Shimano Dura-Ace PD-7410 Pedals

DESCRIPTION

  • Low profile SPD cleats
  • 36' cornering clearance.

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    [Sep 15, 2010]
    timerckx
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5

    I have beer riding these peddles since 1994 with not one problem. no noise from peddles or baring. they have never been serviced. they are on an eddy merckx titanium ex.

    [Sep 01, 2009]
    Gromit
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    Light, cool looking, small, click in is nice and solid, beautiful bearings which to this day have never been touched and don't require any servicing.

    Weakness:

    God awful creak, im sure they are expensive but got mine as part of a new dura-ace equipped bike.

    I got these pedals in 93 when they first came out, they were great for the most part but over time the base plate squeaked something fierce and Shimano warrantied one baseplate with another (used albiet) base plate. They do squeak a lot and you must grease the front of the cleat mechanism and the corner contact points if you want to avoid an annoying creaking squeak. This sucks because if you weear your shoes in the house and on some carpet there is a greasy imprint of the shimano SPD cleat left behind. Plus grease tends to attract dirt and grit adding to the problem.

    Similar Products Used:

    Onza elastomer pedals, Shimano PD-M505, PD-M520, ritchey pedals.

    [Sep 28, 2006]
    tom
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    durable

    Weakness:

    none noted

    used for several years. no problems. compared with other pedal sets i have tried these are by far the most user friendly. easy to adjust . maint free have 4 sets bought new and used rotational cleats are great LOVE EM

    Similar Products Used:

    campy pro fit ritchey ultegra

    [Jun 10, 2006]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Durability, cornering clearance, light weight, ability to walk in shoes, Shimano quality, 3 cleat options.

    Weakness:

    Difficulty to find nowadays.

    These vastly underrated pedals perform flawlessly. I am a 10 year plus user, occasionally trying other brands during that time and never finding a better pedal. The small cleat allows for decent walkability - can you get that with ANY other clipless pedal on the market these days? - and easy entrance exit. Definitely use a stiff soled shoe, certainly to void that dumb argument about needing a big platform for "power transfer" or "stability." Nothing tops the cornering clearance. Serviceable/rebuildable, but it requires a great deal of patience and a steady hand. Best pedal ever made.

    Similar Products Used:

    Dura Ace 7800, mid-90's Look, Speedplay, Bebop.

    [Jan 12, 2002]
    meme
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Strength:

    + durability + smooth spin + adjustment free

    Weakness:

    - price to value - hard to get in - clips are very sensitive to dirt

    I got the pedals as part of good deal. Overall, they have provided a smooth spin with very limited adjustment required over time. These pedals take some practice, and more practice, and then some more practice to get in. I believe the weight distribution to be too bottom heavy. Also the pedals get very upset when dirty. I have had a couple scares with a little dirt locking the whole thing up. For the price, I expect better balance in addition to smooth spin. Next set of pedals, I will likely try Look. Thought about Speedplay, but just can''t get past the small surface area.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ultegra

    [Dec 06, 2001]
    took
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    lots of free, frictionless float

    Weakness:

    weak pedal body materials, and sqeaky connection between cleat and pedal.

    these pedals suck. I had a pair of ultegra spds for 3 years that i decided to replace because the squeaked uncontrollably. got a good deal on the DA model, so figured i''d try them out. big mistake. after about 5 months of use, the cleat had gouged and scraped away huge amounts of metal from the pedal surface, leaving me with a very unstable pedal platform. also, my expereice has been that these things squeak to no end unless you put huge amounts of grease on the cleats before every ride. what a pain. disagree w/ me and want some used DA pedals? email me and I''ll sell them to you for real cheap.

    Similar Products Used:

    look

    [May 31, 2000]
    Anonymous
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    light weight

    Weakness:

    kind of expensive

    pretty sweet entrance and exit. positive click in. keeps foot well locked. i noticed a little knee ache after a long ride, but i made some adjustments on my shoe, and its fine now

    Similar Products Used:

    none

    [Nov 16, 2000]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Lots of movement. I have a knee that I have had problems in the past, and it was easy to increase the amount of rotation by grinding away the rear retaining clip (I used to own a bike shop for 13 years, so I know how to safely do those type of things). Floating action has very little friction, which I need, good cornering clearance. Reasonable weight, although lightweight pedals if they perform well, are not a major concern of mine.

    Weakness:

    A bit difficult to get into pedals, crit riders take notice. Also, since they are small, a good stiff shoe might be recommended to avoid hot spots. I use very stiff Shimano carbon shoes, and has never been a problem.

    Lots of movement available for these pedals, good cornering, low friction as mentioned above. Very durable and tough, have survived a couple of heavy crashes without any problems other than getting scratched up. Overhauled bearings after 3 years (!) and everything inside looked great! Even though I replaced the bearings, the original set was still in very good shape, they looked just as good as the new set I replaced them with, and this is after numerous rain rides. I expecially liked these over the standard Look style pedals since your foot pivots in the center of the pedal, not near the toe.

    In summary, a very reliable, forget-about-them-and-ride-forever without any problems type of pedal, much like the old Campy toe-clip pedals of old. I recommend them, might be hard to find, since I'm not sure if Shimano still makes them, and they are not in "fashion".

    Similar Products Used:

    Look, Early Shimano clipless (Look style), Time, and just about every type of pedal out there when I owned the shop.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.