Performance Forte Classic Pedals

DESCRIPTION

6 degree float. LOOK cleat. Aluminum body, dual-spring entry/release mechanism. Sealed mechanism, chromoly axle.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 27  
[Jan 24, 2013]
Jacque Anderson

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

I have NEVER had this type of pedal but I have common sense and I am athletic. It took me all of a minute and a half to figure it out. I did not crash even my first time. I have a old pair of Shimano R075 hand me down shoes with RED Look clips and I didn't fall over once. Do not be afraid of this pedal if your smart.

Weakness:

Reading the reviews of people who do not know how to opperate the pedal!

I am training for my first triathalon and I WILL BE USING this pedal. I am sure this pedal will do fine and I will post again after my race. Don't be afraid just be smart and train hard!!!! That is mt review.

[Dec 26, 2011]
sitbone
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4

I've had problems with this pedal as well. Found it easier to unclip by twisting inward rather than outward. I have them set on the weakest grip so I don't crash at 0 mph at lights. Done that twice when I first got the pedals. Performance should require all their executives to road test their products before they go into the stores.

[Apr 04, 2011]
kafene
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Looks and price.

Weakness:

WAAAY to hard to unclip, regardless of experience.

Bought a couple of these for bikes I got for my daughters. First time they've tried clip pedals. They fell often on the first ride. Told them they'll get used to it. Then I tried adjusting them a couple of days later to make it easier. The lowest setting is still WAY too difficult to unclip. I felt really bad afterwords for thinking it was them. I would have fallen if I had used them!

[Sep 15, 2008]
MDJ5169
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Cheap, look decent, float is easy on the knees.

Weakness:

Bearings are weak and won't last long. Cleats tend to wear quickly.

These were my first venture into clipless pedals and yes, I did crash a couple of time at stop lights. I just assumed that was part of the learning curve but maybe these do clip out a bit harder than most. I will be finding out soon as I have 1,400 miles on these and the right pedal is starting to have a bearing go out 'clicking' which drives me nuts. (I weigh 180 lbs. and have some hills in my riding area but if you can't get a full season out of them it doesn't matter how cheap they are....) Not sure yet if I want to go with the Keo or Speedplay but it sounds like either is a better choice than these.

[Jun 08, 2008]
New User
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

They are easily returned.

Weakness:

They resulted in a damaged bike, physical pain and embarrassment.

I bought these before seeing these reviews. They are deathtraps, especially for new clipless riders like myself. I fell twice because I could not get out of the pedals. AVOID!

Similar Products Used:

Forte Campus Pedal - a far superior clipless pedal for those new to them.

[Aug 08, 2007]
Steve
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

price and style

Weakness:

Clipping out, red cleat has to much float. Try the black cleat big difference.

I also bought this for the price, and was disapointed on how difficult it was to clip out. I also had to remove my foot from my shoe to clip out the first time, it was easier to turn my heel inwards to clip out. But I also found that if you use the Look black cleat instead of the red one that comes with the pedals, clipping out is a lot easier. The black cleat has little float so disengagement occurs quicker. But I went back to my spd pedals anyway and gave these to my son, and they are working fine for him along with the black cleats. He has ridden over 400 miles with these.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano spd, Look

[Aug 02, 2007]
Underdog
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

They are cheap. Which is good, because you will need the extra money for Neosporin and bandages.

Weakness:

Almost impossible to clip out. Just plain dangerous.

Well, looking to save money has ended up almost costing me my life. These were my first pair of clipless pedals, and it took me some time to appreciate why my cyclist friends were laughing when they watched me struggle to clip out of these shackles. I did not know any better, until I was invited to try other clipless pedals. This morning I had to make a emergency stop and crashed in front a line of cars. I have decided to trash these and go with a set of Look Keo Classics.

Similar Products Used:

First clipless pedals.

[Apr 16, 2006]
Major Rider
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Inexpensive price.

Weakness:

Difficult to unclip and not made for heavier riders. Cheaply made.

I purchased these pedals because I could not see spending $150 for a pair. My mistake. First off, unclipping is difficult even after six months. You have to think about unclipping before you stop or be prepared to topple over.

After 600km the pedals began to tick. Upon further inspection I found the main bearing was worn out. I weigh around 200lbs and climb hills weekly. So much for purchasing a cheap set of pedals. Perhaps a lighter rider might get more use out of them.

Similar Products Used:

Look, Shimano

[Mar 27, 2006]
Grimmm
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very solid feel with just enough float for me.

Weakness:

Cleats may wera out within the next 5 to 6 months or so.

I wish the pedals would be better angled to clip into when taking off from a stoplight.

The pedal I bought from Performance are the Forte CR-150, and these are the first raod pedals I have owned. I have always used the Shimano SPD style before.

I have only had these pedals for about a month but so far they have held up well, I can see where cleat wear could be an issue if you walk around the pavement a lot, but that has not been to much of a problem for me.

The only problem I have experianced with them was last week when climbing a hill in the wrong gear and I was trying my hardest to pull up on my pedal as well as pushing down (it was the hardest I have ever pulled before), and I uncliped the shoe from the pedal. One of the guys I was riding with said that I was probably pulling up harder than I should have.

If I tried this with my Shimano 747 a few years ago and accomplished the same thing but they released a lot sooner.

For the money I paid for them I feel like I am getting a good value. However If I had started out with a LOOK pedal, I might have a different opinion.

The pedals feel solid with a very positive relese and entry.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano SPD 747, Time ATACS

[Nov 30, 2005]
TommyApplehead
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

cheap

Weakness:

unable to adjust tension properly

Never was able to adjust them to release. Pretty scary. Gave up after a couple of rides and gave them away.

Similar Products Used:

Look

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2018 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.