Colnago CLX 2.0 Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Colnago CLX 2.0 Ultegra 2011: The CLX 2.0 has the same Colnago features as our top-of-the-range carbon frames, but comes at a more competitive price. It underlines how we apply cutting-edge technology to bicycles that are available...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-7 of 7  
[Nov 25, 2012]
Stephen Tsai
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Branded, nice looking, smooth & stable.

Weakness:

Kind of heavy, flexes at bb, poor paintworks, cracks on paints, no good for acceleration, not durable to the real tests of racing.

Bought this clx2.0 in 2010 after return to active from 28 years lay off racing.
The bike is generally fine & good in the first year of light cycling. As my training improves, i can feel the bike flexes on sprinting & hard ride. Paintworks starts to shows hairline cracks too.
I never have any falls or hits on this frame, its plain tap water clean after every ride & waxed weekly.
I aren't sure if it would last the style of ridings I used to do years ago on my 531 steel frame.
Felt more like a toy bike than a real racing bike. Have to be extra careful handling it as paint cracks are easily formed.

Similar Products Used:

TI raleigh 531 steel, Viner colombus steel, Wheeler 7100 alloy frame, kouta korsa lite alloy, trigon TT carbon, Pinarello dogma60.1, pinarello paris 50.1 carbon, colnago master x lite colombus steel, titanium custom built, colnago clx2.0, favourit steel & fuji steel.

[Oct 14, 2012]
Kate McClure
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth ride. Best ever. Extremely stable and a great climber. Looks fantastic

Weakness:

None

Colango CS 3.0

Best bike I have ever had. Tried several models, Bianchi, Look, Litespeed. By far the smoothest ride.

I am a 58 year old women who rides about 100 miles a week weather permitting. Do some club rides and a few citizen road races. I can average close to 20 in good conditions in a road race. Not bad for my age. This bike is fantastic. Great looks. Did build it up a bit, so not stock parts.

Similar Products Used:

Litespeed Vela, Lemond Zurich.

[Dec 31, 2011]
BikerBobT
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Extremely smooth, fast, and well-mannered. This bike is a magic carpet. It also is a really nice looking bike. Did I mention it rides smoothly?

Weakness:

Standard cranks with 12-25 cassette are not very good for hills. Proprietary aero seat post can't be swapped out (but no need to that I can see).

I wanted to replace my Orbea Onix with something a little smoother riding. I went to a lot of stores and tried a lot of different bikes. I narrowed the list to three: A Pinarello Quattro, a Ridley Noah, and the Colnago CLX 2.0. I guess I rode each of them about three or four times for extended tests. I would be happy with any of the three. But in the end, I chose the Colnago because the ride was simply the smoothest and most comfortable of them, and it simply fit me better.

While not the lightest bike in the world, at 17.5 pounds it is no slouch either. The wheels (Fulcrum 5's) would be a quick and easy upgrade, but they are by no means bad wheels and I probably won't change them anytime soon.

I don't know who manufactures some of the components - they have Colnago branded brakes, tires, and saddle. I suspect the brakes are FSA, since the cranks and stem are made by FSA. They work fine so no worries there. I replaced the saddle with my trusty Aliante. The tires are really nice, and I'd buy them again if I knew what they were!

After several months and finally hitting 1000 miles, I can say that I'm extremely pleased with this bike. It is everything I was looking for and more. And it is truly a thing of beauty (mine is white and blue). Everyone who sees it comments on it.

The only thing I will likely change soon is the crankset. The dealer said my specific bike was a European setup, and was not supposed to be available in the US at all. These all come with some great FSA Team Issue carbon cranks. However, mine are standard 53/39.

As I get older (I'm in my mid 50s), I would prefer compact cranks to help on the hills. The FSA's shift great and look very nice too, but a 53/39 with a 12-25 cassette is just not low enough for me and the hills around here.

Different models come with different cranks, though. If you have Shimano or SRAM components, the swap is pretty easy. Right now, finding 11-speed cranksets is still a little difficult and expensive, which is why I did not have it done at purchase time.

Handling on the CLX 2.0 is spot-on. I never, ever feel that I might lose control. There is no wiggling or twitchiness at speed. It tracks well and corners like it is on rails. At high speed it is very stable. At low speeds there is no wobble. Signor Colnago really knows how to design a bike, no matter where it is actually built!

