Look Keo 2 Max Pedals

Best Price At
Available At
Available At

DESCRIPTION

Look has taken their incredibly popular Keo Sprint pedal and made it even better with the Keo 2 Max. The most striking design change is the wider platform providing greater stability less likelihood of a hot spot and better power transfer. The cleat con

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Apr 14, 2014]
Julio Cesar Castelluber

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Beauty.

Weakness:

Resistance, very weak and breaks product with little use.

I'm an amateur cyclist, got 1.89 m in height, 81kg weight and pedal was installed on a bike used only on weekends. The pedal was in perfect condition, no shock or fall, but the shaft bearing just broke. I have saved the invoice and denied me an exchange. I'm in Brazil and I was very disappointed when it comes from a top of the line product.

[Feb 13, 2013]
lewislw1

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Light. Good performance until they go bad. See below.

Weakness:

Like almost all Look pedals I have had, the bearings/axles don't last - after 1-2 seasons, the they loosen and start clicking. You can tighten this, but they quickly revert to click again. Look is a pain to deal with for warranty repairs. Look cleats wear out too fast. Time to move to another brand of pedal.

Good pedal performance, but they don't last.

[Oct 30, 2012]
Richard Parkin
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

wide, rigid, aesthetically pleasing, easy in/out, stable, secure

Weakness:

price, Kéo Grip cleats

Thoroughly recommend these pedals. Feel like the pedal of a professional; Contador anyone? But still very, very user-friendly. The cleats are dreadful and last even less well that standard Kéo cleats.

Similar Products Used:

Look Delta, Look Kéo Easy

[Aug 23, 2012]
look695 john

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Reliable,easy entry,low maintanence.

Weakness:

Look dont supply sandpaper with cleats.......(only kidding)

I see some cyclists have problems with the cleats creaking and have tried everything from cooking oil to talcing powder but have not solved the problem.Here is my solution.NO1.When cleats are new they usually dont creak but even after only one or two spins they are liable to creak .First thing to check is cleat position on your shoes.Go for a cycle and ask yourself the question-Am I straining on the left or right side of the cleat? When you are pedalling the cleat should not be under sideways pressure.If it is ,reposition the cleats.Whats right for someone else may not be right for you .we all angle our feet differently on the pedals.NO2. examine the cleat and you will notice burrs/marks around the three sockets(where the bolts are fitted).these are caused by stone damage while walking on them.To stop creaking all you have to do is get some medium grade tough sandpaper and smooth all around the three holes and right across from the left to right hole.Also sand the metal plate on the pedals slightly .THIS WORKS no oil, no grease, no whatever.Happy creak free cycling.

[Nov 08, 2011]
SaddleTime
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Reliability, ease of use, durability. Easy memory feature on the cleat: the old cleat can be removed and a new one quickly and easily installed in exactly the same position with a referencing button that is attached separately to the shoe bottom. Not particularly expensive.

Weakness:

Rubber walking grips eventually peel off the cleats, but can be Krazy Glued back on if caught in time.

Wow - I must be using different Keo Maxes than other reviewers here: over the last 10 months I've put approx 6000kms on mine, in races, 150km training rides, charity rides involving walks at nutrition breaks, rain, dust, snow, on rollers and trainers, climbing sprints, unpaved back roads, and anything else that comes up on the bike. So far I've not had a single squeak, bad release, sticky axle or anything else that's been mentioned by other reviewers here. I guess I must be lucky.

I bought these because I left my old Sprints on my last bike when I sold it at the end of last year, and I had zero problems with the Sprints after 12,000kms and figured new Look Maxes would be a 'no-brainer' for my new bike.

The only maintenance I've done is to remove them from the crank arms on occasion (after riding in dirty conditions) to clean and lube the axle threads. The metal plates have been very effective at reducing the wear on the pedal body from the cleat rub. (I can understand where the squeaking would come from if grit got between this plate and the cleat, but so far it hasn't happened to me. Hope I haven't jinxed it!)

I have no experience with other road pedals since those old Sprints were the first pedals I bought, based on a recommendation from a roadie friend of mine. I haven't had any inclination to try other pedals yet and I have to admit that I plan to stick with Looks until I do have an issue like others here have described.

