Fuji Bicycles Roubaix Pro Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: Reynolds 853 double butted
Frame Angles: 73.5 head, 73.0 seat
Sizes: 49cm, 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 61cm
Colors: White
Fork: Fuji Carbon
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano 105 STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Ritchey Logic Comp
Stem: Ritchey Logic Comp
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless FSA Roller Bearing Threadless
Front Der: Shimano 105, bottom-pull/clamp-on 28.6mm
Crankset: TruVativ Elita, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano 105 GS
Pedals: Not included
Tires: 700 x 23c Continental Sport 1000

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[Dec 28, 2009]
Jay222
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great all around bike

Weakness:

105 shifters

Great bike for the money, stiff and great handling bike.

Similar Products Used:

Klein Q Pro XV and Cervelo RS

[Sep 01, 2009]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, Carbon fork and tail, Geometry, components

Weakness:

the original handlebar was to strech I upgraded to a FSA SL-K carbon, also upgraded the seat tube for a RAVX Superlite

I got the 2008 model, I gotta say is great bike, pretty stiff, confortable enough if you are well fitted, very good response, I never had issues with any parts, very good weight, and nice looking bike, good componenst for the price, cheaper than most other brands...

You can use it for recreation or for racing, in fact it is more buid for racing purposes, the compact crankset helps a lot when climbing

Similar Products Used:

none, it was my first roud bike

[Aug 16, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ride, value, Fuji service.

Weakness:

FSA cranks that came with unit were garbage. Fuji replaced them.

'08 Roubaix Pro (Euro). Smooth ride, stiff and responsive, excellent climbing, and overall a lot of fun to ride. 50 miles into owning this bike left crank came off on a downstroke. I did not wreck, but was 20 miles from home. Called Fuji in US, dealt with Chris in warranty, he listened to my situation and immediately sent out a replacement Shimano FC R-600 crankset & BB. LBS installed them for no charge, and the original FSA cranks have been replaced. Great service from Fuji. Thakn you Chris.

[Jun 16, 2009]
kmunny19
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

great value, minus the crankset
light for its price range
105/ultegra components
aclass wheels have stayed true so far, and work fine
OVERALL-better equipped for the price than its competitors

Weakness:

fsa gossamer crankset started falling apart quickly (and is obviously why it is possible to have the 105/ultegra components it does at this price.)
velo/fuji saddle gave ME some numbness, but that's totally individual

actually 2009 model year. Seems so far like a very good introduction to road riding. I rode a MTB on road for a year prior to getting the roubaix, and the difference was not surprisingly drastic. I'm glad I went with this level of bike as it didn't take long to acclimate to the slightly more dedicated to performance style of it, and the components on it are mostly up to hard riding. Without a great basis for comparison, I feel this is a very good aluminum framed bike and that with some component upgrades, it will continue to make a fine training and casual timed event/race bike, for me for a long time to come. I don't feel the need for carbon, because my Roubaix keeps passing lots of carbon bikes at different events. This set-up does have some obvious give-and-take, in that it has better derailleur, but worse crankset componentry than similarly priced (more expensive at least in my area) comptitors. The wheelset has worked just fine for me, though poorly reviewed. I did however get an Easton wheelset for weight/rolling resistance and to have originals as back-up set for events.

Similar Products Used:

none

[May 17, 2009]
fortystrong
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

components and riding flexibility, comfortable and stiff

Weakness:

weight.. a little shy under 20lbs

I picked up this roubaix pro 09 for 1,0xx from my lbs when they held a sale. I'm a weekend rider and took it out right away. im very pleased with the stiff but comfortable ride. I can go aggressive at down position and not hurt my lower back. Im 5'7 and got size 54 frame. i've been deliberating back & forth on a 2.1 series trek or a peleton schwinn and this fuji brand came from nowhere like a dark horse. Ultergra rear, 105 front, cassette and break levers. felt like i got an upgrade and kept to my budget with extra money for nice pedals and accessories.. i am very happy and excited for next sunday's ride..

