Look Keo Blade Pedals

Best Price At

DESCRIPTION

Look is known foremost for their pedals.  In their tradition of innovative design and cutting edge technology, Look presents the Keo Blade; Featuring the linear spring rate carbon blade design, the Keo Blade is one of the lightest in t...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Apr 22, 2014]
Bikepassion
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Secure engagement, weight

Weakness:

fragile carbon blade because it is exposed to side impact, weak body near the pivot. Poor cleat placement adjustability.

I bought 2 sets for my road bikes. After 3 500 km the blade delaminated on the right pedal of the first set. On the other set, the body cracked over the pivot of the entry mechanism. I've found that they are not as good has Shimano's as far of cleat placement under my shoes. They are great pedals if you race bikes, but if you are a recreational rider and clip in and out several times, I would try to avoid them and buy a more durable pedal system.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano SPL-SL

[Jul 21, 2013]
Rain
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Quiet, very light yet substantial feeling. Stainless over axle cleat interface surface.

Weakness:

Could be supplied with slightly longer cleat mounting screws.

This is for the carbon body steel axle with 16nm blade. Each pedal weighs 112 gm. Very easy and positive engagement with a bit of resistance to disengagement which I really prefer as an experienced rider. The pedals feel very stable and large platform helps dampen chip seal vibes as well as encourage effort out of saddle. If cleat / platform interface is kept clean and lubed sparingly with a drop or two of silicon these are silent and tight. This pedal allowed me to understand why shoe makers are increasingly emphasizing mold-able foot beds as I can now feel how my foot moves inside the shoe. I definitely recommend this pedal with 16nm blade to experienced cyclists looking for the best.

Similar Products Used:

Older Keo classic, leaden Shimano platforms, Wellgo SPD style.

[Apr 24, 2013]
Craig

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

They look cool
Weight (but not a significant difference than other more reliable pedals)

Weakness:

The carbon blade broke after 2 months of use; after about 100 in/out transfers

As I pulled up to the start line of a 100 mile granfondo bike race (w/ 8000 feet of climbing) the blade spring on my right pedal broke in half when I unclipped. It was not a difficult unclip, the carbon spring however lay in two pieces afterward. I opted to ride on it as I had no replacement, fortunately the pedal still functioned but if I lifted my foot up for any reason it came right off the pedal.
LOOK will not service these pedals, nor do they sell replacement carbon springs to replace broken springs, you have to go through a LBS who will then ship it to LOOK. I'm told I shouldn’t expect to get my pedals back for several weeks. A carbon spring?? what was I thinking when I bought these.

[Sep 21, 2012]
mbright

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, Perfect Size paltform, Better Power Transfer

Weakness:

Maybe Price

I have about 1,000 mile son the pedals, and chose the 16# spring. That platform size feels perfect...power transfer appears to have increased over the Keo's I used to ride, They are easy to get our of. One of the best investments I've made recently to my bike.

[Sep 10, 2012]
al

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Light weight, wide stainless platform, very smooth bearings, nice float, very firm positive "snap" on entry

Weakness:

Price, durability, noisy, hang at the wrong angle, cleat durability

I've had these pedals going on their 3rd year and I really wanna love these things, but I just can't get over their inadequacies. I've had a set of older Look aluminum pedals with delta cleats for nearly 20 yrs with no problems, decided to upgrade to the Blade Carbon Ti to go with the new carbon bike after running the old pedals a week or two. I didn't want to pay full retail and got them (new) on e-bay from a non-authorized seller to save a few bucks over their $500 retail at the time.

They are very light and the bearings spin smooth and effortlessly, much better than the XTR's on my MTB. The first thing I noticed when switching from the old alum pedals is that the Blades hang at a weird angle, the front of the right pedal sits somewhere around 10-11 o'clock, you really gotta eyeball these for a second or two to line everything up while getting in unlike the the aluminum pedals where the front sits forward at 1 o'clock and all you need is a momentary half glance. And if you're not careful and kick the pedal forward, the bearings spin so effortlessly and the pedal body is so light that they go round about a dozen times unless you stop them with your foot. Needless to say I've gotten better at this over time, but still not as fast to line up as other pedals, making them less than ideal for urban riding with lots of starts and stops.

As for feel and performance, the clip in engagement (once you've taken the extra 2 seconds to line it up) is one of the best/most positive of any road or mountain pedal I've ridden. I have the 12Nm version and the retention is perfect. The wide platform is really nice, no hot spots and nice power transfer in and out of the saddle. Float is nice and resistance free with the 4.5° cleats, no problem setting them up.

Pedals came with 2 sets of cleats, one with rubber grips & 4.5° float, the other smooth. I didn't make it out of the garage on the smooth ones without nearly killing myself and switching to the grip cleats, end of story on those. With the first few sets of grip cleats the rubber either wore down, or ripped off ending the life at a rate 2-3 times faster than what I was used to with the delta style. I must say in Look's defense they have recently changed the grip rubber to a noticeably harder compound that still grips and doesn't rip out.

As for pedal durability itself, after a couple months while clipping in, a chunk of plastic broke off the inside rear corner of the left pedal. It hasn't affected performance, but not exactly confidence inspiring, if I'd bought them from an authorized dealer they would have gone back for replacement and I'm sure Look would have taken care of me. I have about 10k mi on them now and they don't look as scuffed up as I expected. The one thing that's happened this season though is that they've started to squeak. Even with new cleats, cleaning the pedals, and spray lube its still there. I'm contemplating my new pedal options and leaning toward the carbon Dura Ace, I'll sacrifice some weight for durability!

[Jan 14, 2011]
Star bridges
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very Large platform. Light. Secure clip-in/release.

Weakness:

None so far.

Upgraded to a set of Blades from my Keo Carbon Ti that I rode for 4 years. Blades were everything I expected. Larger platform you immediately feel. It feels much more substantial that any other pedal I have ridden. 16s were not as bad as I expected, yet still kept my foot firmly locked. I use the black no float cleats with no squeaking issues.

Similar Products Used:

Look Classic. Look Keo Ti. Speedplay. SPD.

[May 02, 2010]
drzipgrip
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Great platform, ease of in/out - even with the high tension 'blade'. A whole round better pedal than the prior Keo series pedals - well done.

Weakness:

Price - that's a lot of green to shell out. Also, I hope that there is little to minimum fatigue in the 'blade' over time - we shall see.

Sweet - just switched out from my trustworthy Look Keo Carbon Ti's - much improved! I got about 30,000 miles out of my Look Keo Ti's and hopefully the same for the Blade's. Out of the box, weighed in at 93grams a piece - that's 186 grams/pair. I went with the stronger rated tension (16km)- thought they would be a bear getting into/out of - not at all. Cleat tension is even and strong - no squeaks, chirps, or any other noises. (Note on the noise from prior Keo users, the new Keo cleats with the 'walking pad's" squeaked out of the box with my Carbon Ti's - stick with the standard cleat - and don't go jogging in them!) Platform is super! Feels like you have 2x4 board under your feet - well done here.

Similar Products Used:

Look Keo Carbon Ti, Look Keo Max, Shimano Dura Ace old and new generation.

[May 02, 2010]
Danny-VR
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, specially for such a large platform

Weakness:

Price!

A good feeling right from the start, very large platform, you feel directly the difference , nice spring tension (I got the 12 spring). No noise what so ever (sometimes my Keo Carbons where noisy)
They are not cheap but with the stainless steel plate I hope they will last for a long time.

Similar Products Used:

Look Kéo Carbon
Dura-ace pedals

  • Available At

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.