Based on my experience I have no problem recommending these to anyone, regardless of use or ability: not only are they very easy to engage, they're also easy to disengage, yet have never prematurely released on me, regardless of how hard or fast I'm pedalling. That's the reason I got some for my wife who was having a tough time getting her Speedplays to engage/disengage.

Just my 2 cents-worth.

Similar Products Used:

Look Sprint

[Aug 08, 2011]
Jack Sly
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strong, not expensive (bought for good savings new off Amazon), easy to clip in/out

Weakness:

Adjustment screw stripped - but this was possibly my fault

I've had my Keo 2 Max pedals for about 1 year. I've had no issues except for one of the adjustment screws stripping - but that was probably my fault. This is the first clipped in pedal I've used so it's all I know - but I'm pretty picky and will call out something for an issue if I sense there's a problem. Other than having the pedal not sit properly when needing to clip back in I really have no complaints - especially since mine don't squeak.

[Aug 01, 2011]
Josh
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Engagement. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

Terrible pedals. Engagement is tough because you always have to roll pedal on the upside. The bearings lasted only 1 season and had to go through hoops with Look to have them replaced under warranty. I've had nothing but bad experience with Look altogether as there was a recall in my classics.

Similar Products Used:

Keo Classic

[Jun 14, 2011]
Van Cycler
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good holding power, sufficient float, stable platform, easy clip-in/out. Price is reasonable too, and they look pretty good.

Weakness:

Don't always return to down position once unclipped, squeak if you get the cleats wet (i.e. grass on the side of the road)

For several years I have been using Ultegra pedals on my Shimano-equipped Trek. Recently I purchased a new bike and built it up with Campy components. Bye-bye Shimano pedals. The Look pedals seemed like the logical choice for my new bike. Overall they feel more or less like the Ultegra pedals, however they don't always swing to the "down" position once you've unclipped. Also, as other reivewers have mentioned, if you get the cleat wet or dirty, you're going to have it squeak on you. Admittedly, this is very, very, very annoying on a long ride. I'm taking these back today to my LBS and trading (up) for a set of Campy pedals. My Ultegra pedals didn't give me this much grief after 5 years, so the performance of the Look pedals I've experienced after only a couple rides is unacceptable.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano Ultegra pedals

[Jun 04, 2011]
pdny
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Larger platform is nice and you can feel the added stability over the Keo Classics.

Weakness:

Poor customer service e-mailed the company for warranty help. No response.

Very dissappointing product. Pedals squeak constantly and now the bearings are making a grinding noise after about 400 miles of use. Look- get your act togather you are losing a lot of customers because of this product. Have always used the Keo Classics and have been very satisfied with them.

Similar Products Used:

Keo Classics and SPD

[Dec 18, 2010]
michaeld-c
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Cheap in the scheme of things.
Quite light for the price.
Look nice.
Easy engagement / disengagement.
Stack height improved over other earlier Keo.

Weakness:

Bearing issue for some early models.
Stack height still not the best.
Cleats have limited range of adjustment on the shoe.
Cleats wear quickly.
No customer service if bought on-line.

Had two pair of the Keo 2 Max Carbon, the other pair was used by the wife.

They are OK but I've used a few different pedals and in the face of some of their competition... I can't recommend them.

The main problem was the bearings. The seals were tight to the point where the pedals would not fall to a regular position when unclipped. The pedals would sit upside down or vertical with the toe straight down.

Nothing worse than mucking around with pedals to try and clip in when you are in a bunch leaving a set of traffic lights or trying to start on a hill.

We thought the bearings would loosen up after some decent rides but nothing changed. Look didn't want to help because we purchased on line so I paid for the local bike shop to pull them apart and service them. They couldn't rectify the problem because the way the bearings were seated caused pressure to be applied to the seals.

Apparently the problem was only prevalent in a batch of pedals just after release (tolerance issues) but it was still a disappointing situation for us.

The cleats wear quickly too. Time and Shimano offerings are more reliable in my experience except for the new i-Clic cleats which seem like they are made of marshmallow.

For nearly the same price you can get a set of Dura Ace 7810 pedals (they are now heavily discounted). Despite being 30 grams heavier, they are far better in every way. I also like the Time RXS Ti better but it isn't a fair comparison with these because of the price factor.

Similar Products Used:

Standard Keo. Dura Ace 7800 and 7810. Time RXS Ti. Time i-Clic Carbon.

  • Available At
$114.99
$125

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.