Cannondale R500 Triple Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: 6061 T6 aluminum
Frame Angles: 73.0 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 48cm, 50cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 60cm, 63cm
Colors: Black, Topaz
Fork: Cannondale Ultra Slice Si
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano 105 STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Cinelli Altera
Stem: Cannondale 3-D Forged
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Cane Creek S-2
Front Der: Shimano Tiagra
Crankset: TruVativ Touro A1, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano 105 SS
Pedals: Wellgo road w/clips and straps
Tires: 700 x 23c Hutchinson Flash

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Jul 11, 2017]
Hang me out to dry
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff and responsive. Gets you up hills. Great acceleration.

Weakness:

Lil heavy these days. Downtubes (though indexed). Felt a bit stretched out on the bike. 7 speed.

1993 Canny:

For my first road bike, this decades old frame was excellent. In fact if the bike was an 8 speed (and maybe a size smaller), I'd have kept it. The fact that it's becoming increasingly difficult to find 7 speed cassettes at bike shops around me is a bit of a problem, too.

If you can find this bike for $200, and you want to get into road racing, this bike is excellent value for the money.

Similar Products Used:

Trek R500

[Jun 27, 2013]
Adam

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff frame, eats up hills.

Weakness:

Funky shifter, needs other upgrades.

This is an all and all great frame. After new bars (Randonneur World Championship), a new bottom bracket, and new saddle I feel tuned in. Takes hills like a goat. Hope you like to work on bikes because this one needs a lot of wrenching. RSX brake levers are awesome but the RSX derailers suck. Mine came with Mavic wheels and believe these are the best wheels I've ever rode on.

[Apr 19, 2011]
BlueGrassBlazer
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strength and reliability,.

Weakness:

Heavy and a bone shaker. RSX shifters not very responsive

Old '97 R500 T with RSX shifters and rear derailleur and a 105 front. All aluminum bone shaker with Mavic CXP10 rims. The bike is a tank. I've hit pot holes and pounded that bike for 14 years and the wheels are true and only needed occasional tune ups. I finally lost the stem and went with a much more forgiving, upright stem, went with a Brooks b17 saddle and 25 tires. All these finally smoothed out the ride and made it much more comfortable. The gears are starting to go so I'm looking for a new bike with more upright geometry but this has been a real workhorse and will be relegated to a winter trainer bike.
Great bike!

[Aug 03, 2010]
erik
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

stiff frame, light, sexy, great power transfer

Weakness:

dents easily (2.8 aluminium) paint chips easily

overall its a good bike for the money, but good thing it didnt come with crappy rsx but it came with slightly older 105 circa late 90's. but for a cannondale from 1996 its really good. all i had to do is put some new sti shifters (why did the previous owner put downtube shifters on it when it came with sti?)

Similar Products Used:

1993 diamondback expert tg and 1994 trek 2300

[Aug 02, 2010]
John Recklies
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strong Frame
Responsive and smooth rear d

Weakness:

Stock Gipiemme wheels are heavy
Brakes needed instant replacement

This is my first bike i actually owned. The is in good shape and i was able to adapt well. I took it to a bike shop and had a few changes made but all in all it is a great stock bike to start. i replaced the stock wheel set with A Class AXL 220's. Not high end but better than the Gipiemme's

Similar Products Used:

N/A

[Sep 30, 2009]
Jim Eliopulos
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiffness is amazing. I am able to keep up with and out sprint much stronger riders.
I have wrecked once and besides some paint scuffs this bike just keeps going. It has outlived my "new" carbon frame by many many years.

I have wrecked onec and besides some paint scuffs this bike just keeps going. It has outlived my "new" carbon frame by many many years.

Weakness:

Weight is my biggest concern. My 58cm is comparable to most mountain bikes weighing in between 23-25 lbs. because of this and the older smaller bottom bracket I feel like 10 to 20% of rider output lost when compared to newer lighter bikes.

This is a great starter bike. Built like a tank and heavy like one with the GIPIME wheel set this bike is surprisingly responsive for the weight. Very stiff making sprinting a joy. I have about 7000+++ miles on this bike now and use it for my weekday training. I now have an all carbon SuperSix and when comparing the two bikes the biggest difference I can see is the amount of input it takes from the rider to make the CAAD5 frame respond. Due mostly I would think to the bottom bracket size and weight.

Similar Products Used:

Currently riding 2009 SuperSix.

[Sep 06, 2007]
robin
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

responsive and comfortable - most comfortable frame I've ever owned. I have over 4000 miles on the bike and it has held up very well with the exception of the items mentioned below:

Weakness:

Gipiemme wheels are heavy and hard to keep clean. Mine have started to crack around the spoke holes preventing proper spoke tenioning on the non drive side - time to change and hence the 4 rating below. I have also had problems with deraileur alignment

This is the bike that got me back into serious cycling. Great value for a superb bike.
Due to the cost of replacing the Gipiemme wheels and desire to move to a lighter frame I will be moving up to a System 6 but will keep this bike as a spare.

Similar Products Used:

I own a Cannondale Slice Aero and a Cannondale Rush - they take alot of hard riding and all have performed flawlessly

[Aug 10, 2007]
ajez
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I really like this bike

Weakness:

The brakes
Gipiemme wheels

I love this bike. A huge step from riding a Scott Sportster P3. It's so responsive, easy to handle and i think it's very fast as well.
Changed the Gipiemme T3 wheels to a pair of Mavic Ksyrium equipe, and got a complete new bike.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1000
Trek 1200
Cannondale CAAD4 R500

[Feb 24, 2007]
john
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, quick, stiff, awsome matte blue paint

Weakness:

Front "D" on the triple is a little slow. Seat is a little cheap.

Cannondale R500 is a sweet ride; a tour stage winning frame that's affordible.

Similar Products Used:

I ride only C-Dales's

[Jan 13, 2007]
desmo13
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price
stiff
tiagra/105 works well
wheels are strong
beautiful blue that gets comments from everyone

Weakness:

wheels are heavy and poor decals that collect oil (i pulled the stickers off)
brakes suck!

3000 miles now on the bike. I started riding at 5'10, 270. I am now 50 lbs lighter.

Upgraded to a Fizik arionne saddle
been through a number of tires, gp4000's on now.

I am now trying to decide to either upgrade to ultegra and a compact crank, or just get new bike.

For the last year, I have loved this bike. the rear wheel needed to be trued once. everything has worked flawlessly except:
in the triple, and big cog climbing, I have a spoke brushing against the deraillure. a good shop has still not been able to fix it properly.

The problem has been fixed in that I rarely now if ever go into the small chainring :)

Similar Products Used:

cannondale 2.0 (87?)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.