Colnago 2003 Dream Plus B-Stay Frames

DESCRIPTION

  • Main frame constructed of Columbus Airplane tubing
  • Bi-conic shaped alloy tubing to increase torsional rigidity
  • Supports for Ergo or STI levers on the steering tubes
  • B-Stay Carbon Fiber Rear Triangle

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Nov 24, 2008]
newportbayer
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Responsive
Comfort
THE LOOKS!!

Weakness:

none

Absolutely the best ride I have ever been on. I have ridden her 5 years and never a problem, not once. I upgraded the fork after about a year. But by far the best ride around -STILL

[Aug 30, 2007]
Miguel
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Looks
Stiffness
Soft ride feeling
Responsiveness to pedal input

Weakness:

None so far.

I made a decission to move from mountain bikes to road bike and purchase this beutiful frame.

So far Could not be happier on my decisison, now I can go farther and farther and want to continue riding.

Excellent frame, the softness continue to amaze me thanks to the rear carbon b-stay on any road condition. The frame responds to the minimun imput from the pedals due to a great level of stiffness. I can go for 50-75 Miles with minimun signs of fatigue. The steering is very precise but and will require some time getting use to it, this is basically due to the straight bladed force fork.It is also important to mention that this bike always catch the attention of other biker.
Bottom Line it is a superior bike that I would recommend to anyone...defintely Colnago knows how to build frames!!!

Similar Products Used:

None, was a Mountain biker before
Giant NRS(MTB)

[Jun 15, 2005]
scubabluediver
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

stiff frame but oh so soft with the carbon force fork and carbon b stay rear.

Weakness:

none so far

Picked up this bike yesterday from R&A cyles in Brooklyn. I put 75 miles on it. In short i did not put the bike to the limit this baby put me to the limit. It's a sexy ride totally asking me to push it even more. Out of the saddle, or grinding up a hill or sprinting this baby responds.Really great response as soon as i touch the pedals.

Similar Products Used:

my old bike was a chro/moly bianchi veloce bought in 1995.

[Mar 24, 2005]
boonen
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

nice geometry makes a stable and comfortable bike. The non-integrated headset is a big plus for me.

Weakness:

bad paintjob poor qualitycontrol pretty heavy

Got this bike as kind of a sponsordeal and have used it in races and for training for about a year now. Biggest issues with this bike has been a hole in the b-stay that colnago didn't want to take care of so I had to put some CF on it myself to prevent water from coming in to my frame. Other bad thing is the paintjob. Although nice when new it chips very easy when small stones etc. hit the frame when you ride. The top layer is also quite soft so it scratches easily. I have a white frame so it shows more (color not my own choice btw.) Only paintjob I had that was worse than this one was on another bike frome colnago... Now for the positive stuff! The bike really rides nice. Its not superstiff, I guess this is due to the rear end, but it's pretty comfortable even in 200 km races over bad roads. I also like the handling of the bike, you can clearly feel the experience colnago has in the way the bike handles. It's very stable and good for cornering at the same time. I have a 57 cm, but for bigger riders who like to sprint out of the saddle the bike may not be stiff enough

Similar Products Used:

colnago, concorde, cannondale, ridley

[Mar 20, 2005]
go-trebblex
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, good looking, doesn't talk back!

Weakness:

None untill now

I just wanted all you people out there to know what you're missing if you haven't ridden a bike like this one! I used to have a steel race-bike... and now this alu/carbon 'Dream'!! And this is just what it is; the ride is smooth, reacts swiftly on any move. It looks great too! I'd take it to bed with me (that's how much I like it), but my wife wouldn't let me ;-)

Similar Products Used:

Steel frame Carrera monza.

[Feb 27, 2005]
dannybgoode
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Handling, comfort, stiffness, looks fantastic

Weakness:

None on this ride

This is just a first impressions review. I will do another one in about 12 months if I remember!! I bought the bike about 3 weeks ago and took it out for the first time today. Was going to put it off another couple of weeks 'cos the weather is still pretty nasty here in the UK. Still plenty of snow around and the roads are very salty but a problem with the winter bike left me no choice. What can I say. 55 hilly miles round the Peak District (for those of you outside of the UK the name is very apt) is a good a test of any bike. It sailed round. Want to go faster - just touch the pedals and away you go. Out of the saddle is amazing, very stiff, very steady. In fact it takes a bit of getting used to. The carbon rear end soaks up all the little bumbs and road noise and takes the edge off the bigger ones, makes for a much less fatiguing ride. I could have stayed on it all day. Down hills with fast sweeping bends the bike just stayed on the line I put it on. The straight forks took a little getting used to but after a few miles I had so much confidence in the bike I was descending much faster than usual - except where there where patches of snow on the road. I was the slowest out there then!! The geometry is supberb, very well thought out and very comfortable. All in all far exceeded my expectations

Similar Products Used:

Nearest thing a Tifosi CK2B but nothing even close to this

[Dec 20, 2004]
davidw
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stability and refinement.

Weakness:

Decals could be toned down; paint can chip easy(?)

This bike rides like the name-it truly is a "Dream" bike. Fast, stable, and sharp handling. The second ride was a century with no pain, even taking new riding positio0n into account. Much more refined than my Kestrel was; very easy to stay on the bike for long periods of time. Superb service and set up from Emery's

Similar Products Used:

Kestrel 200SCi Trek 900 Astro-Damlier RRB

[Oct 08, 2004]
sharkma
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Weakness:

none

This bike balances all aspects of a top of the line bike, speed, acceleration, control, looks. It's superb on climbs, sprints like a demon. I'm a heavy rider, (200), when I stomp on it on a hill sprint or a flat sprint, there's no flex whatsoever. The carbon B-Stays make it a very comfortable ride over long distances. The Chorus grouppo has performed flawlessly. Although a bit noisy in the lower gears. Paint job is amazing. Money well spent.

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi reparto corse with Record, specialized E5 with DA7700

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.