Jamis Coda Sport Hybrid Bike

DESCRIPTION

Our Coda series of flat-handlebar road bikes has won us legions of fans over the years and an Editor’s Choice award from Bicycling Magazine in 2011 for good reason—they’re quick, they’re nimble, they’re durable and dependable, and they are a blast to ride. They’re basically road racing bikes without the racing emphasis—flat handlebars and intuitively easy-to-use controls mean near-zero intimidation, but you still get the benefit of elevated performance and incredible efficiency. This year’s Codas are even smoother riding than last years thanks to the wider 32c Vittoria Randonneur tires, which make for perfect all-weather riding around town. And we made sure this years Codas are still some of the most versatile two-wheelers we build, thanks to a full brace of rack, fender and lock eyelets and a broad gearing range suitable for most any terrain.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 31  
[Jul 19, 2016]
mike

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Easy Shift, Strong Steel Frame FAST!

Weakness:

HAven't found one yet

I've been doing my homework trying to find a reasonable, mid priced bike that I could use to get back into cycling.
I started a conversation with Kevin at City Bike Tampa and did lots of digging online.

Kevin asked some very good questions and led me directly to the Coda Sport.
I took it out on the street for about thirty minutes and the bike did everything I wanted it to do.
Hands down - GREAT BIKE.

I bought it on the spot and have been very happy with everything about it!

[Jun 13, 2016]
Omar

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Agile, fast, smooth pedaling and shifting. Makes going uphill or up a steep ramp very easy. Tough. Reliable. Durable. Can take a pounding.

Weakness:

None that I can see or have experienced.

I absolutely love my Coda Sport. I own the 2016 model in silver. I purchased this bike about 2 weeks ago (Memorial day weekend to be exact) and have loved every time I have gone for a cruise. I have put it through multiple 20+ mile trips already. One of those trips was 28 miles. I use it for pretty much everything. I live in Chicago. So if you have ever been here or live here, you know how terrible these streets are. The steel frame really helps. I paid $539 for it. I have no regrets.

So if you are looking for an AWESOME bike, this would be absolutely worth every penny.

[Nov 05, 2015]
Mike Conway
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fabulous comfortable ride, fast, totally reliable, looks great (I got a 2015 in dark blue) Vittoria tires, price, nice equipment. The mechanics who built this bike at the bike shop did it right, too. Nearly a year's riding and not one adjustment needed -- and the wheels are perfect..

Weakness:

Only that I didn't quit the aluminium frame hybrids sooner. (I must be a slow learner....)

A perfect urban ride for me.

Similar Products Used:

A Giant road bike, two aluminium framed Giant hybrids.

[Jun 10, 2015]
Andy

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Strong and agile steel frame can be ridden all day - handles speed well too

Weakness:

The wheels are a disgrace and the spring wires in the v-brakes are on the flimsy side

I can’t rate this higher than 3 stars as the wheels are a complete insult - I and a competent wheel builder have come to the conclusion that it is not worth persevering with the wheels AT ALL. They arrived with 5mm+ runout - so I tuned them up a bit and did a few hundred kms before taking it to the wheel guy for a proper tuning but after only 1500km, I am going to have to fork out at least 50% of the bike’s cost on wheels that stay true for more than a week and don’t pop spokes. It really is a great frame and most of the components are OKish, but once you add on $200 or 300 for wheels that work, you may as well get something else - I won’t touch this brand again

[May 09, 2015]
Robert

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

I think I paid too much! $700 for coda sport with Deorde drive ? I purchased it in 2012 and it was on sale. It is without a doubt a terrific ride.speed,agility and nimbleness.quiet too..I heard the Alex wheels are suspect, but I don't have any issues.i tried several bike when searching, as the proprietor said" the bike will find you" ...it did! Great ride.

Weakness:

None

See above

[Jan 07, 2014]
Karl
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

A quality Reynolds steel frame offers greater comfort than the aluminum frames of most hybrids (I have only owned steel bikes but have rented Specialized and Trek aluminum hybrid bikes, sometimes for several weeks at a stretch). The parts mix is quite decent, with cheap and cheerful Shimano and a few no name bits but all quite functional.

The price was excellent given the above (I did get an NOS model from 2011) and the look is classy.

Weakness:

Wheels were not all that well built on purchase but there's nothing really wrong with inexpensive Formula hubs and Alex rims. Supposedly had them "trued" when I picked up the bike but then took them to a real bike shop to have them properly tensioned by hand. It was a very worthwhile investment of around $40 and obviates the need to get a "better" set of wheels as one reviewer on this site had suggested.

The rear hub OLN width is 130mm road standard, so replacing it with a Deore or better would have required squeezing it in or cold-setting and is unnecessary in any event.

Unless you are commuting astronomical distances, in which case you might want a Deore drivetrain for durability, you don't need anything better than this (and could do a whole lot worse).

The Coda has an excellent steel frame, a good value drive-train and no superfluous and heavy items like suspension forks or posts. Rides well and feels lively when not carrying a load.

Similar Products Used:

1995 GT Vantara steel hybrid (also great); 2000 (or so) Jamis Nova cyclocross bike coverted to flat bar hybrid; several steel road bikes including some high end custom ones.

[Oct 30, 2013]
vicki mason

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

..I was very impressed with the coda sport. it handled very well, shifting gears was easy. the seat was comfortable everything about this bike is awesome! i rode it 104miles without any problems or flat tires.

