Douglas Fusion Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame: Easton 7005 Ultralight aluminum with tapered Penta-shaped top tube, oversized Penta-shaped, Vari-Wall down tube; S-bend chain stays, externally butted head tube, Reynolds Ride-Tuned carbon seat stays, replaceable derailleur hanger. Fork: Reynolds Ouzo Comp with alloy steerer, integrated 1 1/8”. Frame Weight: (57cm) 2 lbs., 13 oz. Components: Ultegra or Dura Ace build kits Sizes: 49cm to 63cm in 2 cm increments measured center to top. Color: Electric Blue.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Jul 16, 2019]
ReddogCA


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Glenn Gordon updating my Douglas Fusion from 2005. I am still riding this same bike. One serious crash but it never even warped a rim. About 20,000 miles on this bike. Had to find a new front sprocket, big ring, It wore out! The easton rear rim exploded and I now have Neuvation's on it! This bike is awesome and faster than todays bikes with the Neuvations on it! Still has the original rear cassette and all components. I take good care of this instrument! I have never seen anyone else riding one of these! Evrryone loves the look!

Weakness:

Needs stainless fasteners! Sweat corrodes the originals really bad!

Price Paid:
1500
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2002
[Apr 12, 2013]
the guy

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I bought this bike frame about a year ago from the original owner, No nicks,dings or scratches on the frame.The owner ship it to me in its original box. I could not be more pleased. For $225.00 for the frame alone I fill I got the best bike deal of the year. I added a mix of ultegra front and rear derailluers and pedals,tiagra shifters, cinelli ram carbon flat bars. selle leather spilt saddle, nine speed shimano cog, askium rim set.I added a nice $100 carbon fork. I ride with a number of guys and girls with high end Treks Full carbon Felts, Eddie Merx ,some bikes ending in vowels $3000-$6000 bicycles....Suckers !!!

Weakness:

the frame is white

The bike is very, very light,very stiff and responsive, the carbon add on make its comfortable to ride 100 mile at a time. Great for climbing and rolling hills. at 54 I don't sprint much. I love this Bike!!!

[Sep 16, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

So far overall A-1 performance and functioning. Everything very good. No wobbles, no creaks, no bad noises of any kind, no bad vibrations, no bad shocks or road shock. Solid feel.

Weakness:

None, not even anything to worry about or quibble or whine about.

Douglas Fusion. Carbon rear, carbon forks. Price includes shipping. Bike is 2008, per CC. Warning: newbie review! This is my first bike since my Raleigh 3 speed, too long ago to think about. Really this is a review of CC, and some inital impressions of the bike.

CC: They answered all my questions, no problem, no pressure, no impatience - great selling. The bike arrived in a box - it's a package bike. CC tunes it and reboxes it. It arrived perfect. I attached bars and wheels and went for a ride: that simple. 100 points for CC!

The bike: I looked at a lot of bikes. Because I'm big, getting test rides was pretty much not happening. RBR was an important source of imformation. The frame, components, and price were, finally, irresistable. I tried hard to support my local LBS - any local LBS - but in the end it just wasn't possible. No bikes, no availability, too expensive - and that was the best of it, but I digress.

Even though I haven't ridden, I know a good ride: this is a very good ride! I pedal, it goes. And it goes faster very easily - no resistance, no hesitation. It's waaay better than I am! I'm persuaded that for 97% of riders, this is as good as it gets: I could do different; I don't think I could do better unless I spent three times as much, and then maybe not even then.

I'm getting a different stem for a better fit and a Brooks saddle. I use toe clips. Everything else seems much better than good.







Similar Products Used:

none.

[Jun 30, 2008]
natsquared
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great frame. Relatively light, stiff and comfortable.
Easton Circuit wheels are great. Strong, stayed true for the years I used them. Can't go wrong with Ultegra. Pro level performance for the average guy.

Weakness:

The generic Douglas quick release skewers bent under torque. After being replaced I was amazed at the improvement in rear end performance. No more wheel slip. It is a prepackaged setup therefore can't customize sizes of cranks, stem etc.

The original Fusion, circa 2002 is a great all around fast recreational/entry racing bike. The frame is light, responsive and comfortable enough for all day riding. Not the quickest bike for tight courses but handles everything in a competant manner. The original Ultegra componentry is top notch. It gives outstanding performance at a reasonable price. One would be hard pressed to tell the difference from Dura ace components of the same year. The standout part of the buildup to me was the Easton Circuit wheelset. Great wheels, stiff, light, responsive and a reasonably priced. Unfortuantely I couldn't keep them when I switched over to Record.
Downside to the bike. It is prepackaged so you cannot customize component specs. The original Douglas quick releases were crap. They flexed under torque, to the point of ending which caused a lot of wheel slippage within the dropouts. Replacing the Q/R solved the problem and noticably improved rear wheel stability.

Similar Products Used:

Colnago Master Light with Campy Daytona
Basso Paris Roubaix with Athena

[Sep 30, 2007]
Ross Williams
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very, very comfortable - carbon goodies (seat stays, fork, seatpost) help in that department. Climbs well and holds a good line in fast decents. The DT Swiss wheels are magical and along with the compact gearing, makes the steepest climbs do-able. Out of seat acceleration results in very little flex. Overall, a great bike for the price.

