Ritchey WCS Compact Cranksets

DESCRIPTION

  • Cold forged design focuses strength at the high stress pedal and BB interfaces
  • Excess material removed from lower stress center of the crankarms
  • Integrated fifth arm spider
  • Wear-resistant hard anodized rings
  • Specially designed shift ramps and pins allow for a wide gear ranges

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Dec 09, 2012]
Boris Foelsch
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Worked great for about six years.

Weakness:

Failed catastrophically, right in the middle of the arm. I broke two ribs. The thin section in the middle makes it light and, in theory at least, can still be strong.

Like any aluminum crank, these need to be inspected periodically. If you ride hard, you want to make sure your equipment is in good shape. Mine had a crack develop that I apparently missed, but you can see from the break surface that it didn't break all at once, but it was invisible enough that I got caught unawares. Ouch.

[Apr 14, 2010]
josephjcole
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

cost, weight

Weakness:

durability

They say you can only pick two out of three: lightweight, low cost, durable. With these you are choosing lightweight and low cost. Mine lasted around three years and then the splines that lock into the octalink BB gave way. Leaving both my crank arms pointing straight down. It was a good three years don't get me wrong. It just seems like a crank should last a lifetime.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano Ultegra, I'm now on Sram Rival compact cranks, decieded to go with cheap and durable... so far so good.

[Nov 24, 2007]
TFR
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

compact gearing is great. I live in hilly area

Weakness:

these tend to loosen when torques per the manufacturers spec. need to tighten frequently and use extra torque

love the compact gearing. These have been good, except they tend to loosen- need more torque than the spec says. Were not too many Compacts available when I got these 3 years ago

Similar Products Used:

1st Compact ever

[Sep 30, 2007]
blc
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

None, since it broke.

Weakness:

It broke.

I broke the drive side crank going up a slight rise. Thank God I wasn't going fast. I only suffered a gash on my knee. Should have had a weight limit on these cranks, since I'm 200 plus.

[Sep 08, 2007]
Itch
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lighter than most other products out, even products twice as expensive, and more durable

Weakness:

None so far

Great product, at 225 lbs, and major clims all around it has been a very reliable product. Having gone through two sets of FSA carbon cranks (Failures), these are lighter and more durable.

Similar Products Used:

FSA

[Sep 08, 2007]
Richard
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Are you kidding?

This crankset worked perfectly, until it failed in the most catastrophic manner - snapping in half during an out-of-the-saddle pedal stroke on a slight uphill rise. I was hurt, and damn lucky I wasn't killed. I've been cycling for 25 years and have never heard of such a failure.

[Aug 20, 2007]
Dale
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Has been working for 2 years with no problems, and it helps the climbing.

Weakness:

None

Not a lot of compact choice 2 years ago but have been very happy with it. I just recently purchased a new Orbea Opal frame and I did not hesitate a minute in moving it over to the new frame.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano

[Mar 22, 2007]
boysan
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

-Works well with a mishmash of components
-Design and appearance
-Reasonable cost for performance, durability, and weight

Weakness:

-None come to mind

At the time I built up my bike, there weren't too many compact options with a non-tapered spindle BB, but I'm still happy with my choice.

I'm using these with an Ultegra BB and Campy Veloce f/r derailleurs, and a Wipperman chain. This combo seems to work well together: no creaks, rubbing, or flex.

I also like how the crank serves as the fifth chainring arm like Campy cranks, and the blacked-out paint with machined accents looks cool.

[Sep 06, 2006]
Gary Panther
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Cool looking, reasonably light, inexpensive

Weakness:

QC. The first one never would work with the 53 tooth chainring. Swapped it to a 52 and it worked fine. The second one came with over-torqued chainring bolts (alu, with three being broken. On the first ride it bent the 53 tooth ring.

I have purchased two of these for my wife's bikes, one road and one tri. Both have had issues.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano, White, Specialized, Sugino

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.