Similar Products Used:

Trek

[Jan 30, 2009]
Biga6462
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

This thing is as smooth as can be on the road. Carbon fork and rear triangle help out a lot. I also enjoy the ease that this bike climbs hills.

Weakness:

Paint chips a bit too easy but I havent had a frame that didnt.

This is actually for the 2008 model. I have put close to 500 miles on this bike and have had no problems. This is the cheapest bike I could find for the money considering the component setup and frame. The bike also was mentioned in Bicycle World magazine for the best bike for under $1300.

[Sep 02, 2008]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Mixture of groupos from ultegra rear, 105 front and shifters. The combo carbon and alum frame is very light. Nice color scheme, red, white, and black.

Weakness:

None found thus far.

Just got my Fuji Roubaix Pro, I think it is model year 2008 but the review options does not scale beyond 2007. Overall, after riding this for one month, I am totally sold! Fits me like a glove, very agile and responsive.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized roubaix, Trek 2.8

[Apr 13, 2008]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fit is very good for an entry level road bike. Pretty good shifting.

Weakness:

Sella Italia Ponza seat has no real padding. Toss. But then seats are expendable....

The Fuji is a road bike for those who like to sit back near the rear wheel. For me, my first impression on a test ride (being long of beam) was the bike fit like a glove unlike many others I tried.

The geometry if quite forgiving, and the bike is not over twitchy when ridden no-handed. The rear derailleur (Ultegra) shifts pretty well, but the front unit (lower grade) will occasionally drop a gear on the compact crank. The 105 controllers are fine.

However, I find the Selle Italia Ponza seat hilariously hard/thin and have swapped it out with a Ti Flite.

The road bars have a good absorbing rubber padding, are not too deep, and have better hand support. With the carbon fork they seem pretty good at absorbing road shock.
The Alex A class wheels so far are holding up OK, but only time will tell if they hold up like Ksyriums. The paint is a bold yellow and black which looks very eye catching.

Once the seat was swapped, I think this bike should be pretty comfortable for centuries and the like.

Similar Products Used:

Giant, Felt, Orbea, Merlin

[Apr 07, 2008]
steve
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Best frame for the money out there. Solid, light, good geometry. Climbs and descends well.

Weakness:

Stock wheels for 1995 were pathetic. Ugly, heavy, etc. The Ritcheys they used other years were a lot better.

Great frame with cool one-year-only color scheme; orange-red with black and silver flames. Carbon fiber fork and seat stays cut the road vibration and harshness.

Similar Products Used:

Litespeed Classic, Greg LeMond, Trek Composite 2300, Aluminum Raleigh 600, Aluminum Trek 1000, you name it.

[Mar 11, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price, Paint, Compact Crank, Soft ride

Weakness:

Could be a little lighter, the curved carbon seat stays that give it its smooth ride also make the bike a little flexy, but I personally can live with that trade off.

All around it is a terrific bicycle. Its highlights include its price, (it can usually be found for around $1000 in a Performance bike shop)its bumble bee paint job for 2007, and its soft ride. I put in about 150-200 miles a week on roads that can be a bit bumpy. Fuji has done a good job with the carbon on this bike to make the ride nearly as smooth as any full carbon bike I've ever ridden.
The compact crank (50-34) is great for anyone who lives in a hilly area or anyone who doesn't have the leg strength to turn over something larger. Its Downside to me is in its weight (it could be lighter) I think that Fuji has made some choices on this bike to hold the $1000 pricepoint that add to the weight of the bike. Just changing to a carbon post and saddle took more than 250 grams off the bike. The alex 200 wheelset is a bit heavy and makes the bike a bit of a slug on hills (the 270 wheelset on the RC is 340 grams lighter)
Overall I LOVE MY FUJI but have made some changes to lighten her up a little

Similar Products Used:

Orbea Vuelta, Schwinn Peloton, Fuji Team, Scattante R660

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.