LeMond Bicycles Alpe d'Huez Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: 6066 aluminum
Frame Angles: 73.5 head, 72.5 seat
Sizes: 49cm, 51cm, 53cm, 55cm, 57cm, 59cm, 61cm
Colors: Silver/Red
Fork: Bontrager Race Carbon
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Ultegra STI Dual Control
Handlebar: 3T T.H.E.
Stem: 3T T.H.E.
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Cane Creek C1
Front Der: Shimano Ultegra
Crankset: Shimano Ultegra, 39/53 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra SS
Pedals: Shimano PD-M520 SPD
Tires: 700 x 25c Bontrager Race Lite

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jun 23, 2012]
chris wilcox

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

its strenghth is material mateing this is a clever mix on this model my nana just lifted mine with one hand shes 90 if you want to go fast this has to be a great way to do it

Weakness:

the liteness of this model makes it a little blowy on a windy day sharp turns should be taken with care

im an engineer and to be honest i bought mine just to sell now i have riden it im never going to sell it

[Jan 05, 2012]
Stallion V8
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Responsive, stiff but not brutal
Even great second hand

Weakness:

Wheelset. I find myself truing my wheels even after moderate rides. I really was never a fan of bontrager, and their pursuit of bling over pragmatism really shows here. They are relatively heavy for being so "airy".

This is my first true bike. I wanted something more efficient than my department store Diamondback, and more secure and reliable than my Firenze I got at a garage sale. Overall I am very pleased with my LeMond. It captures the essence of a classic bike, yet carries that sensuous gleam of the 21st century. But that is not why I purchased this bike. I immediately felt connected with the bike even after my first toodle around the block on a test ride without road shoes and the seat riding up my buns. After getting proper shoes and prying the seat out of my bum, I was utterly flabbergasted by the feedback I received. It is a super communicative bike. But on the flip side, going over washboard pavement...not my cup of tea. I am very satisfied with this bike, and the fact I was able to get one outfitted with Ultegra really brings a smile to my face.

[Aug 03, 2011]
Paul B
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

weight, speed, durability, fork

Weakness:

wheelset

With accessories, cages, Bontrager race wheels, still an 18 lb. Bike. Fork outstanding. Has held up over ghastly roads on my commute and takes me up the mountains with ease. Wheels are bombproof and much faster than expected. Position comfy. I came from mountain biking, so I love the speed. It is upgraded with XXX parts (stem, seatpost, handlebar) though I use an Al handlebar for safety. I love the bike and it is obviously very well designed. Lemonds are passe, but definitely a high quality engineer & build. Never has beat me up even on 100+ mile rides and 3 hr. mountain goat climbs.

My buddies 8K Giant is slower on descents, which is likely due to tires. Yet testifies to the value of this bike. You can't get a new one, and probably know what's happened to Lemond. His brand has declined in the public eye. A shame, considering the ride.

Similar Products Used:

Steel Bianchi

[Dec 31, 2008]
biketyke
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Aluminum/carbon frame
Smooth Ride with great stiffness
Paint Scheme
VALUE at this price was superb

Weakness:

Break pads seem to be weak

I was without a road bike for 5 years, so I was ready to get moving again. I tried the recumbent bikes, but found them to be BORING! So I looked the choices and found this LeMond. Its frame is aluminum/carbon with a style that reminds me of what the older bikes looked like. No fancy joints, no funny tube shapes. I like the classic look. I find it very quick and agile, with a ride that smooths most rotten pavement out very well. The Cane Creek C3's are good, but the pads could be a bit better. The 105 groupo is good and has had no problems. The red, black and blue paint is well done and the frame has no squeaks rattles or flex. Very stiff. I tried other 55cm bikes but always felt cramped; the LeMond seems to offer a longer top tube, which I find very comfortable. With the great price I found, it is a very good bike overall and I am sure it will be with me a good while. No real problems other than I get flat tires pretty often (I changed my route last time and avoided the metal grate of the drawbrige, so we will see how it goes).

