Marin Larkspur Hybrid Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: 7000 aluminum, double-butted
Frame Angles: Unspecified
Sizes: 13.5", 15.5", 17.5", 19", 20.5", womens 15", womens 17"
Colors: Brushed
Fork: Unspecified
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Acera
Handlebar: Double butted alloy, 1" rise
Stem: forged alloy 30 Rise
Headset: 1 1/8" threaded Double sealed threaded
Front Der: Shimano C100
Crankset: SR Suntour CR410, 28/38/48 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Acera
Pedals: resin
Tires: 700 x 35c City tread

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[May 04, 2020]
jeffbozo


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Good value for money, well built, reliable components, hard wearing. A good commuter option.

Purchased:
Used  
[Jun 13, 2014]
Mike loves bike

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good size for me. Sturdy frame. Comfortable grips. Good riding position. Tire size just right for my roads with some corner stones and pot holes. Reasonable price.

Weakness:

Gear shifting is rough. 21 gears, but the highest gear could not be used at all without modifying the bike. Some design flaw, I gues. Deraileur is weak and shaky. Was not accustomed to that from Shimano. Grips are comfortable, but start slipping off the handle bar after a while and need some technique to get them on again. Could not stop that up to now. Also the rubber started desolving after a year and the rubber became some soft and gooey stuff. Exchanged them from left to right and vice versa, so the upper side is now below the bars.

Riding the bike since March 2013 about 100 miles per week to work. About 11,000km up to now. Had a regular city bike before that did not fit well to my height, so this was an upgrade. Before then I had a Winchester steel bike, which was very sturdy, but easy to ride. I rode it for about 40,000 km (25,000 miles) until it really had reached its end of the road, but I don't think the Larkspur compares well and will last that long.

[Aug 27, 2011]
Brad
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

-- smooth ride
-- well built

Weakness:

-- not a particularly fast bike (though apparently that's geerally true of hybrids)

I use the bike mainly for urban commuting (about 7-8 miles/day). It's well suited for that purpose--quite sturdy and dependable. Very smooth riding and the gears have held up well. The bike stil looks good after a lot of exposure to weather, potholes, etc.

[Jun 21, 2010]
timbr
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good value for money, well built, reliable components, hard wearing. A good commuter option.

Weakness:

In 15,000kms - I replaced the chain at 9,000kms, the bottom bracket needed to be replaced at 10,000kms, wheels have been serviced (the rear has needed servicing twice), still on the orginal front tire (now marginal), several sets of brake pads and one gear cable. All acceptable wear and tear.

I bought the bike new in Feb 2009 (no option to enter 2009 in year of bike). In 17 months I have ridden over 15,000kms (10,000 mls), so it has been a good test. The bike has proven itself to be robust, comfortable, capable of reasonable speed (with some modifications) and reliable. Built to a price but components, finish etc have all lasted well. Not particularly light, nor highly spec'd, but it is a well built bike.

[Feb 16, 2009]
Andres Pinzon
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Weight, speed. The brushed aluminum finish is outstanding.

Weakness:

Shimano front derailleur may work inconsistently at times. This can be easily corrected with little bit of tuning.

With a very light aluminum frame and a decent set of gears, this bike is fast, affordable and fun to ride around the city.

Similar Products Used:

Tested and compared to Novara Corsa - the Larkspur was just more solid, lighter. Both are 24 speed but the twist shifters on the Corsa are a pain.

[Mar 13, 2008]
boomchuck
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfortable geometry, comfortable seat, good gearing for nasty hills around here, and can maintain a respectable speed on the flats.

Weakness:

8th gear is a little noisy and sometimes I get a little jump when I accelerate hard. Not sure how better to describe that.

This is my first quality bike after getting back into riding. The quality of the bike has just got me more and more excited about the sport and off to do longer rides. It may spur me on to a future road bike.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Oct 25, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great soft riding bike, big tires, great WTB seat & seat post, shifters aren't smooth as butter but get the job done well, the adjustable stem helps get your postioning right, handle bars are quite wide, grips are well padded, & brakes grip amazing given that my bike is carrying a full-figured gal like me! Light for price and nice components will always keep for family rides!

Weakness:

Rims flex on the long rides, don't expect to keep up with the road bikes, it's a Hyrid! This bike is one that will make you love riding, long to ride more and probably lead to a road bike (I bought one this week). Pedals are cheapish and are being replaced. First cranks were replaced for Shimano Sora.

Great bike made me fall in love with biking again. Smooth very forgiving ride with awsome seat, shock seat post, big slick tires. Easy upright shifters, nice gearing for almost every hill. The bike is so good that it wants you to go faster & faster. First rides; 10 miles, next 15 -20 miles, now 30 - 50 miles, this is where you start longing for more. This bike leads you to a road bike & more money......

Similar Products Used:

Trek 7.2fx, Raleigh Route 1, Fezzari Speedster 1, Specialized Globe,

[Aug 29, 2004]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

I like the rigid fork (the comparable Trek & Specialized have front suspension).

Weakness:

No quick releases! No adjustable stem!

Good bike, I love it. I bought it before I knew about biking, mostly because of looks.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 7200, Schwinn Seirra

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.