Weakness:

Bad fork! From almost day-one, had a creak in the headset. Cyclist eventually replaced the headset after adjustments failed to get rid of the creak. The creaking persisted and I took a look at the steerer tube. Cracked in the front and delaminating in the inside back. As I was really over carbon steerers at that time, Cyclist happily switched out the fork for a Reynolds Ouzo Comp with aluminum steerer. There is no insert in the stock fork, and I think that somewhere in shipping, the fork got damaged, as it was not a clamping force failure. However, the big side note is this: the crew at Colorado Cyclist was awesome and did everything necessary to make sure I was happy. They are very professional and get the job done properly!

This Fusion started out stock, but like the post below says, it came with some really narrow bars. I added a Deda Newton 46cm bar/90mm stem set-up and switched out the layback post with an FSA Zero post. I didn't stop there, as I added a SRAM Force Compact crankset, switched out the cassette for an Ultegra 12-27, and had Cyclist build up a set of DT Swiss wheels (RR 1.1 rims, 240 hubs, black spokes, red nipples). The whole set-up weighs in at 18.3 pounds, but pedals with a very light feel. The Cane Creek brakes did not stop well at first, but I changed to Dura-Ace pads and now they are very strong.

Similar Products Used:

Giant TCR Alloy, Mod-build on an old Schwinn Paramount frame.

[Aug 17, 2007]
escariot22
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Parts spec, the bike was set up extremely well. Little to no adjustments had to be made in completing the assembley. It's super-cool that they send an extra derailleur hanger, free of charge.

Weakness:

The bike seems a little heavier than what they claim. would be nice to have at least 42cm bars. Cane Creek brakes don't have much stopping power. Why not 11-25, for a 10 speed cassette?

I bought the Douglas Fusion 07 just a little while ago, to replace a stolen 2002 TCR 0 that I really loved riding. For what it costs, the Fusion's parts spec is an incredible deal. I've been on a few rides, so far, and I'm very pleased with the characteristics of the bike! It's got a solid feel with components that are both high-end(Dura Ace, FSA) and durable (Easton Circuits). The only complaint I have, really, is that for a 52 cm frame, you automatically receive a 40cm bar. Some of us have shoulders!!...but at that price, I can't really complain. I've been extremely pleased, so far, and trust me...the bike looks a lot better in person than in images.

Similar Products Used:

2002 Giant TCR 0 - full Dura Ace, Ksyrium SSC's, Merlin Aegus - full Dura Ace, Ksyrium Elites, Old Cannondale Crit bike, Campy Chorus, Open Pros

[May 12, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff and relatively light frame
good quality components

Weakness:

saddle

I have had the bike for about a year now and have put in around 5000 miles. I also have raced about 15 times. This bike is the bang for the buck. Has all the components that a pro would ride and there are no cheap components. i am a student who pays for every thing that deals with cycling. I am very satisfied.

[Jul 31, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Solid components... will not need to upgrade anytime soon! Frame feels great for the price I paid. Outstanding value!

Weakness:

Probably more bike than I really need. Would of liked to have more color options or a original paint scheme.

Outstanding ride so far after a great weekend tooling around the hills outside of Tokyo Japan. First really nice bike I have ever had. I am not used to this level of performance so I will report after a few months of hard use. Pinch me, I am in heaven!

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1200, Nishiki Tri-A, Specialized Allez

[May 04, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Value Smooth responsive ride Great looks

Weakness:

Hard saddle

This is a follow up to my initial review of the Fusion. I've had a chance to take it on a few longer rides and gotten a pretty good feel for the bike. And I really, really like it. My first impressions of it being tight and solid were accurate. It feels great on smooth and rough roads alike. I've taken it on a few roads that used to beat me up on my old Motobecane, and the Fusion frame is doing a nice job of soaking up the vibrations. I moved my seat back, and with more weight over the back wheel, I can feel more of the "spring" in the rear stays. But this frame still feels very light and responsive. Yesterday I cranked up a few tough hills and the Fusion responded like a champ. The drivetrain is smooth and quiet, the brakes are as solid as anything I've ever felt. The seat still feels pretty hard to me, but is a bit more comfortable since I adjusted the rake and fore/aft position. I still think I'll probably upgrade it.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Apr 22, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great value (full Ultegra under $1800) Beautiful finish Tight and solid

Weakness:

Hard, skimpy saddle, will probably upgrade

I just got the Fusion and only taken it for a short ride, and so far I am very pleased. I'll write another review after I've put some miles on it. Initial impressions are that it is a beautiful bike. The 2005 deep red color is a vast improvement over earlier pale blue, and looks really sharp with the black chainrings and handlebars. It seems very well put-together and very solid. It handles nicely, quick but stable, much like my old Motobecane, but screwed together a lot tighter. I went all stock on this bike, but I'll probably upgrade the saddle at some point because it feels pretty dang hard. No other complaints at this time.

Similar Products Used:

None. This is the first new bike I've bought in 24 years.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.