This bike should appeal to anyone from a cycling enthusiast or recreational rider like me to a Cat 1 racer.

Although I have two other nice bikes, this is the one I choose 90% of the time. I really love it. Thank you Ernesto!

Similar Products Used:

Orbea Onix, Litespeed Classic, Tommasini Sintesi

[Dec 31, 2011]
mfioretti
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ride quality and handling, beautiful looks, very stiff

Weakness:

Proprietary/aero seatpost doesn't allow for anything else to be used. Perhaps could be a little lighter but it's not that big of a deal.

I love this bike. It's beautiful and the ride quality and handling are supreme. I believe that the carbon lugged rear triangle contributes to the ride quality. I feel very confident in descents and cornering with this bike, and climbing is great as well. Really, there's not much more that I could ask for with this frame. My only real complaint is that the seatpost is proprietary and thus can't easily be replaced, nor can it be swapped with anything else. Other than that though, I'm very, very happy with this bike.

Similar Products Used:

n/a

[Jun 12, 2011]
James
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Looks good
is light
very stiff
soaks up road vibration good
very good in the corners
outstanding stability

Weakness:

Paint job is weak, and does chip easily

I originally purchased a clx with full ultegra groupo FSA bottom bracket and ergo carban handlebars. The frame cracked and Bay area schwin got it replaced for shipping only, 250 to builld up. the CLX was nice the CLX2.0 is lighter and stiffer and prettier. The bike is responsive, sweet to ride soaks up roadd noise good, I have Kysirium SSLs on the bike. My average speed on a mixed terrain 40 mile loop is 18 I am 54 and Pretty good for an old fart that has had 2 back surgeries 1 neck for herniated disks and 1 neck surgery to remove the lamina on the 8 vetabrea in my neck. I enjoy the bilke and itt is a grea all around bike good climber, good decender amd outright smooth on the flats and curves.

Similar Products Used:

Orbea Orca 2010
Lemond titanium te de course

[Jan 30, 2011]
DeweyT
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

All the usual stuff, good power transfer to comfort ratio, durable, absolutely beautiful deep pearl paint job. (White with black accents)

Weakness:

I can't think of anything to key here.

This is a 2010 frame. Road Bike Review needs to fix that..

First, I’m a 5’10” 230 lb Clydesdale that is much more likely to sit and spin than to stand up and pound. I average about 6,000 miles a year in relatively flat country, the Grapevine Lake area in north TX. I’ve never been a racer so can’t help you there. I have two bikes with exactly the same setup, a 2009 54cm Cervelo RS and this 2010 54cm Colnago CLX 2.0. The ONLY difference in the two bikes is the frame and a 1cm shorter stem on the Colnago.

When I first bought the CLX it was meant to be a backup bike to the RS, which I love. I got a great deal on the frame and always wanted to own a Colnago, so I went for it. Given the aero seat post and relatively beefy seat stays I did not expect this bike to be as comfortable as the RS. I also expected it to be a bit heavier and thus less likely to squirt forward than the RS, but hey, it’s a Colnago. Both perceptions were wrong. If someone told me I could only have one of these bikes tomorrow, I’m not sure which one I would give up. The RS seems to be more “nimble” at 15 lb 5 oz but the Cervelo seems more durable at 16 lb 1 oz. The difference in weight as compared to my 230 lb frame is a net nothing. I really like both frames and would have no problems recommending either. My big decision each day is which one I’m going to ride.

Similar Products Used:

91 Cannondale R600, 04 Specialized SWorks E5, 05 Specialized Tarmac Pro, 07 Specialized Roubaix Pro, 09 Cervelo RS

[Jan 12, 2011]
Moots Don
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great ride, beautiful and as excellent (in different ways) as a Moots.

Weakness:

Very heavy Fulcrum 5 wheels in stock configuration.


This is a very nice bike. I alternate between 2005 Moots Compact Sl and the Colnago and find the two bikes very similar. The Colnago is a a little stiffer in the bottom bracket and is slightly more jittery over rough pavement. The Colnago handles wonderfully on the twisties and does not beat the rider up on rough roads.

Similar Products Used:

Moots Compact Sl,Shimano DuraAce 7800 and Rolf Elan RS wheels; Blinkey Steel light touring, demo'ed many others

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.