Motobecane Sprint Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

7005 Double Butted MultiShape Aluminum Frame with Kinesis High Modulus Carbon Fiber Seatstays
Kinesis Pro High Modulus Carbon Fiber TaperBlade
Ultegra 6600 STI 30 Speed, Front and Rear Derailleurs
Ultegra 6600 STI 30 Speed Shifters
Shimano 5600 10-speed, 11-23T Cassette
Shimano CN5600 10-speed Chain
TruVativ Elita GXP Crankset
TruVative GXP GigaXPipe BB
Tektro Aluminum Brake Calipers,
Vuelta XRP OEM Aero Wheelset
Kenda Kontender tires
Weight: 18.5lbs

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Sep 19, 2020]
senorchivas


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

The bike is extremely reliable. I have owned this bike for 10 years and put about 7K miles on it. I have had it tuned 2 times and had a couple of crashes but never had to replace any parts. It still rides like new and looks great. This was an excellent purchase and value. I can easily see it lasting another 10 years with basic maintenance.

Weakness:

Honestly, there aren’t any. It’s just that good.

Price Paid:
995
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2010
[Jan 29, 2012]
co-motobecane
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great components, light, seat stays minimize vibration

Weakness:

pedals. May want to upgrade the wheels eventually.

Excellent purchase. I have had this bike for two seasons and it has been a dream. I must have tried 6-8 bikes before purchasing the Sprint. I was a bit apprehensive about purchasing online but based on my experience I would do it again. Have ridden several centuries and countess hill climbs without issue. The bike is light and the seat stays minimize vibration. I replaced the pedals immediately but rode the bike as is for the first year without issue. I have no complaints and would recommend bikesdirect.com to anyone looking for a great value.

Similar Products Used:

Trek, Giant, Schwinn, Felt, Fuji

[Sep 01, 2011]
Spaceman
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent shifting system and wheels. I transferred the seat and pedals from my old bike to this one immediately.

Best Bike I ever owned (replaced my 20 year old Cannondale), well-sutied for my 1500-2000 miles per year. Rides smooth and solid.

Similar Products Used:

1991 Cannondale Black Lightning

[Jan 20, 2011]
fig1228
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

everything i cant find anything wrong with the bike... well that I havnt done to it

Weakness:

ok sorry my bad the pedals that came with it were horrible thats about it

I love this bike it is my pride and joy i have had many other bikes before but this one i will never get rid of.I use this bike for races, fun rides, cross state/cross country rides it is just amazing

Similar Products Used:

to many to list

[Jul 31, 2010]
Al
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ultegra 6700 components, frame with carbon triangle and carbon fork, stellar looks, rides very nice - responsive and light.

Weakness:

Stock seat is too hard and does not break in very well (although this may be a personal preference). Even after 6 months of use, I could not survive longer than 1 hour on it. Replaced with Selle San Marco Aspid Arrowhead and now I am riding 2.5-3 hours 4-5 times a week. Stock pedals are difficult to clip in (I am new to this, so this may be just me). Look Keo Classic work much better and have better contact with my feet. After a couple of fine adjustments for cleat position, this is a perfect setup for me.

An orange 2010 "New Sprint" from bikesdirect.com. Arrived well packed, no damage. Easy to assemble (my first road bike ever!). 2 LBSs yield very poor results on fine adjustment. I spent several hours researching the internet for "road bikes how to", and then adjusted the derailers and the brakes myself. Everything works great. After riding it for a month I started Ultegra 6700 upgrade campaign - first put in the brakes (the stock Tektro R530's felt weak and flimsy), then BB and the crank-set (the stock Truvativ cranks and BB were fine, I just wanted to complete the group). Then I replaced the stock saddle with Selle San Marco Aspid Arrowhead (this was a lottery but I've got lucky) and Look Keo Classic pedals. I ordered 52cm frame for which the site says it gets 40cm handlebars. I am 5'6", 200lbs and have broad shoulders, so I was surprised the handlebars felt comfortable. Later I discovered they were actually 42cm. I ride about 120 miles a week (usually 30 miles per ride) - the bike handles very well, easy to control, fairly good road vibration isolation. Good quality so far. An excellent bike, well worth every penny and more - highly recommend! I would certainly praise bikesdirect.com for pricing and purchasing experience.

Similar Products Used:

None - I am a newbie, this is my first road bike. Now building my custom road bike with DuraAce group and carbon frame.