Weakness:

i really do not know of any

I started training in May 2013 for my first century ride on August 2, 2013. I used an older 12 speed bike it wasn't until the week before the ride that i decided to purchase a new bike. my local bike dealer suggested the coda sport..when i took it for a test ride i knew right away it was the bike for me. I highly recommend this bike.

[Aug 02, 2013]
ShortRide

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth ride, perfect upright feel, great fit for "hard-to-fit-petite" rider, at least the sport femme.

Weakness:

Absolutely none, in my opinion.

I could never keep up with my friends due to, what I found out was not so much me, but a poorly designed bike.
I tried many much higher priced bikes and was so disappointed in the discomfort of the test ride.
Then I found the Jamis Coda Sport Femme.
With this bike I can keep up with anyone and even pass them most of the time, ride for long periods without wrist pain, back pain, butt pain.
Bumps that would have jolted me before, I barely notice.
I am no bike aficionado, just love to ride, so I couldn't be technical and tell you about the aspects of the fork, frame or anything else.
I just know how it feels and I have found my bike for life. If I ever need to buy another, which I doubt, it will be a Jamis Coda Sport Femme.

[Apr 12, 2013]
Bob
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

The Frame

Weakness:

Without a doubt the wheels

I was looking for an all Cromoly hybrid frame (not easy to find these days). But had to buy the whole bike. I had read in other reviews how lousy the stock wheels are on Coda's. At the bike store (Tip Top bikes in Berkeley, Ca.) I asked the very nice woman with the English accent about the wheel issues and she assured me that Jamis had corrected the problem with their wheels.
I've owned the bike for 2 years now and have had nothing but problems with the wheels. Constantly going out of true (I only weigh 150 LBS) My advice: when comparing prices you need to add the cost of a new set of wheels to the Coda. ie MSRP is 560.00, the total cost of the bike will be around 750.00 or 800.00.
I do like the frame. It's a great all around utility ride. It could easily be use for fully loaded touring (after replacing the stock wheels).

[Jun 28, 2012]
Aleks
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I have a Coda Sport 2011 -- which is in fact Coda Comp 2010 and 2012, with carbon fork. Beats me why Jamis can't decide on a name!
1. Comfort. Frame eats up bumps on road, plus the saddle is unbelievably comfy (Selle San Marco Elba). At first look saddle looked scary (uncomfortable) but the guy at LBS convinced me to give it a go rather than swap straight away -- what a great decision. Very gentle on the behind :-).
Stem is adjustable in height, so it's easy to adjust it for comfort. Also, grips are thick dual density ones, that are very comfy on the palms.
2. Speed/efficiency. Despite its weight, the bike flies. It flies off traffic lights, it flies up hills. A comfortable setup as above helps get the most out your pedal power, thus improving efficiency.
3. Steering/compliance. Due to geometry and I guess steel frame, bike is not bouncy like some stiffer aluminium ones. It goes over bumps with only a vibration in the frame (like a "thump"), while other bike(s) bounce high and upset the steering - or at least the confidence therin. Not to mention uncomfortable hit from underneath.
4. Geometry. I like to stretch out a bit on the bike but don't want drop bars. Most other flatbars I tried had a shorter top tube, on which I felt cramped and in danger of going OTB when braking. Particularly female specific models suffer from short TT -- do most bike manufacturers think that females are dwarfs in their torso? I bought a "proper" (non-Femme) model in 17" and it's a perfect fit for a female 165cm height (5'5").
5. Precise and quick shifting - particularly in the rear Deore derailleur.

Weakness:

Lightweight front end. This may sound strange, but carbon fork and no suspension make the front end significantly lighter than the back. This makes the bike unbalanced when standing (on the kick stand) with even the lightest pannier attached to the rear rack (I installed one for commuting).
This is not a downside of course, but just a bit annoying having the bike tip over every so often, even when holding it by the handlebar.

I've had the bike for 10-ish months now, done around 2000km -- my commute is about 14km one way, riding on the road, with some hills. I have added mudguards and rear rack to make it very practical and even capable of some touring (haven't done any yet).
It is an absolute bliss to ride!! I am in LOVE with this bike! I tried many flat bars in the 2 months prior to purchasing this one. Big problem with other bikes was geometry (short top tube) and sometimes hard work pedalling. This bike has touring-like gearing (48/36/26 front and 11-32 9 spd rear) which makes it both ultra capable on many hills in Melbourne as well as zippy and fast on the flat.

I have changed stock tyres that were fast but bouncy and unforgiving (Vittoria Zafiro 28mm) for far more comfortable Conti Gatorskins and they, combined with steel frame, are now glued to the road, surefooted over any bumps. Saddle is a jewel on this bike, as it eats up any vibration that the tyres couldn't. I cannot comment how much the carbon fork absorbs the bumps, but I have tested other cheaper flatbar bikes and would say that both carbon and steel fork are far superior in comfort to an alloy one.

I have added small and stiff toe clips (no straps) to the pedals and they hold my foot nicely and add to efficiency.

And last, the esthetics. Blue colour on my bike looks way better than on Jamis web site. The bike has that great simple and streamlined look. I have also given it a pair of bar ends, for when it's windy. And a rear vision mirror -- IMO an absolute necessity for city commuting. All additions are gloss black -- look great contrasting bike's blue colour.

Similar Products Used:

I have a folding 20" electric bike which was my 1st bike and has built my confidence in riding everywhere (having additional power up my sleeve). This bike has an important place in my life due to that, but I no longer ride it due to excessive weight (26kg) and crappy folding frame.
I also have a 16" folding mini bike that gets me a couple km to the train station if I can't ride my fave all the way to work.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.