Campagnolo Record Carbon 10 Speed Rear Derailleur

DESCRIPTION

Campagnolo Record 10spd Rear Derailleur: The Record rear derailleur is the symbol of the Record groupset and communicates an unarrestable competitive charge thanks to the dominant presence of carbon fiber...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Apr 13, 2010]
Iasonas
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

You forget it exists. It is just there and it does what it needs to do as you command it.

Weakness:

Chorus performs just as well and for the weight difference of a few grams you may seriously consider the dollar amount.

I had to try it to believe it. Ok it looks nice (I prefer the older one with carbon fiber only on the knuckle) but the thing is just smooth. You even have to carefully listen to its soft sound and it sounds like a musical instrument. I thought I was being whimsical and felt guilty buying such an expensive setup, but once you try it you get a good feeling where your money goes. It is almost like a seamless continuous shifting system when you only feel the change in resistance on the cranks after each click.

Similar Products Used:

Campagnolo Chorus, Shimano Ultegra.

[Jun 05, 2007]
spintowin
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

shifting

Weakness:

none but probably price

i was a huge shimano fan until i tred campy record. it is just the best and smoothest shifting

Similar Products Used:

shimano dura ace, sram force

[Dec 12, 2004]
shirt
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Perfectly invisible.

Weakness:

It doesn't have a battery-powered servo motor to help up the hills.

The hightest compliment I can give a component is that it's invisible. This RD has been the most forgettable piece of my drivetrain for 4 years of hard training and ~30 races per season. It's never been rebuilt, rarely cleaned, and it works with all the complication of a ball-peen hammer.

Similar Products Used:

DA, Ultegra, 80's Campy Record

[Sep 18, 2003]
Bam-Bam
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Excellent shifting Excellent durability Beautiful workmanship

Weakness:

Too pretty to get dirty

Shifts crisply, consistently. Took 1500-2000 miles to break in but that hints at the longevity you can expect (my old rear Record derailleur has ~85,000 miles - with only new jockey wheels - and still shifts buttery-smooth). I didn’t want 10 speeds (Jeez, guys, c’mon, how many is enough??) but I do use them. Having 8 useful cogs per chainring takes some getting used to but it's growing on me. The polished aluminum and lacquered carbon fiber are almost too pretty to use. Almost. It doesn’t feel like it shifts better than my old 8-sp, but it does. It has to shift better just to execute as well because the 10-speed’s tolerances for a nice, crisp shift are much tighter.

Similar Products Used:

Older Record, Dura-Ace, Ultegra 600, Superbe-Pro

[Feb 04, 2001]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

The weight difference is amazing, certainly having ten gears gives you more choices.

Weakness:

A bit pricy but you get what you pay for with campy.Also with campys flow down philosophy daytona with be just as light soon.

some people say we don't need 10 gears but thats technology, since when has anybody not built something bcause we didn't need it, because they can. Bike technology is advancing all the time and its good to see that campag is at the forefront and 10 speed is evidence of that. If you can afford it buy it because you are buying quality,durability and style.

Similar Products Used:

Daytona,ultegra

[Jul 25, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

all

Weakness:

none

Had to post this to counter the other post. I had written a wonderful response detailing why thing evolve like cars with 6 speed transmissions, computers etc..
These reviews should be about the product not philosophy of the company. The campagnolo product is excellent. People who want 10 speeds ahould be allowed to buy 10 speeds. If they make 15 speed freewheels available, people will buy those as well. If the stuff doesn't work, give it a bad review. If it works well give it a good review If you don't own it, and you don't want it, SHUT UP.

Similar Products Used:

all

[Oct 04, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very quick, smooth shifting. Best shifting ever out of a Campy product. Extremely light with the ability to go lighter in future years (still some steel on there). Sexy as hell.

Weakness:

Chain wears too quickly, causing clicks in your pulley cage - Campagnolo has fixed this problem with the 2001 model chain. Also, it's a bit pricey

Buy it. It out performes anything they've made before and it will be worth three times what you paid for it in 15 years....and it will still be usable then!

Similar Products Used:

All.

[Nov 05, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

lightweight, smooth accurate shifting, looks great

Weakness:

price

Absolutley brilliant. I had my doubts about 10 speed and if I had nine speed I probably wouldn't have bothered, but two extra sprockets was great and really filled in some gaps. I use the 13-26 casette which covers pretty much everything I come across in the UK and having one tooth gaps between 13-19 allows for very smooth cadance. Also, Campagnolo make a 13-29 casette for use with a medium cage derailleur (which works fine with my 13-26 as well), this was perfect for Alpine riding.

If nine speed is enough there is no point in changing it but if you feel there is a gap in your gears or want a wider range without changing to a triple (which is not available in Record, Chorus or Dura-ace) this is perfect.

Similar Products Used:

8 speed veloce rear, 8 speed Dura-ace

[Apr 17, 2001]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Beautiful, perfect shifting, quiet, serviceable - unlike ANYTHING made by Shimano

Weakness:

none. Price is not a weakness, it's a consideration

This is for the serious cyclist/racer. Chorus is definitely a better value - identical function, several hundered dollars less, only slightly heavier. There is nothing available that functions as well as the Record and Chorus groups. And nothing that will outlast it. More important, the Campy parts are repairable, and do not have to be completely replaced like the Shimano stuff, so if you ride lots of miles, this is the stuff to own. Value is subjective - if you have the money, Record is absolutely worth every penny. And it is not for "brand chasing yuppies" Most bike shops have a preponderance of Shimano equipped bicycles - most of their employees ride Campy. Maybe you should ask why.

Similar Products Used:

Record 9spd, Chorus 9spd, Shimano 600

[Apr 26, 2001]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durability, precision, good looks

Weakness:

none

This derailleur is a real performer. Combined with the record levers, the shifting is nothing else I have experienced. If you crash and break something, every single part is avaliable. As an investment in quality, it should last a lifetime.

Similar Products Used:

C-Record, Dura-Ace

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.