Look PP-296 Pedals

DESCRIPTION

Adjustable free ARC float (choose between 0,3,6,9). Wide platform. Aluminum body, large contact surface, cold-forged chromoly axle. Adjustable entry/release tension.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Aug 10, 2003]
Graig Corveleyn
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Great feel from the wide platform. Easy in and out (once you practice a little), never a strain on the knees. Consistent.

Weakness:

Clipping in and out takes time getting used to. Weight I guess, although not a big thing with me. Honestly nothing else!

This is a great pedal fro improving your spin and strength. I had SPD's on my bike to start and absolutely HATED them, could not wait to switch to LOOK, these were perfect for me. I highly recommend them!

Similar Products Used:

Always used SPD stuff before this, but on my road bike, I will never go back now!

[Jul 15, 2003]
Dan Dalton
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

solid, balanced, smooth, reliable (for me at least)

Weakness:

noisy if shoes haphazardly set up. teh arc adjustment is a completely wastful gimmick (in my view)

excellent balance make this a joy, i struggled with other look pedals in stop-start city traffic, and found the handy spd things to be too washy and soft for anything more demanding, so, forced to compromise, i had thought. these however, sit up so0 nicely you can throw your feet at them from the start and be reassured by a satisfying clunk, and off you go with bags of safe torquey forward motion. fair enough, in the wet they can make a hell of a squeak, and in fact, when i first rode them i found this a problem in the dry. i think the problem was that i was slightly off straigt on one of the pedals, and this was loading he springs into the rather fancifully described "anatomical release" phase. a little show adjustmetn and they've been totally silent. happily they also come in a disgusting blue and yellow kelme colour scheme to match my equally revolting blue and yellow kelme frame, joy.

Similar Products Used:

other cheaper look pedals, road and mbk spds

[Jan 22, 2002]
Scottym
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Value for money, no accidental release (all you others must have poor pedalling actions)

Weakness:

None

Best clipless pedals Ive ever had. No problems, very reliable.

Similar Products Used:

Earlier looks

[Jan 18, 2002]
Ray Martin
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Durability, price, function

Weakness:

weight, float is a bit stiff even on light seting compared with Speedplays

Good product, good price, durable.

Similar Products Used:

SPDs, Speedplay, etc....

[Dec 06, 2001]
Jonathan Zook
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Good pedal platform for riders with large feet, and smooth bearings

Weakness:

Poor craftmanship, and Look needs to address the materials used in the cleats to stop the pedal creak.

I purchased these for my new bike over the summer, primarily due to the price, and I wanted to go back to using Look pedals after using Diadora pedals for several years. This was a bad choice. I read many reviews and discussions regarding the cleat creak, but I thought the issue was not that common. Well, the cleat creak is quite prevalent on the left pedal, and becoming more so on the right pedal. On top of that, the float adjustment knob on the left pedal has broken, and will not lock onto a particular setting. I have already removed these pedals and replaced them with and old pair of Time Equipes, and I have been very happy with them.

Similar Products Used:

Time Equipe, Diadora Pedal system, Older Look pedals

[Aug 17, 2001]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Nice big platform
Good colour choices
Float Adjustment
Price - you can grab em cheap now

Weakness:

Very heavy. Other than times, these are as hefty as they get.

I have the red cleats, and find they do work quite well but wear down super fast.
I've had relative success with these pedals. I like the float adjustment, as I sometimes have sore knees after hockey, but find I really rub the chainstay when it's set high.
They are bombproof, dependable, peleton-worthy....but HEAVY.

As a weight weenie, I'll be swapping these out for a pair of Keywin Ti Pedals. Less money, hundreds of grams less, and a nice platform.

Other than the weight, though, you can't go wrong!!!!

Similar Products Used:

Old LOOK pedals

[Aug 15, 2001]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

They are the standard at the racing circuit. It's easy to find a spare bike with Look pedals.

Weakness:

Pedal plattform/cleat contact doesn't feel solid enough. Too much noise and rocking during hard riding. Difficult to find the right cleat position. Foot is farther from the spindle than other pedals.

I used these Look pedals because I had to, and I never liked them at all. I had the extraordinary 3 toestrap track pedals invented by Giuseppe Grassi until I started racing on the road, then I tried Looks and didn't like them at all, so I went back to my track pedals with all the inconvinence. Then I tried Time, I loved the feeling of having your feet bonded to the pedal, secure and comfortable, and bought a set. But later my team director wanted me to use the pedals suplied by the sponsor, and I used these Looks for about three months. First of all, I had to raise my seat about 12 mm, and when those 42 hour weeks came, I couldn't stand all the play between the pedal plattform and the cleat, along with that annoying noise. I had three unwanted releases during sprint training, and I crashed on the last one because the cleat broke and snapped off the retention cam. And by that time I had developed pain in my ankles probably due to all that unwanted play I wasn't used to. Also, one of the pedals lost the dial that changes flotation on a trip. That was it. I had a big argument with my sponsor but they finally let me ride with my Time pedals and shoes, and I never had any more problems, other than having to transfer my own pedals to a spare bike when I needed one. I can understand why so many people use them, there has been so much advertising and riders getting paid to use them. But for top level performance, I really believe Time pedals are much safer, comfortable and efficient, so I would never again race on any kind of Looks, not even if they pay me to. Well, maybe I wasn't offered enough.

Similar Products Used:

Earlier Looks, Shimano spd, Time Equipe Magnesium (the best)

[Jun 24, 2001]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfort due to large platform. Many roadies are using Look.

Weakness:

Heavy. Creaking at the cleats and pedal interface area. Cleats wear off quite fast.

No hot spot when cycling in heavy gears for many hours. Stable, no accidental release. Will get Look again next time.

Similar Products Used:

Various type of SPDs.

[Apr 03, 2000]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

weight
on the fly adjustability

Weakness:

price
massive plastic cleat w/bolts that tend to not stay tight

Nice, but pricey. My opinion on clipless pedals in general is that whatever you get used to first is what you like best. Feel is very much personal preference. That said, these do offer some great flexibility. I leave them on the 3 degree setting 90% of the time but if you tend to switch around a lot the twist adjust is great. Getting in and out is comparable to other similarly priced pedals - nothing really impresses me one way or the other and what you like is very personal anyway. If only the speedplays weren't like standing on an icecube I'd probably have bought those instead.

Similar Products Used:

time, shimano, speedplay

[Apr 26, 2000]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

adjustability, more pedal contact than other minimalist pedal systems,light weight

Weakness:

Price (though the team versions are usually on sale periodically in mail order catalogues), never really use the adjustability in the float

As with the previous review, i agree that you are most comfortable with what you "learned" on. My first clipless system was a simple look pedal back in '89, and not much has changed since then. That is good because the positive feel and good surface area of the Looks are a real benefit. They require more effort to get in and out of than the speedplays i have on another bike, but again, once you're used to it, it becomes second nature. I don't use the adjustable float much, so personally don't care much for that feature. If 3 deg. of float is enough for you also, then save your money and get one of the lesser Look models and not the more costly 296s, unless they are on sale of course!

Similar Products Used:

old looks, speedplay, shimano spd

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.