Pantani climb the Alps & Pyrenees while leaning and pulling on a standard 26mm ITM Millenium stem. Any questions??

Similar Products Used:

Deda Newton 26 & OS; Deda Zero; Cinelli Groove, Mutant, Solida; Ritchey Comp Road; various quill stems

[Sep 13, 2003]
lithiapark
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Adjustable-lets you experiment or set up for specific types of rides. Stiff as any fixed stem. Looks nice. It has inspired me to write a review at 4:30 AM.

Weakness:

None for the stem, but my life needs help, obviously.

This is a review of the adjustable version, I couldn't find a separate category for this. The stem is well made, the adjustment mechanism is indexed and very stout, I can't imagine it ever slipping in use. The "profile is fairly slim for an admustable stem, and the weight is only about 50 gm more. The adjustment lets me try differend positions without getting a new stem each time. Sometimes I feel like a long fast ride, and can lower the bar in a few minutes from the morecomfortableformystiffneck position.

Similar Products Used:

Many different stems.

[Mar 26, 2003]
Eric_H
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, stiff, well-machined.

Weakness:

None.

Nicely finished stem, light weight and reasonably stiff. I have not had any problems with the threads pulling out, or rust on the bolts but in general I have just it up and left it alone. I did have a problem with bar slippage initially. I cleaned the handlebar and stem mating surface with alcohol and then re-installed, perhaps with a bit more torque on the bolts. Things have been fine ever since.

Similar Products Used:

Cinelli Grammo, 3T Forgie, Ritchey WCS

[Dec 05, 2001]
eshutter
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

stiff, light, perfect rise and length for my needs

Weakness:

Initial quality issues surrounding recall-warranted defects, but they''ve been really good about replacing products without question

I''m one of those victims who fell prey to the recalled Millenium stems, and I didn''t even know about the problem until 2 different pro wrenches stripped the bolts of TWO stems within a 6-month period. Good news is I received free replacements each time without hassle. Recall issues and replacements aside, I''m modestly happy with the stem. It''s light and it''s stiff. Most importantly, it came in EXACTLY the rise and length that I needed. With the newest stem I have, I haven''t noticed much creaking at all and it does secure the bar like a vise. I know there''s better products out there, but I''ve been satisfied enough with this one to hold off shopping for a while.

Similar Products Used:

TTT Forgie

[Jun 25, 2001]
Jamie McConnell
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Great Looks. Doesn't appear to creak any. Light, but maybe not as light as the Newton. Switched from Newton due availability of my size at LBS.

Weakness:

None noted, but by the other reviews, I will probably replace the bolts with SS.

Rockin Stem.

Similar Products Used:

Deda Newton

[Jun 24, 2001]
Rob
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Solid, matte finish, 1" and 1.125" sizing with shim

Weakness:

4mm Bolts are too small

Rock solid stem. Good forward thinking on making it 1.125" with a 1" shim on all stems. Matte black finish with gray front removable clamp looks great.

My only gripe is like the other postings - the bolts. Luckily, mine are still fresh, but why compromise strength with a narrower bolt than every other stem made?

-1 for that.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Feb 12, 2001]
Alika
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight, quality construction, stable and good looks

Weakness:

None

Great stem for the price. Looks good with matching ITM Millenium Seatpost. No flex in stem during standing sprints. Considered Deda Newton stem, but high price and problems with titanium bolts led me to purchase the ITM. Buy the ITM Millenium stem if you want a quality stem thats strong, lightweight, looks good and affordable.

Similar Products Used:

Deda Newton 26 mm stem

[Jan 24, 2001]
Juny Binamira

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Light weight, stiffness, able to use it w/ 1" or 1-1/8" steerers, good anodizing, clean graphics, good manual

Weakness:

ferrous bolts rust

This is a very good product, a breeze to install, very accurate fit of the stem onto your steerer, whether or not you use the reducer. It's obviously been CNC'd to a very high tolerance, very clean. My only gripe is that for 80 bucks, you'd think they could include stainless or titanium bolts (like on the Deda Newton)- the bolts start rusting from being soaked in your sweat! Looks downright awful. What I do to prevent this is drop some oil onto each bolthead about twice a month. Otherwise, this stem is excellent! 3 stars for value because of the bolts, but 4 stars overall.

Similar Products Used:

threadless mtb stems- Control Tech, Kore, Ritchey

[Aug 10, 2001]
matt white
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

weight
looks smoothe
value

Weakness:

none yet

Bought the stem because it was an awesome deal on eBay. $46 was enough to move my butt. It is as stiff as the Cinelli Alter, without the boxcar looks. Stiffer than the Profile. That is my only comparisons. Rode all three stems in less than two weeks so rides were fresh in my mind. The shim for 1" steerers works great. Was a little leary of creaking, but none has happened. The only thing I would switch this bad boy out with is "The Stem" by ITM. As for the thread problems mentioned below, I think that careful tensioning would probably prevented that. Bicycling magazine just wrote an article about that exact thing(overtightening stem bolts on lightweight stems). I did just order a set of Titanium bolts from SRP-USA. For $12 dollars I will drop another few grams, and the corrosion problem will be a moot point.

Similar Products Used:

Profile
Cinelli Alter

[Feb 24, 2001]
Suzy Jackson
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Relatively light weight
Nice and stiff
Doesn't creak
Front opening

Weakness:

Crappy 10c steel bolts

This is a really well machined, light weight, reliable stem.

It doesn't flex when I sprint, and doesn't make any annoying noises. It doesn't cost too much money either.

Only thing to do with it is to throw away the crappy steel bolts and get hold of a pair each of M5 x 16, and M5 x 20 stainless cap head screws. It looks a whole lot nicer. I know from my old Cinelli stem that the first thing on any bike to rust is steel around the stem area, 'cos that's right where your sweat ends up.

Similar Products Used:

Cinelli XA

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.