Argon 18 Gallium Road Bike

Best Price At
Available At

DESCRIPTION

Frame: Monocoque 6050 carbon frame fabricated in a single piece in a mold that shapes the frame for maximum rigidity, with massive, asymmetrical chainstays and an oversized BB shell and head tube. Alloy rear dropouts with interchangeable rear derailleur hanger. Braze-on front derailleur mount. BB86 bottom bracket. 1100g.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Jun 22, 2017]
Robert Bishop

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

I have loved riding my Argon18 Gallium as an avid amateur cyclist (3-4k miles per year).

Weakness:

Unfortunately, I can no longer recommend Argon18 as a company.

Recently, an Argon18 dealer became concerned about my Gallium frame seeing striations in the paint above the front fork. These striations appeared in the first year of use but honestly I didn't think anything of them. The dealer contacted Argon18 on my behalf and they asked for pictures, purchase receipt, etc. After all was said and done, they hid behind a technicality. Since I had no proof that the striations occurred in the first year and I had purchased the frame a little under 4 years earlier, their original 3-year warranty (now 5 years if you register) had expired. So, WARRANTY DENIED! Apparently Argon18 is willing to stand behind their product for 5 years but not the one that I purchased. What I find particularly distasteful is their claim that the striations are only in the paint and not the carbon fiber frame. Then, in the same breath they recommend that I not ride the bike just in case. Yeah, like that's going to happen! Adding insult to injury, they provide contact info for a group in the US that can repair the carbon fiber, if desired. So there you have it... #argon18bikes #gallium #galliumpro #warrantyweasels #roadbikereview

[Aug 03, 2016]
Antonio
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Not common, corners well, stiff but comfortable.

Weakness:

Not as aggressive or light as other models.

I bought the 2016 Gallium several months back and it is the bike I ride most often. I've put it through a lot of climbing. While waiting for the bike to arrive I rode the shop owner's Gallium Pro. In comparison the Gallium is not as twitchy or fast out of the gate. This is to be expected since this isn't the race model. The bike is comfortable while riding long distances and as long as there is gas in the tank it accelerates well. One thing that I have noticed fit wise is that my knees tend come up near the stem while climbing out of the saddle. I'm 5' 9" and am on a small. I have yet to hit the stem with my knee but thought I would mention it. Also I haven't been fit to the bike but I think when I do they'll get me on a longer stem.

If you are looking for a good comfortable bike I'd recommend this bike. If you are looking for a race bike I'd look at the Gallium pro. I like this bike but it doesn't have that extra umfff that other race bikes have.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale Supersix

[Nov 02, 2015]
hello

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

none

Weakness:

none

nono


hello world

[Oct 08, 2012]
Britt
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I am currently riding the new 2013 Gallium and love the way it feels on the road. It has a smooth feel even on rough roads. It corners well with its low center of gravity. Overall, fast bike and one I look forward to riding for a long time.

Weakness:

The only weakness I can think of is the slightly higher price point over other comparable bikes however Argon 18 continues to be a high end, boutique bike brand.

I love how the bike handles. The ride quality is smooth and supple. You can take high speed cornering with confidence. The Gallium comes from the same mold as the Gallium Pro however has a slight downgrade in carbon quality. Built with SRAM Red and Hed Jet/6/9 wheels it weights 16 lbs. even. I purchased mine from www.TriVeloSports.com and received free shipping and reward points. I highly recommend their shop. Talk to Britt.

[Jun 06, 2012]
Guy N
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very stable, excellent cornering, good power transfer but comfortable on long rides, 3D head set system. Fast down hill...yes I said down hill.

Weakness:

Stupid wheel catches on front forks (filed them off)

I mainly shopped for a new frame and fork to find something stiffer then my current ride and I found it. This is a very stable smooth ride. Corners very well at high speed. Rides a strait line at high speeds when descending. Great power transfer both in and out of the seat. I used to think my Mavic Ksyruim wheels were mushy because when I stood on climbs my breaks would rub on the rims. It was not the wheels and I no longer experience this issue.

This is a great bike and for me a great price. I found a 2011 model new in box at a clearance price. Under budget and over expectations.

Similar Products Used:

Serotta (steel), Look Carbon

[Jan 07, 2011]
max kaldenberg
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

feels strong- power go to the wheel--very confortable 3-4 hr rides I always feel in control--looks great

Weakness:

none to date

Iam a very luckey I have both a 2010 and 2011 gallium pro--yes I have 2 great bikes the 2011 ive had for only a few weeks but have put about 600 miles on it and ride the 2010 about the same amount. the 11 feels a little stiffer and corners a tad better. They are both great bikes.

[Oct 11, 2010]
StevefromToronto
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfortable fast

Weakness:

Nothing yet

Initial impression is very positive. My second full carbon bike. Being a full out performance bike I expected a a much harsher ride than my last "comfort" set up. Bike is very comfortable vibration is nil sucks up the cracks and bumps of the road. Comfortable, climbs like a goat and converts all your energy to the wheels efficiently. First impresion is great.

[Sep 05, 2010]
BlurRoubaix
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Nice looks, solid cornering, not too twitchy - but not too slow. stiff enough for me.

Weakness:

I've had the headtube extenions loosen a couple times. The metal headtube extenions have chipped the finish on the headtube.

Excellent bike. Great combination of speed, stability and comfort. I ride this bike on short and long (100+ miles) rides. It is comfortable.
No downsides - if you are looking for a race-worthy bike that won't beat you up and has a Euro-tour ride feel - this is it.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Roubaix

[Apr 25, 2010]
Dusty
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiffness in sprints, climbing out of the saddle. Looks.

2010 Gallium: Great BB stiffness, a Review is for Frame only. A noticeable upgrade from my Specialized Tarmac S-Works frame. The Gallium is still comfortable enough for a 4 hour ride. Head tube extensions are great for riders who don't drop the bars too low. Handles well with moderately quick steering and a high BB for cornering.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Tarmac S-works 2007

[Mar 02, 2010]
Jean-Michel Girard
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, explosive, great handler, gorgeous, comfortable, rigid bottom bracket, a bliss to ride, etc and so-on...

Weakness:

None as of today

My bike is a 2009 Gallium Pro, lighter and even racier than the previous Gallium S3.
It is a wonderful bike: Crisp, sure-handling, confidence-inspiring, responsive and confortable, all the possible qualities you would expect from a bike twice the price of this one. It is a really hi-end machine. Well finished and beautiful, with plenty of incredible design innovations.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale Six, Argon 18 Krypton, Scott CR1

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.