[Apr 30, 2010]
tla1963
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price, components & weight

2010 MOTOBECANE SPRINT

Just received my beautiful new 2010 orange Sprint. Spent about 45 to put it together & adjust everything. Took it out for a quick spin and it seemed to be very responsive and quite comfortable. this seems to have been an excellent purchase considering an entry level Specialized or Giant or Trek were all about the same price BUT with much cheaper components & wheels. May change out pedals but other than that it's good to go right out of the box.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Allez

[Apr 25, 2010]
marc j
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ultegra components, Vuelta wheels / hub, carbon fork / seat stays, Ritchey stem / handlebars are very nice, fast and comfortable ride, looks great!!!

Weakness:

Assembly instructions awful, almost damaged due to poor packaging, wheels and derailieurs all need to be trued & adjusted. Some don't like the pedals and saddle, but I find them to be acceptable, for now at least.

I purchased the 2010 Sprint on a Monday and received it that Friday. The box was destroyed when I got it, but luckily the bike was ok. The assembly instructions were worthless, but I researched on my own and figured it out. Both wheels were out of true, I trued them myself, but decided to have a LBS double check my work. Both deraillieurs were out of alignment, again I adjusted them and and then had the LBS fine tune them for me. Personally I feel that the pedals and saddle are fine, but those are really personal preference issues. The ride is amazing, shifting is smooth, the tires seem quite comfortable and durable to me. I only have a few rides on the bike, and very limited road bike experience, but I am pleased so far with my purchase. I will post follow up reviews in the forum section as I get more miles on the bike.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Oct 08, 2009]
dan5472
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I think I got more than what I paid for in the spring of 2008.

Hey does anyone have or know of someone who bought The Kestrel RT800??

Weakness:

Its $900 bucks not $9000 and I would do it again!! I am 6feet 2inches and weigh arund 230/225. Bought a 60cm frame.

I bought the bike in spring of 2008. This site will not let me use 2008. I wonder if this site is up and running anymore. The bike is more than what I expected. Locals wanted around $1800 for about the same bike. Yes I do understand they have to make a living. So do I. Need and want the biggest bang for my bucks. The bike is what everyone else has said it is and as well as the set up. I have over 2800 miles on it and all I had done was have someone work on the shifting. As time went on the thing never wanted to get into the correct gear with out trimming on the levers. A lot of chain clicking. YES I ALSO want a range of about 12-28. Am going to buy Koolstop pads for brakes asap. Will at some point change out for a 12-28 cass. I am saving up for a Kestrel RT800 and would like to hear from anyone who has one!!! Please comment or write!! I live and ride in Wisc. just north of Milwaukee and store the bike in the house in a back room. Still looks new.

Similar Products Used:

Old Schwinn Old Trek Old Diamondback

[May 15, 2009]
joyride42
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ultegra gear, stiff/light frame, excellent gearing, great build quality

Weakness:

pedals (stock ones are garbage, spend $50 for some decent ones), the bars feel a little wide. Stock seat was a bit firm, but you may get used to it

I had been looking for a bike, and was highly debating the bikes direct purchase. I saw this bike come up for sale on craigslist and figured it was worth it to check it out. The bike fit me nicely so I got it. I usually do 120 miles a week or more, and this thing has worked excellent. It was tuned/trued by the previous owner, so I cannot claim the out-of-box quality. I do know that the Ultegra set up is bulletproof, and cannot imagine a better deal for a great bike. I invested $70 for some new Ultegra pedals, and couldnt be more pleased with the bike. I have had others on my bike team with $1500+ bikes be impressed by mine. As others have claimed, the wheels are a cheap version with a good name on them. However I have no complaints with them. I plan on doing a 150 mi/2 day MS race soon, so I will update this after the long weekend

[Apr 02, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light, looks good (i got the orange one), smooth ride

Weakness:

entry level pedals came with it as a "bonus". They're ok for starters, I've read reviews that the seat sucks, but i think it's just fine

Well i got the 2009 motobecane sprint from bikes direct, even though i could only choose up to 2007 on this thing. I was hesitant as most people were because it comes in a box from online. i'm 6'1 and bought the 58. It fits perfect so that's good. I know there's been some spam on boards from bikesdirect people just trying to hype stuff up but this is acutally a pretty sweet ride and deal. can't beat an ultegra set up, light bike, for under 1K. Had a friend who is a bike mechanic help install the handlebars and rear wheel for me and make a few adjustments.

Similar Products Used:

none

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.