Similar Products Used:

Old Nishiki from 80's (very tall and long! Gee, I miss it)

[Jun 22, 2008]
Goomelon
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfortable
Good components
Handling
Price

Weakness:

Scratches a git when you bust your face going 24...

Havent actually found a real weakness yet...

I purchesed this bike so that I could do the 20 mile commute to work, and to get some exercise in at the same time. I had a budget of about $1000 and started looking around and test driving bikes. I did not expect, however, that I could get this great a bike for such a great price... The ride is great, it looks great (in the pearl black/blue paintscheme), and handles quite well. I had also testdriven a Marin San Marino, and a Massi (don't entirely remember the brand... something italian), and though i was impressed with the Marin, I wasn't a huge fan of the Campi thumbthing...

In the last 3.5 weeks I have had it, I have logged almost 800 miles on it.
I love this bike

Similar Products Used:

Marin San Marino (test drive)
Massi (sp?)
Fuji low end road bike

[May 25, 2008]
stphotog
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

PRICE!
Shimano 105 shifters and deraliurs.

Weakness:

Seat is just ok
Bar tape sucks.
looks like every other bike in the world. Not my personal bike.
They should have put blue tires!

Ok I am am Fixed Gear rider (fixie) I started doing longer and longer rides. Some of my friends ride road bikes and it is a pain in the ass keeping up with them. So I went to get a road bike. This bike is amazing. Rides carbon in the great. shifts great stops on a dime. I really feel all the frame in terms or road damping but it also takes off like MF

Similar Products Used:

Canondale bad boy (sucked)

[Aug 06, 2007]
Mike Lewis
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Carbon top tube, seat tube and chainstays. New color scheme makes it an awesome looking bike.

Weakness:

None so far, but I only have 30 miles so far.

10 years ago I bought a Trek 1200 used from my brother-in-law who has been riding forever. He had bought 2nd hand from a friend. It was too big for my sister-in-law so i bought it for $125 i think. It sat for a long time.

Last year I took it to BikeBeat and they resurrected it for me. I started riding for health reasons, and love riding. It is 2 frames sizes to small, so this summer I decided to change that. With 1 water bottle the 1200 is 28lbs.

6 weeks ago I test rode a Trek 1500, 2100 and the Lemond Alpe d'Huez. With the Carbon Top tube, seat tube, and seat stays, along with the sloping top tube for a more upright seat position the Alpe d'Heuz was/is by far the most comfortable ride. This past Friday I rode the Alpe d'Huez home. The ride was only 10.5 miles, but I picked up 2 avg/mph over my rides on the 1200. The 1200 is going to be my winter garage trainer.

The 2100 was most first choice from a cost standpoint, but not available right now. The day i picked up the Alpe, the 5000 had closeout pricing on it which brought its price $100 less than the Alpe, but the Alpe is a better fit for me.

Similar Products Used:

Old 1200. black with pink neon graphics to tell you how old it is. 2007 1500, and 2100.

[Jun 14, 2004]
simoncarter
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Climbs like a mountain goat. Geometry is fast yet reasonably comfortable. Good value for money - was only bike for the price I found with a good frame and wheels and full Ultegra.

Weakness:

None found so far.

Wouldn't normally write a review after having the bike such a short time but have been deeply impressed with it so far. Wrote off my previous bike (cannondale R700) in a crash, didn't ride for a month while insurance came through and then first ride out on the Alpe D'Huez was an 80-miler with a group. Was expecting to have to hide in the middle of the pack while I found my legs again but instead found myself right up the front, particularly up the hills and into the wind. I also didn't suffer any of the aches and pains I was expecting towards the end of the ride after such a long time out of the saddle. Bike has continued to impress since, it's great on long group rides as it's pretty comfortable, but is also quick and aero enough to be a good triathlon bike with the bars fitted. Also impresses the roadies as it looks like a classic road bike! Beware of the long top tube if you're looking to get aero on it - I had to go for a 55cm frame (I'm 6'1") as on the larger frame sizes I would have been too stretched out with the aerobars on.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale R700 - caad 3, Ultegra Trek 470 - steel frame, 105 components

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.